Stranded and need help please

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by djeuro1981, Jun 2, 2018.

  1. djeuro1981 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    #1
    Ok guys,

    Where to start I purchased a mac pro 3,1 2008 model about 2 years ago and was running OS X Sierra flawlessly and then i had an issue with the HDD so i put in a new 1TB SSD drive i installed windows as my main operating system and didn't bother about OS X as i was wanting to play all the Battlefield games and Mac did not support these games, i originally had a Sapphire 7950 3gb Mac edition card running in the machine but ended up selling that and putting in a RX560 Gigabyte GPU 4GB so games would run better, my issue is that i am now wanting to install OS X High Sierra with Dosdude1 Patch but i cant as when i turn on my mac pro i dont get the apple boot logo and the screen stays black till windows is loaded.

    My question to you guys is "is there" a work around so i can install OS X High Sierra on my machine and have that as my main operating system or am i stuck with windows all together and i will need to buy a graphics card that is apple configured and it will give me a boot screen???

    Specs of Machine are as followed

    Mac Pro 2008

    2x Xeon 2.8ghz Processors
    32GB Ram
    Gigabyte RX560 4GB GPU
    Windows 7
    2x 320GB HDD 1x 1TB SSD


    Any help would be greatly appreciated and i thank you all for your time
     
  2. handheldgames macrumors 68000

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #2
    The NVMe patch was originally discovered to work on Sierra.
     
  3. djeuro1981 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    #3
    Sorry handeldgames is there a step by step walk through on how to get this all working, i apologise in advance but yeah kind of new to this
     
  4. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #4
    Do you have another Mac (or access to one)? You can connect your SSD to that Mac via a USB adapter, install MacOS on it and then move the SSD to your Mac Pro.

    But really, life without boot screens on a cMP is annoying at best. You really should consider picking up an EFI-capable card to have on hand. Even an old GT120 or something.
     
  5. djeuro1981 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2018
    #5
    Yeah i kind of figured that i may need to jump on ebay and buy an old mac card just so i can get something sorted
    --- Post Merged, Jun 2, 2018 ---
    ok i was just going through a box of parts and i just found a ATI Radeon x1900 XT card but the problem is when i fire it up the fans just spin like crazy and i get no image on screen just black
    --- Post Merged, Jun 2, 2018 ---
    also just downloaded this https://support.apple.com/kb/dl199?locale=en_GB
     

Share This Page