iPhone Substrate 0.9.5000 Saurik twitter

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by nwmtnbiker, Dec 31, 2013.

  1. nwmtnbiker macrumors 68000

    nwmtnbiker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Location:
    Fidalgo Island
    #1
    Substrate 0.9.5000 has been released, with support for iOS 7 and ARM64. (For extensions to work on ARM64, they must be recompiled to ARM64.)

    https://twitter.com/saurik/status/417938916356784128
     
  2. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
  3. wjlee91 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    #4
    still wouldn't matter much for arm64 until tweaks are updated.
     
  4. oplix Suspended

    oplix

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    New York, NY
  5. vasili0s macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Location:
    Athens,Greece
    #6
    merry christmas kiddos!

    btw saurik, why so badass?
     
  6. iMrNiceGuy0023 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #7
    So the name is Cydia Substrate now? Not Mobile Substrate?
     
  7. iAlphard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    #8
    Yep, and saurik is badass :cool:
     
  8. rak007 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    #9
    Sorry for dumb question but will this be automatically be downloaded when we try to download a tweak that needs to use MS (or Cydia Substrate) ?
     
  9. nwmtnbiker thread starter macrumors 68000

    nwmtnbiker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Location:
    Fidalgo Island
    #10
    Looks like mobile subtrate was removed from Cydia..
     
  10. budmonster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #11
    I'm new to iOS, coming over from Android. I've been dying to JB but was told to wait for MS to be updated, don't really know what it is but was told it's very important to the whole process.

    Anyways, it was just updated and now supports iOS 7 and ARM64 like you mentioned. Does the 5s = ARM64? And does that means even though MS was updated to ARM64, still no tweaks will work on the 5s until these devs update there tweaks to work with ARM64? Am I understanding that correctly, lol? Should I wait to JB since no tweaks are compatible with the 5s yet? I'm guessing a few tweaks work for the 5s but most prob dont?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  11. JOSE891 macrumors 6502a

    JOSE891

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #12
    Lol me too.
     
  12. Barneygumble47 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Location:
    N. Ireland
    #13
    As far as I understand you are right in what you say, however there is no need to wait before you jailbreak, you can do it now and be ready for when the tweaks start to be updated which I suspect won't be long.
     
  13. JOSE891 macrumors 6502a

    JOSE891

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    #14
    Actually it does matter because developers couldn't update there apps to support 64 bit processors, now they can.
     
  14. evangw macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #15
    You might as well jailbreak now. You can install tweaks, but they just probably won't work. They'll probably mostly either be updated within the next week, or they're abandonware and will never work on iPhone 5S, iPad Air, and iPad Retina Mini. I've jailbroken my iPad Retina Mini (also ARM64) and a quite a few tweaks already work, e.g. Activator. Just don't try adding themes yet.

    Also be aware that once Apple puts out a new OS version, you will no longer be able to go back to 7.0.4, and thus you will no longer be able to jailbreak (until a new version is released, if a new version is ever released for 7.x). I haven't done Winterboard Themeing since 4.x due to this--at least historically, if you had a lot of different themes and tweaks installed they could really make the phone unstable as hell and require a restore to fix. Maybe it's better now. I've never had a problem with phone instability beyond theme installations, but almost the only things I use now are tweaks to speed up the phone (ugh, the animations are so slow) and Activator.
     
  15. ZacNicholson macrumors 6502a

    ZacNicholson

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Location:
    Indiana
    #16
    SBsettings doesn't work, still puts it in safe mode.
     
  16. borgqueenx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #17
    Awesome. Unfortunatly every app will have to be updated for 64bit it seems. Tried about 5 tweaks. Nothing worked on the 5s.
     
  17. budmonster macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #18
    Ok, I understand. I am confused about the part where Apple releases a new OS say 7.1 or whatever and I can't go back to 7.0.4. Are you saying if I JB on 7.0.4 now and a new OS comes out in a few months that I won't be able to update to that new OS unless I want to lose JB? So if I update I lose JB and then I'll be stuck on "7.1". Only way to JB is wait for evaders to rls a JB for 7.1 I wont be able to go back to 7.0.4? It's 5am so that is prob why I'm not understanding. Did I get it correct?
     
  18. nwmtnbiker thread starter macrumors 68000

    nwmtnbiker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Location:
    Fidalgo Island
    #19
    I have clear folders and zeppelin working. If they didn't already work... Barrel also kinda worked. When I install something I take a pic so if I remove it I can remove its dependencies also.
     
  19. confucious, Dec 31, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2013

    confucious macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Location:
    Woking, UK
    #20
    You seem to have understood quite well.
     
  20. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #21
    Too bad most apps aren't updated yet to support new substrate.

    MyWi doesn't work.
     
  21. confucious macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Location:
    Woking, UK
    #22
    Now cydia substrate is out devs can start updating their apps. It shouldn't be long before they start getting updated.

    I only have a 5 not a 5S - I'm just waiting for the day when things start coming out that are 64 bit only. Then I will have to think about upgrading!
     
  22. boobie12 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    #23
    Cc toggles works on the 5s now and it's pretty cool
     
  23. zone23 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    #24
    I actually find this to be a stupid thing to say.

    How can they update there apps without MS working correctly? This is like which came first the chicken or the egg? MS certainly needs to come first.
     
  24. iAlphard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    #25
    True.
    Remember, the are many processes and people involved before our food comes in front of us on the table. Don't be ungrateful.
     

Share This Page