T2 & ext disk clone boot [Resolved]

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by strawbale, Nov 24, 2018.

  1. strawbale macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Location:
    French Pyrenees
    #1
    I'm just wondering: if I'd make a bootable clone (on an ext disk) would the T2 security have to be set at 'no security' (or whaterver the lowest settings is called) to actually allow a boot from clone? If so, I'd have to have this as default T2 settings as one doesn't know in advance when one needs to start up from an external clone (in the future), no?
     
  2. F-Train, Nov 24, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2018

    F-Train macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Location:
    NYC & Newfoundland
    #2
    I use Bombich’s Carbon Copy Cloner, which has published this article with two sections on T2: https://bombich.com/kb/ccc5/help-my-clone-wont-boot

    The article answers your question and tells you how to enable an external boot.
     
  3. strawbale thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Location:
    French Pyrenees
    #3
    Thanks very much!

    I haven't bought a cloning software yet, so might as well go for CCC and follow the article.
     
  4. strawbale thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Location:
    French Pyrenees
    #4
    Assuming SuperDuper! deals with T2 in a similar way?

    PS: just saw that CCC has paid updates whereas it seems SD! updates are free?
     
  5. Trusteft macrumors 6502a

    Trusteft

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    #5
    Wait, if you use as an external backup drive a mechanical drive and not a SSD, since you can't have APFS on it, isn't there a problem using time machine?
     
  6. strawbale thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Location:
    French Pyrenees
    #6
    No, TM is fine with HFS+
     
  7. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #7
    Time Machine requires HFS+. Backups cannot be stored on APFS disks.
     
  8. kaibob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    Prescott, Arizona
    #8
    I've rebooted to a Superduper backup on an external drive (a Samsung T5) without issue. As expected, I did have to set the Startup Security Utility to allow booting from an external drive. The author of Superduper recommends that the external drive be formatted with APFS.

    I've been using Superduper since 2012 and I've never been asked to pay a fee for an update.
     
  9. strawbale thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Location:
    French Pyrenees
    #9
    Does that mean I can't have a SD! clone partition and TM backup partition on the same external disk?
     
  10. kaibob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    Prescott, Arizona
    #10
    I don't use TM and don't know the answer to your question. Sorry.
     
  11. strawbale thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Location:
    French Pyrenees
    #11
    Well TM requires HFS+ : #7

    That means i need to reconsider my planning and maybe have (a) separate clone disk(s).
     
  12. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #12
    You should be able to add an HFS+ volume to the APFS disk, but I'd strongly advise putting two backups on the same disk. If that disk fails you lose two backups at once.
     
  13. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #13
    strawbale asked:
    "Does that mean I can't have a SD! clone partition and TM backup partition on the same external disk?"

    Even if you can do this, you don't really want to.

    Because -- if for some reason you "lose that drive", you've lost BOTH backups!

    Better to keep your TM backup on a drive that is dedicated ONLY to TM, and use another drive for your bootable cloned backup.

    Things will just work out better that way... ;)
     
  14. strawbale thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Location:
    French Pyrenees
    #14
    I wasn't planning on having just one backup drive - I'd hoped to get away with 2 drives: drive A (on site) with a TM backup partition and a CC/SD! clone partition and drive B (off-site) with a TM backup partition and a CCC/SD! clone partition.
    If I'd have to keep TM backups and CCC/SD! clones on separate disks ànd have on-site and off-site versions I'd need 4 disks...

    How do other people do this?

    --- Post Merged, Nov 25, 2018 ---
    see: #14
     
  15. Dr. Stealth macrumors 6502a

    Dr. Stealth

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal-Surf City USA
    #15
    I set the Startup Security Utility to allow booting from an external drive.

    I use one external 4TB drive partitioned into a 3TB partition for TM and a 1TB partition for a bootable CCC daily clone.

    TM partition is formatted HFS+ Journaled, CCC partition is formatted APFS. It works fine.

    If the drive fails I could have another one in place in less than an hour. I also keep backups on my NAS.
     
  16. strawbale thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Location:
    French Pyrenees
    #16
    Dr. Stealth, thanks again for sharing your valuable experience!
    I know now that I can go ahead with my original plan.
     
  17. strawbale thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Location:
    French Pyrenees
    #17
    Next question:

    How do I format and partition a (new) external disk to be used for one (or two?) clone(s) and TM backups:
    Partition 1 APFS (for Mojave clone)
    Partition 2 APFS (for 10.15 clone)* ?
    Partition 3 HFS+ (for TM backups)

    *) SuperDuper! support wrote me: "Well, you can have the two APFS volumes in one container, but depending on the number of volumes there, they may not be bootable: APFS has more restrictions about needing to be the first partition (etc)."
     
  18. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #18
    "How do I format and partition a (new) external disk to be used for one (or two?) clone(s) and TM backups:
    Partition 1 APFS (for Mojave clone)
    Partition 2 APFS (for 10.15 clone)* ?
    Partition 3 HFS+ (for TM backups)"


    Well, you might consider making ALL THREE partitions HFS+.
    Mojave should still boot and run from an HFS+ external drive (I do it).
    As for 10.15 -- who knows? A little early to be worrying about that!
     
  19. strawbale, Dec 3, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2018

    strawbale thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Location:
    French Pyrenees
    #19
    I formatted two APFS (clone) partitions and a HFS+ TM partition.
    Put a SD! clone on one APFS partition and a full TM backup on the HFS+ partition.
    Managed to allow booting from an external disk, with some trouble though - see https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/how-to-allow-start-up-from-ext-disk-resolved.2158249/
    Booted from the SD! clone and worked fine. :)

    PS: I kept the security setting at 'Full Security' as suggested here (thank you F-Train for the link): https://bombich.com/kb/ccc5/help-my-clone-wont-boot
     

Share This Page

18 November 24, 2018