Swap SIM cards

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by I’mpaced, Oct 29, 2017.

  1. I’mpaced Suspended

    I’mpaced

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    #1
    so when the wife’s X comes in on Friday and I take it. I assume I want to oh my sim in before I turn it on, or turn on, activate it then swap
     
  2. Packers1958 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #2
    Do not turn on the X. Turn off your current phone. Take out the sim. Put it in the X. Turn off old phone, and turn on the X.
     
  3. Ortiz7983 Suspended

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    #3
    Doesn’t the new iPhone take a smaller SIM card? Not sure that’s why I’m asking.
     
  4. Packers1958 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #4
    iPhone has been using the same sim cards that the 5 and newer have been using.
     
  5. I’mpaced thread starter Suspended

    I’mpaced

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    #5

    Will be the same size sim as the 8. Just not sure which step to take first
     
  6. Relentless Power macrumors Penryn

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #6
    As Mentioned, you can use your pre-existing Sim in the new iPhone X. At most, you might have to call Verizon to have it activated.
     
  7. StarShot macrumors 6502a

    StarShot

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    #7
    When I IP8 arrived, I swapped my sim card from my IP7. The new IP8 recoginized my number and the phone worked fine. I paid full price for it and wanted it unlocked. When I went through the unlock procedured, ATT didn't recoginize it as an ATT phone. I had to take it to my local ATT store where they gave me a new sim card that did recoginize it as a ATT phone and then I quickly got it unlocked. I assume I could have used it forever with the old sim.
     
  8. myscrnnm macrumors 65816

    myscrnnm

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #8
    How can you turn your old phone off when it's already off?
     
  9. Renho macrumors 68000

    Renho

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Location:
    SR, CA
    #9
    Ya i just found out that you put your old sim in your new phone you don't have to pay the upgrade fee.
     
  10. Packers1958 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #10
    Ooops a typo.
     
  11. engelke2010 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    #11
    So when I get my X on Friday, if I put on my SIM from my 7 Plus I won’t have to pay the upgrade fee?
     
  12. Newtons Apple macrumors Core

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #12
    That is correct. DO NOT turn on your X until you have swapped in your old SIM card.

    Destroy to SIM card that came in your x as if someone finds and uses it, it will instantly move your service to their phone and change you an activation fee!
     
  13. Packers1958 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #13
    Depends on if you were already charged an upgrade fee when ordered.
     
  14. Patrick G macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #14
    What if "the wife's" X was purchased via Verizon Payment Plan, and was an additional line added to the plan. Can I still swap just as easily?
     
  15. Renho macrumors 68000

    Renho

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Location:
    SR, CA
    #15
    I don't think anybody was charged on order, cause it shows up on your next bill.
     
  16. Packers1958 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #16
    I was charged the price of the phone, upgrade fee and tax on my debit card when I ordered through Verizon.
     
  17. Renho macrumors 68000

    Renho

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Location:
    SR, CA
    #17
    yup, old to new
     
  18. HaydenWI macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2016
    Location:
    Charlotte
    #18
    I purchased mine outright and the upgrade fees were tacked onto the charge (phone + tax + upgrade fee)
     
  19. Renho macrumors 68000

    Renho

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Location:
    SR, CA
    #19
    I have never heard of that. That must be new or somthing. Then again i have ATT and it has always came on new bill. That sucks
    --- Post Merged, Oct 30, 2017 ---
    what carrier?
     
  20. Blaqdymun macrumors member

    Blaqdymun

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Location:
    New York
    #20
    Added a new line of service and they activated the line prior to shipping the device. I received a thank you for activating your device email.
     
  21. justinTlME macrumors 6502

    justinTlME

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    #21
    This is good information. This is basically the info I was seeking out when I made a similar thread about this.

    I have 4 phones on my Verizon account. Two 7+’s (my wife and I) and two 5c’s ( my in laws). My wife and I ordered X’s for her and I, but ordered it under their numbers because they were up for upgrades. We want to give them our 7+’s and we will use the X’s, obviously, haha.

    So, if I am understanding everything correctly.... I will get their 5C’s, turn them off, turn off the 7+’s, keep X’s off. Take the SIM cards out of the X’s, and put them in the 7+’s, and then take the sims from the 7+’s and put them in the X’s. Boot everything up and be good to go. 7+’s for them and X’s for us.
     
  22. lsbuffs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    #22
    I too added another line ordering through Verizon. Paid full price. The receipt shows the phone price, followed by the activation fee ($30) and cost of the new line ($20), but the total actually charged to my card was just the phone and sales tax.

    I haven't been charged for the activation fee or the new line yet. I'm going to sell this phone to a friend, so will just have him activate using his SIM and will call Verizon to remove it from my account, so don't expect to ever be charged.
     
  23. Packers1958 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    Location:
    South Dakota
    #23
    I got charged the full amount on my card. Did not add any lines.
     
  24. sealos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    #24

    Dude, you’re my hero! Does this work for all carriers? I have AT&T.

    Best,
    Sealos
     
  25. Renho macrumors 68000

    Renho

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Location:
    SR, CA
    #25
    ahh, so even tho the receipt says it on there they never actually charged you the upgrade fee.
     

Share This Page

39 October 29, 2017