Steelseries Nimbus controller

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by 6AL5, Nov 3, 2015.

  1. 6AL5 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    #1
    ATV 4 turned up today with a Steelseries Nimbus set it up and installed Crossy Road and was appalled by the lag in the controller it seems to be making the game unplayable really has anyone else experienced this?
     
  2. nasa25 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Location:
    canada
    #2
    Nope everything has been good for me so far. Pretty odd that you're experiencing that much lag. I can even play iOS games via AirPlay with no lag using my nimbus.
     
  3. youslippin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    #3
    I've been saying it in other threads, but the nimbus controller sucks. I don't think its lag you are experiencing. You have to hit the buttons harder than normal for it to register properly. it sucks
     
  4. 6AL5 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    #4
    It's not right and when I play Crossy road with with the Siri remote it's fine although that is far from the most ergonomic way to play it.

    If some / the majority are having a fine experience could there be a faulty batch?
     
  5. kring macrumors regular

    kring

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #5
    I have two of them and they don't always play nice in crossy roads, but they work in other games like badlands. crossy roads was not written with a controller in mind, it's intended to be for the siri remote. I also find that the ATV4 has bluetooth failures on a regular basis. the remote gets lost, controllers stop work then pair back up a few minutes later... I think it's less a controller issue and more the typical crappy bluetooth experience. and before everyone rants it's my fault... I am 4 ft away with direct line of sight to the ATV4.... my comment is broader that bluetooth in general is one of the least reliable protocols that exists. so expect regular faulures as part of the experience.
     
  6. flux73 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    #6
    I can kind of agree with this. I connected a BT sound bar to the ATV4 and I'm frequently losing the connection and having to go back into Settings to reselect it as the audio output. Hopefully, it's an issue that can be resolved through software rather than an inherent Bluetooth problem.
     
  7. 6AL5 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    #7
    Yes I have noticed lot's of Siri remote lost connections and reconnected as well...
     
  8. ngaham macrumors regular

    ngaham

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    #8
    My Siri remote has completely lost connection and it won't reconnect at all. I have tried to repair it, however it doesn't work. Since I can't use the Remote app to control the Apple Tv, I'm waiting for it to restore now.....
     
  9. Zerog46 macrumors member

    Zerog46

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #9
    No issues here. I have two of them and they work great.
     
  10. tromboneaholic macrumors 6502a

    tromboneaholic

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #10
    I haven't tried the nimbus in Crossy Road, but the controller works great in my other games.

    Crossy Road is a bit of a turd actually, since it changes the resolution of my Apple TV to 1080 from 720 for no reason...pretty sloppy programming.
     
  11. ngaham macrumors regular

    ngaham

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    #11
    Contacted Apple, my Siri remote is broken. Didn't even get to use it 10 minutes.
     
  12. Tvanton macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    #12
    Have you download the iPhone app?
    Because you can upgrade the controller software in the app.
    Maby it would help to solve your problem.
     
  13. DMjoselito macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    #13
    One question about this. If i install this App and pair the controller to iPhone to update it.
    What about the pair to Apple tv?
    Do i have to unpair the controller to Apple tv first?
    Can the controller be pair with two devices at the same time?

    Thanks
     
  14. 6AL5 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    #14
    Missed that... See what happens
     
  15. kring macrumors regular

    kring

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #15
    no, you pair to phone, then you just have to go back to ATV and click connect. it's already paired
     
  16. DMjoselito macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    #16
    Thanks!
     
  17. TrueBlou macrumors demi-god

    TrueBlou

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Scotland
    #17
    That, when it happens is down to the developer. All buttons on MFI controllers have to offer analog input, as dictated by Apple.

    You can however, in the code for your game, set it up so that you get a response instantly, regardless of how hard the button is hit. I'm doing it in my upcoming game and there's no lag in it whatsoever.
     
  18. pjarvi macrumors 65816

    pjarvi

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    Round Lake, IL
    #18
    I'm curious, did you go into the Video settings of the ATV4 and select 1080P or is it set to Auto still? I'm wondering if games/apps change the resolution if it is left on Auto. I've got mine manually set to 1080P and have not experienced any problems, but I have not tried any games yet.
     
  19. 6AL5 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    #19
    Updating the controller helped a little, still getting excessive disconnects from the Siri controller which is displayed onscreen.
     
  20. tromboneaholic macrumors 6502a

    tromboneaholic

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    #20
    I have it set to 720p in settings, because that is the native resolution of my TV. The TV can accept 1O80p input, but just coverts it to 720p. It's annoying that Crossy Road changes the resolution on its own.
     
  21. 6AL5 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    #21
    This issue resolved itself for me once I took the Atv out of the TV cabinet it was in, obviously it doesnt like being tucked away in a cabinet.
     
  22. Jman13 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #22
    I've only had the Nimbus for a day, but I think it's a really nice controller. No lag, quality feel, good response on the buttons and analog sticks.
     
  23. halfcack macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    #23
    Is it a problem with hitting the buttons harder or intermittent connection in button contacts. Everything else is fine.
     
  24. APlotdevice, Nov 11, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2015

    APlotdevice macrumors 68040

    APlotdevice

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    #24
    I have to wonder why they even bothered with that technology. Sony's had pressure sensitive buttons since the PS2, and in all that time I can recall maybe 2 or 3 games that ever actually used them. (I think Microsoft had them on the original Xbox, then dropped the feature on the 360.)
     
  25. TrueBlou macrumors demi-god

    TrueBlou

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Scotland
    #25
    Yeah, why they decided that every single input on the pads, including the dPad, needed analog is anyone's guess.

    I never liked, or found use for it, on the PlayStation either. Fair enough having analogue triggers but I'd much prefer normal, non squishy face buttons.

    Sure you can code around it and get instant response, but I still don't like the feel of the buttons as much. To me it makes even the best pads feel a little like the horrible cheap third party controllers you used to get back in the day. I hope one day they see sense and drop that requirement.
     

Share This Page