Swtor

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by chilly willy, Jun 14, 2012.

  1. chilly willy macrumors regular

    chilly willy

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #1
    Curious if anyone lucky enough to get a new MBP (Retina or otherwise) has played SWTOR on it and can advise how it performs.

    Likewise, I'm curious if others playing on the current 27" iMac. Wondering how it performs, machine temps, etc..

    I am playing the game on a PC, but need a replacement for family iMac and at same time contemplating a 2nd computer that plays swtor so my son and I can play together. I have considered a PC gaming rig and not worry about trying to play the game on my macs.....I have just heard bad stories about fans going constantly, heat etc...Thing is, I'm really mainly a console guy, and non-console stuff I play most macs can easily handle except for swtor.
     
  2. Zauberer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    #2
    I am also curious how the new retina MBP performs with SWTOR.
     
  3. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #3
    at 2880x1800?

    well through Parallels I think its going to have major problems in speed at that high of a res, but should work great at a lower res.

    If you want to run it on Windows installed directly... well you'd need to wait for the real driver support for Windows to come out for them first. Right now people are just using hacked drivers and such to get things working, and it isn't exactly at its best yet. I'd love to see what it ran like here too, but I'd assume it would be playable with decent graphics settings.
     
  4. Azzurri15 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    #4
    What about on a Non retina MBP, with the upgraded screen rez?
     
  5. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #5
    1680x1050 Mac with a 650m running Windows 7? I'd assume it would run fantastic. I can play it at max settings at 1280x800 on half as powerful GPU through Parallels, so I don't see how that machine would have a problem running natively through Windows.
     
  6. chilly willy thread starter macrumors regular

    chilly willy

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #6
    Why not use bootcamp? The drivers? I thought your could update them pretty easily in Windows once you got partition set up.
     
  7. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #7
    nah... getting drivers isn't just running Windows update... its not like a Mac where Apple pushes it all to you. Windows update tries to suggest drivers for some things, but its pretty hit or miss and sometimes find really old useless drivers. Much of the hardware won't work right without proper drivers, and thats why part of Bootcamp is a driver pack for Windows. Right now Bootcamp is not updated to support the new machines in Windows, and the 650M is new enough nvidia doesn't even have drivers for it, so people are modding different drivers to make it work right now, which is not ideal.
     
  8. chilly willy thread starter macrumors regular

    chilly willy

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    Ok. Appreciate the explanation.
     
  9. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #9
    do you even know what modding is? they arent modding the drivers, they are simple adding specific GPUs into the setup file ini to allow it to install. Nvidia drivers are universal for all their cards, the only thing being different is the setup ini that allows specific cards. to allow it to install all you have to do is replace the setup ini in say 302.59 version with a ini with the new cards in it. not hard

    and bootcamp is useless. its only for people who dont know how to install windows,get drivers, etc and need help doing it for themselves
     
  10. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #10
    for most users modifying any file is hard. If it was truly just as easy as modifying 1 file, Nvidia would have already have it out with their driver download. Just because the drivers seem to work ok right now, doesn't mean it'll work ok in all situations. Wait til they release drivers that official support it for stability, because they do a lot more than just edit 1 file.
     
  11. chilly willy thread starter macrumors regular

    chilly willy

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #11
    Well, the reason boot camp came to mind is fact no mac I currently own would be able to run SWTOR in parallels from what I've read.

    I'm also one of those guys who is scared to run SWTOR on my macs b/c I know they will be huffing and puffing just to get decent performance. No desire to fry my beloved macs for a game, even one I'm dying to play with my son on multiple computers. :(

    So, the siren song of the 2011 iMacs and/or PC gaming rigs is very strong and hard to resist.:)
     
  12. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #12
    My 2011 circa MBP (see sig) plays SWTOR (Windows7) just fine depending on what's happening in the game 15-40 fps.
     
  13. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #13
    ehhh... when I was playing the game, I was running it on a 2011 MBP 17" with 8gb ram, and a 6750 1gb. i ran it in Windows 7 in Parallels 7 all grpahics options turned up and on except Shadows, and at 1280x800, and would pull anywhere from 30 - 60 fps.
     
  14. Nightarchaon macrumors 65816

    Nightarchaon

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #14
    I have an early 08 MBP, the C2D one with the 512mb Nvidia 8600GTM, and SWTOR runs fine on that (have to slum it whilst I'm away with work occasionally), with shadows turned off, everything else set to high, same on my 2011 iMacs ATI 4770, both in bootcamp, The iMac even runs SWTOR in Parallels BETTER than under bootcamp (15-20fps higher than bootcamp), helped by the fact there is Less texture pop-up because i can assign 1gb video ram, for textures.
     
  15. chilly willy thread starter macrumors regular

    chilly willy

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC

Share This Page