t7600 in my 1,1

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by jchase2057, Mar 29, 2012.

  1. jchase2057 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit
    #1
    I just bought a 1.83 core duo mini for 100 bucks. I maxed the ram and replaced the 80gb drive with a 320. I can get a t7600 for about a hundred bucks. I enjoy maxing out older machines and its just something to do for fun. I am going to order it either way, I am just interested in what kind of speed bump I will see in this thing. It will basically be used with handbrake and iLife. I have more powerful machines for heavier tasks.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Going from a Core Duo to a Core 2 Duo is a good bump. I noticed an improvement on my 1,1 Mini.
     
  3. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #3


    handbrake is very very cpu heavy.

    in fact it can push a hex core mac pro running 6 real core + 6 virtual cores =12 threads near 85%. so i don't understand your statement.



    your improvement will be on handbrake easy to figure. a 100 minute job will be reduced by 183/233 x 100 around 78 percent so 78 minutes instead of 100.


    my math may be wrong . 1.83 core duo is slower then 1.83 core 2 duo


    my math may be using the 1.83 core 2 duo compared to the 2.33 core 2 duo.


    if that is the case a 100 minute job on a 1.83 core duo may go as low as 50- 60 minutes on a 2.33 core 2 duo.
     
  4. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #4
    The T7400 is a better value and you probably won't notice a real difference in speed. Oh and once you get the core2duo in the mini you can update the firmware to take 4gb of RAM (with about 3.1 addressable). Just FYI.... I have two 1,1's I've upgraded to 3gb of ram and 1.83ghz core2duos.
     
  5. jchase2057 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit
    #5
    I was considering a T7400 but the price difference is minimal since I don't use ebay. I will definitely do the firmware update since I have 2x2GB sticks anyway. I am even considering doing a case swap. I put a mini in a G3 iMac case a few years ago with a LCD transplant and it came out really good. Too bad it wasn't my computer. I have a couple old G4 PowerMacs that would love to house a new board. Most likely a sawtooth case. This would allow full size drives and a place to put the power brick. It should be an easy transplant with all things considered.
     
  6. markw2727 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    #6
    Firmware update?

    Hi Guys; I just read your posts concerning the upgrade of a Mac Mini 1.1.
    I have accomplished the same thing, using a T7600. Works great. Please post more info on the "firmware update". I have searched in the past for a firmware update, and not found anything. So this is news to me. Does this firmware update now allow you to change the model identifier to one that is recognized by Lion? So now we don't have to jump through hoops editing the PlatformSupport.Plist file etc etc.
    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Intell, Mar 31, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2012

    Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #7

Share This Page