Tell me what App to make

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by ZombiePartie, Mar 28, 2015.

1. ZombiePartie macrumors member

Hey everyone!

I am a mobile developer and have made a few Watch Apps so far - tell me what to make! I can give it a shot. I will write a special thanks to you in the app description too if Apple approves it.

Cheers! :apple:

2. iFanaddic macrumors 6502a

iFanaddic

very interested in helping you out, can you let us know what devs have access to with the SDK? Can you make apps that involve the taptic engine? speakers? what are the "main restrictions"?

3. LarrySJ macrumors newbie

Tell me what App to make

As a guitar player I think that taptic features could be useful as a:

-silent metronome
    -Tuner (taps when note is in tune)
    -a reminder to take a break from practice

I'm sure you'll receive a wealth of ideas on this thread.

4. rcarter3636 macrumors member

Make a tennis app.....if you can get access to HealthKit.

5. ZombiePartie thread starter macrumors member

Good set of questions:

The SDK currently is quite limiting. No access to taptic engine, cannot play sound on the watch (though you can play sounds on the phone via pressing a button on the watch) - and one big thing, there is no way to determine where a user taps.

Outside of these limitations, the graphical interface is limited to sequenced images. So any animation you see on an app, was created with images as opposed to programming shapes/views - at least for us normal devs. Facebook and the like probably have bonus access.

I am interested in minigames in particular - the obvious choice is a Virtual Pet of sorts. Though that seems too straight forward.

----------

I am a guitar player too, already made an app catering to us :)

6. shacky macrumors regular

shacky

Awesome! You got my gears spinning. Here's a couple.

Walkie Talkie ( Since Apple dropped it)
    Where Did I Park My Car?
    Streamer of Video and/or from my iPhone to my Watch