Step instructions for installing BootCamp manually - HELP.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Tesselator, Jun 1, 2009.

  1. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #1
    I boot from RAID so the bootcamp utilities don't work. It just says "Can not partition an external drive". I've read people posting that they've done these things manually but what are the exact steps? Here's what I think but correct me if I'm wrong:

    1. Connect Drive to MB SATA connector.
    2. Use Disk Utility.app to format in "MS-DOS (FAT)".
    3. Insert Windows DVD Install disk.
    4. Reboot and hold down the "C" key.
    5. Select the windows install DVD as boot drive.
    6. Follow the on screen install instructions.
    7. Boot into MacOS and install some BootCamp drivers. (???)

    Is that right? No, huh? :D Also where are these bootcamp drivers located? I see them in torrents occasionally but aren't they available from Apple or something?

    Anyway I would greatly appreciate the proper steps to make this happen!

    Thanks!
     
  2. ncc1701d macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
  3. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #3
    Windows cannot be installed to an external drive, so your drive installation is obviously not recognized by Bootcamp. If Disk Utility works, you can partition an additional HDD with HFS+ (select GUID option) and erase it then with FAT32. It will then be ready to accept Windows generally but needs formatting by the Windows boot disk before you actually install Windows. If you skip formatting or re partition the disk it will give you a media fault or hal.dll missing fault message.

    If your HD drives are internal but not recognized by Windows you can either load the Raid driver with F6 from a floppy disk when Windows starts to read all the necessary files from the optical disk or you slipstream the drivers with a program like nLite (XP) or vLite (Vista) into the bootable disk. The second option should be easier to manage on a Mac Pro. Be carefull to identify the partition you are offered to install Windows in. If you install Windows into your OS X Partition you will obviously loose that OS and all data.

    The Windows drivers are all on the Leopard install DVD. You see them only in Windows Explorer when the DVD is read under Windows. In OS X the files are not visible.

    I am not really sure that I have understood completely what you are doing. Particularly the HDD set up is unclear. How is your RAID connected and which SATA port are you using for an additional Windows disk. Is it one of the ODD SATA ports or one of the HDD ports?
     
  4. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #4
    Assuming you mean the standard ones: they're on the OS X install DVD.
    If you put the disc in when running Windows they are visible in Windows
    Explorer.
     
  5. zmttoxics macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #5
    Do you have to load the drivers at the "add scsi drivers etc" screen (like f3 or something)? Maybe? :\
     
  6. Tesselator thread starter macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #6
    Ah, OK. So the OS X DVD is a hybrid format. That makes sense. Thanks for that!

    The drive setup is one 1TB drive in bay one as a single drive, and three 1.5TB drives in bays 2, 3, and 4 as a RAID0. This is a Mac Pro 1,1 so there are two other open SATA port on the MB and I was thinking to use one of them. Booting from RAID causes Bootcamp utility to say "Can not partition an external drive" no matter what other drives are available nor where they are located. At least that's been my experience.

    But I could put the drive I intent to use as a bootcamp drive in bay 1 if that matters.

    I still need the steps to do it manually tho - as it will still say: "Can not partition an external drive". Right?
     
  7. Tesselator thread starter macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #7
    Thanks! Yeah, that tells the normal way:

    1) Connect the Drive
    2) run Boot Camp Assistant to prepare the drive - it will let you select which internal drive, and set it up with a single Windows partition
    3) install Vista - format the drive during installation, taking great care to select the proper drive.
    4) install the Boot Camp drivers using the Leopard install DVD (or your Mac Pro Restore DVD disk 1)

    but in my case Boot Camp assistant is dead. I read on here people saying they set up bootcamp without the aide of any bootcamp utilities and was wondering how that was done. Or were they telling fibs? I dunno... :p
     
  8. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #8
    The easiest way to put Windows on a separate drive would be the temporary removal of your RAID.

    You fit your HDD into bay 1 and boot from the Windows Installation disk. You then partition your HDD with the Install Disk and proceed to install Windows.

    You will still have the problem that the ODD SATA ports are in legacy mode and not recognized by Windows. That problem may be sorted by slipstreaming the Intel AHCI driver into the Windows Install DVD. This should actually be your first step in oder to avoid installing Windows twice.
     
  9. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #9
    The BCA offers a subset of the capabilities of Disk Utility/fdisk/diskutil.
    Anything you can achieve with the former, you can do with the latter
    also.

    I never use the Boot Camp Assistant when installing Windows. I don't
    trust it, in fact. It seems to be very finicky about what it will and won't
    accept.
     
  10. Tesselator thread starter macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #10
    OK, so:

    1. Remove RAID Drives,
    2. Place BootCamp Drive in Bay 1 and OS X DVD in the DVD player
    3. Boot from the OS X DVD
    4. Format Bay 1 drive as (MS-DOS Fat)
    5. Insert Windows install DVD
    6. Boot from Windows DVD
    7. Install Windows
    8. Put back the RAID drives and boot into Windows
    9. Insert the OS X DVD and install drivers
    10. Done?

    Is that right?
     
  11. Tesselator thread starter macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #11
    Oh. So my Mac will boot from the Windows DVD install disk? I think I tried that before with no success but I can try it again with a difference version of Windows or something.

    At least i think that's what you're indicating. Right?
     
  12. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #12
  13. Tesselator thread starter macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #13
    Oh. Hmm OK. Yeah I read someone say that about the 2008 machines. OK There's some drivers that do that right? I'll have a look - unless someone knows specifically where they are and wants to volunteer the info.

    These are drivers yeah? On the OS X side or the Windows side?

    EDIT: Ah, thanks for the link man!
     
  14. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #14
    Apple has not enabled the firmware to let Linux or Windows use the ODD Sata ports in AHCI mode. You have to force the system to do that.

    The drivers are Windows drivers and can be downloaded from Intel. The link to the best drivers is in the link I posted.

    For XP make sure you have applied Johnsocks mod before you restart your Mac Pro with the AHCI drivers activated. For Vista follow the methods also described in post #1.
     
  15. ncc1701d macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #15
    If you read further down the link, someone has provided the option above about disconnecting all the OSX drives and either (I think!) installing OSX on the new drive and partition and reconnect, or even just use the whole drive as though it was for Windows and then retrospectively adding the OSX drivers. I'm going to get apple support to help me out with this next week as it's a bit out of my depth!
     
  16. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #16
    Lets make it a bit clearer. There are two different problems:

    A. Apparently with RAID activated on some of the four internal HDD bays any residual HDD bays are recognized as "external" by Windows.

    B. If you use one of the two additional SATA connectors under the fan unit close to the PCIe power connectors (labeled ODD-SATA) you will find that they need an AHCI driver installed to work under Windows.

    Use the following steps:

    0. Download Intel AHCI driver, disk management utility, Johnsock's script and print out Ludachris's HowTo. Slipstream Intel AHCI driver and drive management driver into Windows install disk.

    1. Prepare the drive for Windows with OS X disk utility by giving it one HFS+ partition with the Option set to GUID partition table.

    2. Terminate disk utility and start it up again. This time select the new partition you have prepared and format it with FAT32 by erasing it.

    3. Insert Windows installation disk into optical drive.

    4. Shut down your Mac and remove RAID drives.

    5. Start with Alt key pushed and select Windows CD/DVD as boot drive.

    6. Format the FAT32 partition (with NTFS for drives > 32GB) using the install disk

    7. Continue installation of Windows until it indicates full installation.

    8. Remove Windows install disk and insert Leopard install disk under Windows. Let Bootcamp install all drivers for Windows.

    9. Update Bootcamp if applicable via Apple update. Update Windows to latest service pack and all critical updates via Windows update.

    10. Install AHCI driver and shut down Mac.

    11. Put OS X Raid drives back.

    12. Boot into OS X and run Johnsock's patch program. Shut down Mac. Remove RAID.

    13. Boot into Windows and you should notice that your SATA drives now work in AHCI mode and not in legacy mode.

    14. Use Intel disk management program to configure ODD-SATA ports for HDD. Shut down. Reconnect RAID. Connect Windows HDD to ODD-SATA.

    I think this is the procedure as good as I can figure it out. The RAID is a nasty little complication which you do not necessarily want. I do not have one in my system, so it was much easier for me as Bootcamp worked right away. I have the AHCI driver primarily installed to have faster HDD performance and run a SATA Blu-Ray drive under Windows XP. So if you want to do things simpler - and if you have a spare HDD - use that to set up Leopard OS X in non RAID configuration. Things should be much easier that way. You can delete that OS X installation as soon as you have put the system sucessfully into AHCI mode.
     
  17. Tesselator thread starter macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #17
    Thanks gugucom!! You've been most helpful! Thank you very much!

    As luck would have it I'm going to have to wait to try this though. My DVD just died. Now I have to figure out what to replace it with. :-/

    Damn Apple... why can't they just use standard parts. :mad:
     
  18. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #18
    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/T8C...All&OSFullName=All Operating Systems&lang=eng

    This should be the latest AHCI driver from Intel

    Just a word of warning! I did this again because I changed my Windows on the Mac Pro from 32bit XP Pro to Vista Business 64-Bit. When you have successfully installed and updated the system in legacy mode PLEASE make a backup (I use Winclone) because you usually screw this up once or twice before you get the knack of it. When you have saved your system:

    1. under Vista edit the registry
    2. boot Windows and load iaahaci.inf to your legacy ATA drives
    3. boot OS X without touching Windows and run Johnsock's script. Make sure it selects the right drive and acknoledges the change to the MBR
    4. boot into Windows and load iastor.inf to your SATA AHCI drives

    I show 2 pics here how it looks when you have got it right. 1st is the Windows hardware manager with SATA drives in AHCI mode and the latest Intel driver from February 11. 2009.

    [​IMG]

    2nd is a pic of the matrix storage driver program with the output from my system. I have hooked up the Blu-Ray to the second ODD-SATA port which is counted as #5 by Intel. They start their count with 0.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Tesselator thread starter macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
  20. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
  21. Tesselator thread starter macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #21
    Ummm... WTH... Am I dreaming or...


    So I replaced my broken DVD that I spoke of and was going to wait till I got up the courage to go through all these steps to get Windows up in bootcamp. I was just goofing around in the Utilities folder and decided for no particular reason at all to start up the bootcamp assistant. Much to my surprise and for the first time ever it came right up and asked me which drive to format or partition. :eek: I didn't do any of these steps. Just started the BCA and it all worked perfectly. I even erased the installation and did it all again just to make sure I wasn't sleep-installing or something. :D

    It all worked. I also did NOT need to format the BCA created partition and Vista64 installed on it NP. I'm typing this from Safari running on Windows Vista Ultimate x64 addition.

    Wow! Sometimes things just all go right and fix themselves. Or did Apple update this in 10.5.7 without telling me first? ;)

    Progress is pretty good so far but some questions of course arise. I did a few searches here but way way too many irrelevant hits came up for me to sift through so if these have been addressed already I apologize in advance.

    1. Apple software RAID Recognition: Is there any way to get windows to mount my HFS+ RAID0 stripe? Currently it sees the 3 drives but refuses to access them. Will the ACHI drivers help with this? No right? And if gugucom answered this already in the sentence "you can either load the Raid driver with F6 from a floppy disk when Windows starts to read all the necessary files from the optical disk or you slipstream the drivers" he wrote in post #3 it's passing over my head.

    2. BootCamp drivers update:
      • Do I need to download and install this: http://support.apple.com/downloads/Boot_Camp_Update_2_1_for_Windows_Vista_64 or does the Apple Software Updater check for this and do it for me? When I try to run the file linked there, it just exits with no message like: "you're already updated" or something.

      • Additionally, when attempting to install the drivers from the "Mac OS X Leopard" DVD it errors out on 2 parts of the install. One is "Access Keys" (or Key Access?) and the other is "Apple HAL". Then it says installation complete and allows me to exit the installer normally. Is this a problem? :p

      • Lastly I assume that keyboard ODD eject and other mappings are a part of these drivers. Is that correct and if not is there way to get Apple's keyboard recognized and mapped under Vista x64? Vista doesn't include Apple's keyboard in any of the device descriptions I've see so far.

    3. Fan Speed: Are there any utilities I can use such as Fan Speed to set the fans or maybe overclock a little? :D This particular one doesn't seem to install correctly. :( And for some reason Vista x64 is reeking havoc in there. CPU temp at idle is 65C ~ 79C, RAM is at 80C and etc. :eek:

    4. Bootup times: Booting into Vista Ultimate x64 really takes 3.5 to 4 full minutes? Why so slow and is there a way of speeding it up?

    5. Any other fun or cool utilities specifically designed for Window installed on a Mac Pro?

    Well, that's it for now. Thanks in advance! Your time spent on any of these is greatly appreciated! Pretty much everything else works great. Sound - both digital, analogue, and my EDIROL UA-1000. The mouse, KB as generic, and etc. all work. I need to install a few more drivers for the Wacom 9x12, card readers and etc. but that should go smoothly.
     
  22. Tesselator thread starter macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
  23. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #23
    I can answer #1:

    Unfortunately, NO. :(

    MacDrive for Windows would allow you to do this, ONLY if the RAID array is hardware based, as it's seen as a single drive by the OS. Software based won't be seen as a single drive, and can't read the stripes.

    Otherwise, you'd have to place any files you want to cross access on a single drive.
     
  24. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #24
    I would very much doubt that this is possible. You should be able to use Intel RAID drivers to create a RAID under Windows but using the HFS+ RAID drives seems a bit much to ask.

    HAL errors is bad news because it indicates faults in the installation procedure. You must let Bootcamp partition your Windows drive and then you MUST format that same drive with the Windows install disk. Under no circumstances can you PARTITION again. You will get errors that way.

    Unfortunately Vista 64 bit drivers are not on all Leopard DVDs because Apple started to release them only in spring 2008. You need 64 bit Bootcamp 2.0 drivers unless you manage to grab a very new disk which has 2.1 on the Leopard disk. Unfortunately the downloadable 2.1 update requires the 2.0 original driver set or it will not install. This download from Apple is not stand alone. The drivers are approximately 400 MB. You can search for Torrents with "Bootcamp 2.01" There is also the following series of links to a rapidshare download in another forum.

    http://www.mechodownload.com/forum/macintosh-programs/63875-boot-camp-2-0-1-a.html

    If you have the right driver set and have copied it to a folder with the excact same folder structure as it appears on the original Apple disk you will find it at "Bootcamp/drivers/Bootcamp64.msi". This you install by right click and using administrator rights.

    It will take care of your keyboard and all the other stuff. You will then need to do the update of Windows to the present service pack and security updates. Then you are ready to download the 2.1 Bootcamp updates and install them. Apple recommends updating Windows prior to updating bootcamp drivers and I found it to be essential for XP. I also do it for VIsta but you may get away with swapping the order of updates. With XP you can expect malfunctions when you install 2.1 drivers prior to installing SP3.

    Fan control utilities may depend of BIOS and may not function under EFI. I have not used any so far because I do not do performance stuff with Windows. Dig around and you will probably find stuff.

    You can strip a lot of bloat stuff from Vista if you strip it with vLite prior to installation. vLite for 64 Vista requires a 64 Bit PC or Mac running 64 Bit Windows and the WAIK package. It is not trivial to set up for the first time.

    Regarding the AHCI drivers you will find them very much faster and the slow loading of Vista may also be due to the legacy drivers.



    good success!!
     
  25. Tesselator thread starter macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #25
    That worked! Thanks!

    I installed 2.00 with no errors, rebooted, and then installed 2.1 from Apple and it installed all the way but gave me an error on the "KeyAccess" part again. I can guess what that might be though. :p At least the HAL went by without a hitch. Which i guess will mean less BSODs - if Vista x64 still has that. :D

    So good news so far... Now I'm off to install the newest ACHI drivers!
     

Share This Page