Stupid Website uses only Internet Explorer.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Jasonkrick, Apr 6, 2014.

  1. Jasonkrick macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    #1
    How can I view this on my MBP having only safari?
     
  2. mojolicious macrumors 68000

    mojolicious

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Location:
    Sarf London
    #2
    I can't believe there's an active website in the whole world that will only work with IE.

    But... if you're newish to Mac you *will* find that there are websites out there which are pretty much unviewable/unusable with Safari. I'd suggest downloading Firefox to use as a back-up browser. Would avoid Google Chrome because, being from Google, it puts crud all over your computer.
     
  3. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #3
    The simplest and only thing to try is to cheat the webserver and pretend to be IE.
    If you enable Developer menu in Safari, you can change the user agent Safari reports to webserver:
    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4067505
     
  4. KUguardgrl13 macrumors 68020

    KUguardgrl13

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    #4
    The only one I've ever come across was the Walmart job application site that only works on IE or Netscape. And that was in 2012.

    I use Chrome rather than Safari, so I haven't run into too many issues of being unable to open a site.
     
  5. iizmoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    #5
    Most of the small commercial world is not IE dependent, but there are some corporate internal tools or government stuffs that are very IE centric and require IE specific features. That's why it took so long to get rid of IE 6.

    If the OP is in that category, might have to just go the long route and install a virtual Windows in Parallel or VirtualBox to get the authentic IE.
     
  6. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #6
    Chrome is just fine, what "crud" are you talking about?
     
  7. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #7
    Chrome doesn't install any crud, but Chrome is an awful resource hog that lags and drains so much battery.
     
  8. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #8
    I know about it's high power usage, I want to know about the "crud" claim (which I highly doubt exists).
     
  9. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #9
    Nope, Chrome doesn't install any crud though. But knowing Google, they could have slipped something inside the Mac the backdoor way during installation so that they can read your private stuff to target ads at you.
     
  10. JoEw macrumors 65816

    JoEw

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    #10
    I'm pretty sure the media would have a field day if this was found, and I don't think google would risk losing so many peoples trust, and all the code in chrome is open source in the chromium project so it's not like chrome is is this mystery code on everyone's PC's
     
  11. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #11
    I mean, the Chrome installer could've put something into the Mac surreptitiously :)

    It's the installer, not the browser itself :p
     
  12. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #12
    Well, if the site uses ActiveX heavily then it won't work anywhere but IE. Best way is to just run a VM or follow the instructions on this page to install IE6 in OS X.
    http://m.wikihow.com/Install-Internet-Explorer-on-Mac-Using-WineBottler
     
  13. Steve121178 macrumors 68040

    Steve121178

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #13
    There are 100's of millions in the Enterprise that are IE only.
     
  14. 5to1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    #14
    Only thing I've noticed is the notifications they added, which involved editing chrome://flags to remove (wasn't impressed by that). Aside from that and it being "juicy" haven't noted anything else untoward. But adding notifications without asking and then not providing an obvious way to disable left a sour taste, I must admit :/
     
  15. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #15
    Probably uses ActiveX.

    Stay away, probably malware.
     
  16. mojolicious macrumors 68000

    mojolicious

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Location:
    Sarf London
    #16
    Pah, you people want me to substantiate my totally unsubstantiated comments?!?

    Erm... I've no idea what Chrome actually installs, but I do recall there was a persistent Chrome updater/installer .dmg that a) kept magically reinstalling itself and b) magically mounting itself. I'm sure none of it is remotely malign or compromising, but I didn't like the intrusion.
     
  17. JoEw macrumors 65816

    JoEw

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    #17
    Chrome has flash sandboxed, so I have it installed In those rare times I need flash, that way I don't have to have flash installed on my mac.
     
  18. ColdCase, Apr 7, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2014

    ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #18

    You think most folks have not already lost their trust? Just about everyone I know tries to avoid them. Unfortunately Google has become scum bags in the sense they sell their souls for the marketing dollar as well as info they gather from us surreptitiously.

    There are many of us that have lost all trust in Google.
     
  19. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #19
    Stupid Website uses only Internet Explorer.

    That's Chrome updating itself automatically. It totally fine, other apps do the same thing.
     
  20. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #20
    As has been pointed out, it is easy to come across IE only pages on business or government related websites. Just imagine if it was the Visa application site of a country you want to visit, or some job application site, or the site you have to use to sign up for electricity in your new neighbourhood.

    Therefore, I find it a bit sad that the useful information here is obscured by a pointless Chrome vs. Firefox vs. Google is bad debate.


    Possible steps to take for IE only websites:
    1. Try a different browser (Chrome, Firefox, Opera, etc). This is mostly useful when the problem is related to the site not being displayed properly.
    2. Make your browser identify as IE. This is possible by checking the "Show Develop menu" option in Preferences > Advanced, then clicking on "Develop" in the menu and selecting IE as "User Agent"
    3. Run Windows in a Virtual Machine.
    3a. It might be possible to use Wine (or one of its packaged versions e.g. Winebottler, Playonmac, Crossover Mac) to get IE to run on the Mac.
     
  21. themumu macrumors 6502a

    themumu

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Sunnyvale
    #21
    Very true, sometimes it's a necessary evil ;)

    That said, if the website in question is something you only need to access once, and requires an actual IE such that options 1) and 2) do not work, one might just head to the nearest library or borrow a Windows computer in some other way instead of trying to set up entire virtual machines or wrestle with Wine (I have many painful memories from using that software, wouldn't recommend it to an enemy :)).
     
  22. sjinsjca macrumors 68000

    sjinsjca

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #22
    Good point, and a reminder that when you say 'yes' to an installer, you're giving it permission to have its way with your system in any fashion it likes.

    But I am not aware of Google doing this with Chrome (except, as others have noted, with its own auto-updates... which are a great feature).

    Surreptitiously installing "crud" would be a good way of inviting holy hell from among the user community... do you have knowledge of any reports of such?
     
  23. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #23
    Until some other developer analyzes the code of the Chrome installer and what it does, we won't know what the Chrome installer really does :)
     
  24. phositadc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #24

    Must be user error because chrome hasn't put any "crud" on my computer.
     
  25. mojolicious macrumors 68000

    mojolicious

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Location:
    Sarf London
    #25
    I've already apologised for claiming there's 'crud', phositadc, although any application which requires you do this in order to turn off auto-update, and which intermittently mounts update-related disk images, is in itself pretty cruddy.
     

Share This Page