T-Mobile Contract Free = Unlocked?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jashworth03, Sep 9, 2015.

  1. jashworth03 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #1
    Really excited about the new 6S. I'm hoping that like last year, the T-Mobile variant of the phone is indeed unlocked and able to be purchased at full price.

    Here is what I don't understand. If it is indeed unlocked, why doesn't Apple just sell an unlocked version at launch for full price? Why the delay and hassle?

    I want to buy equipment and don't mind to pay retail, but I want it unlocked and good to go on the day I buy it! I hate that I'm chancing it by buying a "probably" unlocked T-Mo variant. Seems like Apple is doing a bad job taking my money!!!
     
  2. flur macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2012
  3. JodyK macrumors 6502a

    JodyK

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Northern Atlanta suburbs
    #3
    YES bought one every launch that this has been available. Factory unlocked Tmobile Contract Free
     
  4. mattopotamus macrumors G4

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #4
    It is GSM unlocked. They may actually sell a SIM free at full retail this year with this whole "upgrade your iPhone" thing. At least that is my hope.

    SIM free is the best choice
    verizon would be next best
    t-mobile next (GSM unlocked)
    att (GSM unlocked)
    Sprint (however some have said they are now unlocked if bought at full retail), which would make them just as good as SIM fee in the US.

    I hope they realize there is a large market for full retail pricing, and they would just sell a SIM free from the get go.
     
  5. jashworth03 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #5
    Agreed. Just would be nicer if I could buy an "Apple Unlocked Variant" rather than a "T-Mobile Unlocked Variant"
     
  6. JodyK macrumors 6502a

    JodyK

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Location:
    Northern Atlanta suburbs
    #6
    It basically is ... only thing is there is a Tmoible sim pre loaded. No marking or logos on the box etc. Just a factory unlocked iPhone!
     
  7. Gr81MB macrumors 6502

    Gr81MB

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #7
    Now you can get ATT, T Mobile, Or Sprint at "Pay In Full" "unlocked"
     
  8. AppleFan91 macrumors 65816

    AppleFan91

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Location:
    Indy, US
    #8
    So to confirm, I could preorder the T-Mobile full retail version from Apple and pop in a Verizon SIM and it will work?
     
  9. micho119 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    #9
    guys i'm chatting with apple support guys, they said that this year the only unlocked phone are the phones through iphone upgrade program.
     
  10. Gr81MB macrumors 6502

    Gr81MB

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #10
    Cant be he has no clue what they are talking about. Went through this last year, why pay $849 $949 ect. for a phone that "Pay in Full" and have it come to you LOCKED. Does not make sense.
     
  11. mgmusicman94 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #12
    T-Mobile is fully unlocked. It will work on Verizon. T-Mobile, Verizon, and Sprint phones are all as good as sim free when purchased in full from Apple. The only questionable one is AT&T which may be only GSM unlocked.

    Correct!
     
  12. ZigZagLens macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #13
    But supposedly the AT&T and T-Mobile phones are not the same - they are apparently two different model numbers. I bought T-Mobile unlocked, assuming I could just put my AT&T SIM in and use it (like I did with my 6). I didn't pick the AT&T one because I'm out of contract and just didn't want to deal with all the "let's see if you're qualified for an upgrade" BS. Plus, screw AT&T for wanting an upgrade fee!! For what??

    But now I'm thinking I might have screwed up.

    See this article and its comments for some more info (even though they seem as confused as I am).
     
  13. The19th macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Location:
    NorCal
    #14
    We're currently discussing this in the iPhone 6s LTE 30 Band and CDMA Version Megathread

    For this round, the AT&T phone may have the most compatibility as it has all the bands the other models have (including CDMA) and LTE Band 30. This is based on the iPhone 6s specifications page.

    Until the actual hardware gets into people's hands though, there's not a lot of concrete info.

    Yes, the PCMag article from September 10 says the AT&T phone may be "limiting" but Apple updated the specs page on Saturday, September 12.
     
  14. The19th macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Location:
    NorCal
    #15
    The models are indeed different: A1633/1634 for AT&T, and A1687/1688 (GSM) for T-Mo. The only difference that we can spot so far is that the A163x models have Band 30. Technically, both GSM variants will still function on AT&T's network–using the Contract-Free T-Mo phone will still allow you to pop an AT&T SIM in it and make calls and access the internet over the other LTE Bands that are common to all six (6s and 6s Plus) models. You're just not able to access the less congested (but still not widely rolled out) LTE Band 30 that are specific to the AT&T A163x models, like the existing iPhone 6 models currently do.
     
  15. ZigZagLens, Sep 13, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2015

    ZigZagLens macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #16
    But if I'm reading this correctly, the T-Mobile iPhone (1688) will not support LTE at all on AT&T's network.
     
  16. The19th macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Location:
    NorCal
    #17
    A quick search shows that AT&T reportedly operates on LTE bands 2, 4, 5, 17, and slowly rolling out Band 30.

    Both 6s variants (A163x and A168x) have LTE access on 2, 4, 5, and 17.
     
  17. The.316 macrumors 65816

    The.316

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    25100 GR
    #18
    So a T-Mobile phone would be my best bet to use in Greece?
     
  18. The19th macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Location:
    NorCal
    #19
    Looks like Cosmote, Vodafone, and WIND in Greece use LTE bands 3 and/or 7. Technically, either model (A168x or A163x) should work. The Contact-Free/T-Mobile phone shouldn't be locked (based on previous iPhones) and you should be able to insert your Greek SIM and work without trouble over there.

    The only wildcard is if the AT&T model (A163x) is locked to AT&T, where you can't simply insert your Greek SIM and have it work. I don't see why this would be the case though, again based on previous iPhone generation models.
     
  19. The.316 macrumors 65816

    The.316

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Location:
    25100 GR
    #20
    Thanks. I use Cosmote here in Greece. I just wanted to make sure what I was getting in to, since I will be paying around $900 for the phone when all is said and done.
     
  20. Blake 125 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Location:
    Indiana
    #21
    Can anyone who bought an iPhone 6s paid in full from t mobile confirm that it comes unlocked?
     
  21. jashworth03 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
  22. bkends35 macrumors 6502a

    bkends35

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #23
    Can confirm, got my 6s T-Mobile, paid full and am currently using it on AT&T.
     
  23. lu0s3r322 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    #24
    Did anyone who bought in-store have to give your carrier account info in order to buy a phone at full price?
     
  24. MICHAELSD macrumors 68040

    MICHAELSD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #25
    Bought contract-free T-Mobile online and works fine on Verizon.
     

Share This Page