Stream Music on G3

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by n0cus, Aug 30, 2014.

  1. n0cus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #1
    Hey Everyone,

    As many of you know, the speakers on the iMac G3s are pretty awesome, and I would like to use it for a jukebox. I would like to be able to stream music to it using Pandora, Spotify, LastFM, etc. My favorite is Spotify, so I would be okay with just that. From what I have seen, the last PowerPC version only supports G4 and G5 processors. I tried using that client, and it just crashes on start. Is there some kind of work around to get Spotify working on G3s. If Spotify is not possible, is is possible to get Pandora or LastFM. Any help is appreciated!
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    What version of Spotify were you using?
     
  3. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #3
    How about a workaround?

    Use Fluid to generate an app for each site you want to stream from. Login inside the app you make and stream.
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4

    Wouldn't that require Adobe Flash at least for Pandora?
     
  5. n0cus thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #5
    I was using Spotify 0.6.6.10.
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    That is the latest version of Spotify for PPC. I normally do not use my G3 for music. I will boot it tomorrow and see what I can do.
     
  7. n0cus thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #7
    I went ahead and tried versions 0.4.8 and 0.5.1 with no luck. It just crashes at boot.
     
  8. weckart, Aug 31, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2014

    weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #8
    I googled and found this

    http://pamflett.wordpress.com/2009/03/18/breda-band-och-tunna-klienter/

    For those that don't speak Swedish you need to edit the parameters within the client to disable the processor version check.

    You need to install XCode first as you need the gcc compiler to patch a file and download the following file:

    http://redbutton.sourceforge.net/g3spot.c

    Save this to your home folder and type the following commands in a Terminal window

    gcc -o g3spot g3spot.c

    cp /Applications/Spotify.app/Contents/MacOS/Spotify Spotify.orig

    ./g3spot Spotify.orig Spotify

    chmod a+x Spotify

    cp Spotify /Applications/Spotify.app/Contents/MacOS/


    It doesn't specify the version of Spotify used but as the blog dates from 2009 you can try whatever versions were around then.
     
  9. n0cus, Aug 31, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2014

    n0cus thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #9
    I got this in response in terminal:

    Last login: Sun Aug 31 16:04:29 on ttyp1
    Welcome to Darwin!
    indigo:~ n0cus$
    indigo:~ n0cus$ gcc -o g3spot g3spot.c
    powerpc-apple-darwin8-gcc-4.0.1: g3spot.c: No such file or directory
    powerpc-apple-darwin8-gcc-4.0.1: no input files
    indigo:~ n0cus$
    indigo:~ n0cus$ cp /Applications/Spotify.app/Contents/MacOS/Spotify Spotify.orig
    indigo:~ n0cus$
    indigo:~ n0cus$ ./g3spot Spotify.orig Spotify
    -bash: ./g3spot: No such file or directory
    indigo:~ n0cus$
    indigo:~ n0cus$ chmod a+x Spotify
    chmod: Spotify: No such file or directory
    indigo:~ n0cus$
    indigo:~ n0cus$ cp Spotify /Applications/Spotify.app/Contents/MacOS/
    cp: Spotify: No such file or directory
    indigo:~ n0cus$

    EDIT:I ended up getting it working. A few of the terminal commands were wrong, but after changing them, all is good. Thank you everyone for your help.
     
  10. n0cus, Aug 31, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2014

    n0cus thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #10
    For anyone who want to use Spotify on their PowerPC G3 computer, I have provided a link to the G3 modified version of the last PowerPC compatible version of Spotify. Thanks again to everyone on the MacRumors PowerPC Forums for being so nice and helpful!

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/vtzpa1zbb45bklw/Spotify.zip?dl=0
     
  11. harrymatic macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #11
    Great work, thanks for sharing the pre-modified application. I'll be sure to give this a go on my iBook G3. I'm sure this could see quite a few iMac G3s given a new purpose as well!
     
  12. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #12
    That's very cool, thanks!

    I've put this in the Public folder on my Dropbox so I can provide a link to it (just in case you ever take it down off yours) for anyone asking.
     
  13. n0cus thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #13
    I actually created a new Dropbox account just to host this app, so I don't plan on taking it down, but it doesn't hurt to get more copies floating around! I am going to see if we can get the modified version on the PowerPC Archive
     
  14. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #14
    Oooh, will give it a try on the clamshell. Probably a lagfest, hahaha.
     
  15. n0cus thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #15
    On my 500Mhz iMac, it worked really well. You couldn't really make it run in the background, but if it is the only application running, it is fairly lag free. Now, on a clamshell, that might be a different story, but is worth a shot.
     
  16. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #16
    Mine is the 466, so not too far off. I'll try it now.
     
  17. n0cus thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #17
    You should be fine on a 466Mhz.
     
  18. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #18
    Yeah, works really well actually. Works sorta okay when Safari is being used too, kinda depends on what you're doing.
     
  19. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #19
    Does anyone have a standalone application for Pandora that runs on PPC?
     
  20. n0cus, Sep 1, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2014

    n0cus thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #20
    If you have flash installed, you can use PianoMan. I have also heard you can use Pianobar if you have Homebrew installed, but Pianobar is terminal based.
     
  21. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #21
    I don't have Flash installed. This would be for a G5 not a G3.
     
  22. n0cus thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #22
    Pianobar might be your best option. From what I read, to seems pretty light on resources and doesn't require Adobe anything! I haven't tried it personally, though.
     
  23. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #23
    I will check it out. For some reason, I remember seeing someone who had a Pandora app in their Dock.
     
  24. n0cus thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    #24
    Hmm... I would like to know about that as well. Maybe it was Pandora One, but I am not even sure that has a PPC client.
     
  25. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #25
    Maybe... I will look into it. I was hoping someone knew what I was talking about! :D
     

Share This Page