iPhone tetherme settings

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by oohitztommy, Feb 8, 2013.

  1. oohitztommy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    #1
    for the people that are using the tetherme app, do you have have the APN selection option on or off? im confused about how this setting works. please help me thank you in advance!:)
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Just install it. Do nothing. It just enables the iPhone's native tethering feature.
     
  3. oohitztommy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    #3
    thanks for the quick reply. when i check my cellular data usage it shows tethered data. should i be concerned about this?
     
  4. kodeman53 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    #4
    You are tethering data. What else would it show?

    Why would you have anything to be concerned about?
     
  5. Jimbo47 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #5
    Mine doesn't show tethered data when I check my usage. It's making it appear as if its coming directly from the phone, not from using tethering.
     
  6. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #6
    i should know, but where do you check it at.
     
  7. Jimbo47 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #7
    Settings>General>Usage>Cellular Usage

    Verizon 4S if it makes a difference.
     
  8. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #8
    Verizon 5 here, but ok that is where i went. All i show is Call Time and Cellular data. No mention of tethering.

    Now TBH i only tethered for about 5 min with my sons iPod just to verify the app worked.
     
  9. la79 macrumors regular

    la79

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    #9
    I was wondering about this question the other day. What is the best way to keep the mobile company from catching on? Should I leave it on or off?
     
  10. kodeman53 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    #10
    Doesn't matter.
     
  11. TheShadowXX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    #11
    this is the tetherme app?
     
  12. Demonface macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Location:
    Jersey/Miami
    #12
    Unless they found out you tethered and they changed your plan . But i doubt they will do that with notifying you first.
     
  13. la79 macrumors regular

    la79

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    #13
    Can you enlighten me on why, it doesn't matter?
     
  14. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #14
    I think he says that because there is no real way to hide it. If you use enough data they will dig and they can find out.
     
  15. kodeman53 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    #15
    This.

    The amount of time people spend worrying about this is truly amazing. As if ATT is going to search through the log files of millions of accounts looking for you.
     
  16. la79 macrumors regular

    la79

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    #16
    If you can't answer the question how about you let someone who may actually know do so?
     
  17. kodeman53 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    #17
    It doesn't matter what you set it to. That's not how the carriers find you. They look for large amounts of data being transferred. In my last post, I agreed with the first person who gave you this answer.
     
  18. Jimbo47 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #18
    Yes. I would say if you use 5gb of data normally, and you tether 5gb of data, you won't raise any red flags. If you typically use 1gb of data, and magically start using 7gb right after a major jailbreak is released, obviously they will catch on.
     
  19. la79 macrumors regular

    la79

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    #19
    So your telling me that the APN you use has nothing to do with how the carrier catches you? From what I read in numerous articles and news sites the APN you use has a lot to do with how carriers catch people. Its not only data use. I understand if your data use suddenly fluctuates then it would be a red flag.

    But my original question which no one can answer (without sarcasm) is what that setting is for? If the developer had no reason for it then I don't think he would have put it there.
     
  20. Jimbo47 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #20
    Though I don't know what the hell the APN settings mean, I'm pretty sure the developer of tether me created the app with the thought of hiding tethering from your carrier. I say that because when you switch off the automatic mode and the other mode that appears, it gives you a warning to hit cancel if you do not know what you're doing, and says something that it is recommended to keep automatic on.
     

Share This Page