Carrier T-Mobile Low Bandwidth Deal: Good News for Current iPhones?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Lord Hamsa, Jan 6, 2014.

  1. Lord Hamsa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    #1
    T-Mobile has struck a deal with Verizon to get some low-frequency spectrum bandwidth, which should improve T-Mobile's signal strength issues in indoors and rural areas, if I understand this correctly.

    The article linked mentions that T-Mobile will be rolling out devices capable of using these frequencies in 2014Q4 - my question would be if I switched to T-Mobile this spring (which I am considering) and got an iPhone 5S, would that phone be capable of using the lower-frequency bandwidth when it comes online?

    basically, the only thing really stopping me from dropping AT&T for T-Mobile is the latter's notoriously poor performance indoors (e.g., at my office).
     
  2. iPhonemaster5S macrumors 6502

    iPhonemaster5S

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
    This is good, now hopefully rural coverage will be better now.
     
  3. mattwallace24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #3
    It could be good IF 1) you don't mind waiting until the end of this year or even into 2015 for better building penetration (deal isn't expected to close until at least mid-year), 2) you live in a market where this spectrum could be deployed, and 3) T-Mobile's plans are derided by an acquisition by Sprint or a satellite company.
     
  4. osofast240sx, Jan 6, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2014

    osofast240sx macrumors 68030

    osofast240sx

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #4
    Lte band 13 and 17 on the iPhone 5s, 5c, rMini and Air will handle T-Mobile's new 700mhz frequency
     
  5. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    This new spectrum won't help much with rural coverage. If you look at the maps of spectrum licenses you will see that it mainly covers urban areas.

    What it will help with is improving indoor coverage in those urban markets and also with coverage in the suburbs of those markets. It's a good step in the right direction for TMO.

    Next thing they need to do is purchase some low band spectrum to cover the highways between urban areas. Once that's done, most of the coverage complaints would disappear.
     
  6. akuma13 macrumors 6502a

    akuma13

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #6
    This would be great for any phone on T-Mobile, especially with people who have trouble with reception in buildings. I wonder how long this will take to implement?
     
  7. Lord Hamsa thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    #7
    1) Well, let's just say that my indoor AT&T reception isn't great to start with. Moving temporarily from "flaky" to "very flaky" will probably be acceptable, and make "flaky" again feel like a huge improvement when the upgrade occurs. :D The article (admittedly PR) expects the deal to close mid-2014 and to deploy by the end of 2014.

    2) Washington, DC, so I believe that's on the list.

    3) Always a risk, but the buyer would still have the bandwidth.

    ----------

    Thanks!
     
  8. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    Here's a map of the areas it covers.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #9
    low-bandwidth != low-frequency
     
  10. JackieInCo macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Location:
    Colorado
    #10
    Glad to see this includes a huge chunk of Colorado where I already have exceptional service. Can't wait to see how it improves further with this.
     
  11. Lord Hamsa thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    #11
    Yeah, I noticed my headline flub after it was too late to edit the headline.

    Perhaps I should make "Type, Proofread, then Post" instead of "Type, Post, then Proofread" my new year's resolution.
     
  12. AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #12
    When they mean existing, does TMobile already own 700A in parts of MA and NH?
     
  13. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #13
    Yes they already have licenses there. They just have yet to use them for some reason.
     
  14. Lord Hamsa thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    #14
    My guess is that it probably wasn't cost-effective for them to add the capability for just one market area.
     
  15. Menel macrumors 603

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #15
    Band13 is 700Mhz C-Block
    Band17 is 700MHz B-Block

    This article is about 700MHz A-Block, that falls in LTE Band 12.

    There is no guarantee that those handsets will support 700 ABlock. I don't think they will without firmware update. I'm not sure that is possible retroactively even if Apple even wanted to.

    Consider the revised separate A1428 for TMobile, before and after TMobile launch that activated 1700/1900 HSPA+ in the chipset. It requires a new handset, and wasn't pushed in an iOS patch even though the hardware was there.

    I'm not saying it's not possible. I'm just saying it would be foolish to assume Apple will/can update the current 5c&5S retroactively adding Band12 700a support.

    There are no Apple products that list Band 12 compatibility.

    Verizon never deployed on it, at least partially because it's on the edge of the spectrum, and is prone to interference from UHF TV broadcast.

    [​IMG]
     
  16. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #16
    Yeah that's probably the reason. I know they have a slice of 800mhz in Myrtle Beach, SC that they got when they bought Suncom, but they don't use it either since they have no 800mhz anywhere else.
     
  17. AutoUnion39, Jan 6, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2014

    AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #17
    [​IMG]

    It gives them a 6x6 slice of spectrum, on which a single 5Mhz LTE carrier can be placed. VoLTE cannot be placed on this spectrum, due to issues from the Ch. 51 interference. Precisely why VZW sold it and no one else wanted it. And the A Block is Band 12. No devices support this band whatsoever. Will have to wait until TMo has started deployment. No reason to buy an iPhone 5S now.

    ----------

    X2. All of this is spot-on and correct.
     
  18. Lord Hamsa thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    #18
    Thanks for the updates. It looks like anyone wanting to take advantage of those frequencies will need to buy a device specifically made to cover them. Good to know.
     
  19. parseckadet macrumors 6502a

    parseckadet

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #19
    Considering that this deal won't even close until later this year, and deployment isn't likely to even begin until 2015, I doubt this band will be useful for most T-Mobile customers until late 2015 or 2016. Given that, if you were to switch any time soon you would likely be nearing your next device upgrade (assuming you follow a two year cycle) before this channel becomes available to you anyway, so whether the 5s will support it or not is a bit of a moot point. Switching with the hopes that things will improve in the future just guarantees that you'll be disappointed. Only switch to a carrier if you're satisfied with their service as it exists today.
     
  20. AutoUnion39, Jan 6, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2014

    AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #20
    [​IMG]

    Places where channel 51 interference occurs. LTE cannot be deployed unless this issue is dealt with. Another solution would be to deploy a smaller channel of LTE, but with the max already being a 5Mhz slice, it would be pretty worthless to deploy less.

    It seems that USCC owns B12 in some areas and has deployed on it. But is currently refarming onto PCS and B5, due to the lack of devices and CH51 interference problems. Albeit, they do say they have fixed the problems.

    http://www.fiercewireless.com/tech/...ails-absence-band-12-apples-iphone/2013-05-30

    EDIT: http://www.attpublicpolicy.com/fcc/att-commits-to-interoperability-in-the-lower-700-mhz-band/

    AT&T has committed to working out the kinks over 700A

    Besides TMobile, the only other major owners of 700A are USCC/CSpire. This would mean that unless TMobile can buy more 700A from them or partner up, there is a significant chance that AT&T will end up buying or partnering with USCC for their 700A. USCC is a perfect fit for them due to the amount of rural LTE already deployed in the Northeast and it perfectly complements their 700B/C holdings.
     
  21. Apple Trees macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    #21
    At least they're finally doing something to address their coverage issues. Too bad this doesn't help with rural coverage. Still lots of EDGE along the interstates here in the Southeast.
     
  22. parseckadet macrumors 6502a

    parseckadet

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #22
    You do realize that this is likely a single piece to a much larger puzzle right? If they had announced a plan to improve the EDGE areas instead of this, I'm sure people would be here harping about how that wouldn't do anything to solve building penetration. There isn't a silver bullet out there that will suddenly solve all of T-Mobile's shortcomings. Take this for what it is, an indication that T-Mobile recognizes what they need to work on and a willingness to do what it takes to improve. That's more than we were getting out of them a couple of years ago.
     
  23. yeah macrumors 6502a

    yeah

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    #23
    That is correct. :D
     
  24. Truefan31 macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #24
    I think if they use it for voice that'd be great. Looks like they're not done yet either buying spectrum
     
  25. AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #25
    Can't be used for voice, due to Channel 51 interference problems.
     

Share This Page