tethering hack

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by agentmikeyd, Jul 27, 2011.

  1. agentmikeyd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (iPhone; Opera Mini/6.1.15738/25.685; U; en) Presto/2.5.25 Version/10.54)

    Which tethering app is best to use so att is not aware you are tethering?

    Thanks
     
  2. seanwebb68 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #2
    Non the carrier will know if you using tethering but will probably just turn a blind eye if you don't use it that much. mywi is my fav
     
  3. ckurt25 macrumors 6502a

    ckurt25

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #3
    What data plan do you have? I have a 2GB plan and use mywi close to once a week for 50-100 MB each time. Staying under the radar will help.

    If you have an unlimited plan and you would expect to use 1GB + per day, expect to get caught.
     
  4. steven5210 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    I wonder if anyone using the commcenter hack has been caught by using the data APN instead.
     
  5. scirica macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #5
    Doesn't matter. Based on all the data consolidated here, they know. We'd all be on the commcenter hack using Data VPN if that were the case.
     
  6. JayHD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #6
    I've been using the commcenter hack in concert with PDAnet Hide level 1 since I got my first warning text and haven't been flagged since. However, I also changed the TTL on my laptop and jailbroken iPad to 65. Google for instructions and the reasoning behind making that change. There's a thread out there somewhere with a startup script you can enter to have the iPad automatically change the TTL at every startup.

    For the record, they are only concerned with unlimited plans.

    Another less enticing workaround - supposedly they aren't looking for tethering on edge, so if you don't mind the slower speed, you can do that without any short-term risk.

    If you Google "modmyi cracking down", you'll be directed to an extremely comprehensive thread that includes several months of discussion that has lead most of us to these conclusions. It's actually a fascinating read that shows how a group of like-minded individuals can really help each other out.
     
  7. steven5210 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #7
    Hey Jay thanks for the information! So do you have unlimited data or not? As for the commcenter hack are you using this ? http://xsellize.com/topic/95289-commcenter-patch-by-wortel-4all4-update/
    I've tried the TTL and also used a VPN last time and I still got a text like 4 weeks later.
     
  8. JayHD, Jul 27, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2011

    JayHD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    #8
    Yes, that is the commcenter patch. You would need to run it after every restart unless you install a startup script to change it on each boot.

    I have unlimited and got one warning in April. I haven't seen a single claim from ANYONE that they had a 2 gig plan and got the warning.

    I don't believe the VPN protects you. Which app were you using prior to your warning? I'm going to assume MyWi or pre-hide PDAnet.

    I should mention - if you are using this for you primary net access, and using extremely high amounts of data (like, 50 gigs or something), I wouldn't be surprised if they are stretching their legal limits and taking a closer look at your usage. And honestly, at that point, I don't blame them, as that level of usage truly does decrease QOS for other users.
     
  9. steven5210 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #9
    I see that sucks having to run it everytime I restart. I was just using MyWi that's probably why since it's not native tethering?

    I also don't use high amounts of data, the 2nd text I got was for using less than 50mb of data. The only times I actually do tether is when there is no WiFi or internet access available for me.
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    Yes, pretty much what scirica said.
    People got caught using TetherMe, Mywi, comcenter hack, pdaNet with the super duper secret tethering etc....
    Noone is sure how or what the process is used on detecting users that tether unofficially but its a risk. Up to you.
     
  11. nateDEEZY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #11
    TetherMe, haven't seen any threads about people getting caught with ONLY that. TetherMe uses the built-in hotspot function.
     
  12. agentmikeyd thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #12
    Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (iPhone; Opera Mini/6.1.15738/25.685; U; en) Presto/2.5.25 Version/10.54)

    Thanks - are you using Tetherme with no att probs?

    Did u use the stock settings or make adjustments
     
  13. TC25 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #13
    You can't prove a negative. Just because no one has posted they've been caught doesn't mean no one has.

    There aren't any adjustments to make.
     
  14. agentmikeyd thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #14
    Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (iPhone; Opera Mini/6.1.15738/25.685; U; en) Presto/2.5.25 Version/10.54)

    Tc

    My question was to nateDeezy regarding his experience with Tetherme

    You post adds zero value to this thread
     
  15. TC25 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #15
    Then quote him if you only want him to answer. That's why there's a quoting feature.

    I see, only nateDeezy saying there are no adjustment adds value.

    There's no need to start a thread if you only want 1 person to respond. Send them a PM next time.

    Nothing like a newbie with an attitude.
     
  16. agentmikeyd thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #16
    Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (iPhone; Opera Mini/6.1.15738/25.685; U; en) Presto/2.5.25 Version/10.54)

    Tc. Relax a little... Forums
    Like these are for many to benefit from info sharing, not just Pming. After you gain some experience here maybe you will understand that.

    For that matter are you using tetherme or another app or are you just wasting our time?
     
  17. TC25, Jul 28, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2011

    TC25 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #17
    'out time' - what's that mean? Are you now speaking for others?

    Wasting 'out' time? Starting a thread about a topic that's been discussed dozens of times, now that's wasting 'out' time.

    Yes, I use Tetherme. What's your point?

    Nice edit of your original post.

    I see, I shared but you wanted an answer from just one person. Make your mind up.
     
  18. Hotppcchick macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    #18
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Jeez, TC you really need to lighten up. As an old WM forums user I have seen little Neros like you who just drag down the benefit of these discussions. I for one could have used NateD's response to mikeys question, as I am a recent iPhone convert and JB'er.

    Next time just provide your own experience or stay out of it...
     
  19. TC25 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #19
    I DID provide my own experience, what part of there are no options to set in TetherMe did you not understand?
     
  20. Hotppcchick macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    #20
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Again calm down little man. It's obvious that those reading this thread are interested in whether ATT is hitting them for tethering...
     
  21. TC25 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #21
    Ah, resorting to insults. Congratulations. Read the MR rules you agreed to follow when you registered.

    You mean like this 22 page thread? Click Here.
     
  22. agentmikeyd thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #22
    Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (iPhone; Opera Mini/6.1.15738/25.685; U; en) Presto/2.5.25 Version/10.54)

    Why dont u just state ur experience? Your posts are comic relief at most...

    We will just wait for a real forum participant to share their knowledge of this topic.

    Enjoy your day TC
     
  23. Hotppcchick macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    #23
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    TC's responses have wasted so much of an otherwise useful thread. thanks for trying Mikey...just another useless poster who just want to point out spelling errors :)
     
  24. TC25 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #24
    I did. You and hotppcchick ignored it.
     
  25. agentmikeyd thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    #25
    Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (iPhone; Opera Mini/6.1.15738/25.685; U; en) Presto/2.5.25 Version/10.54)

    Beyond ur "enlightening" settings comment- tell us about your experience with tetherme
     

Share This Page