The Best Problem Ever: Air+24 imac or 17 MBP

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by redkamel, Aug 7, 2009.

1. redkamel macrumors 6502

Alright heres my situation. I have a 24 inch imac, 4 gigs ram, 2.4 ghz. I'm a student w/ photography as a serious hobby. The iMac functions great, albeit a little big on my desk.

But I really need a laptop, as I find myself thinking "I could get that work done...if I had a laptop..." about 7-8 times a month. This thing would be going home, coffee shop, or school for presentations rarely. So here are my options, with some pros and cons.

1. Sell my imac, get a 17 inch MBP, and thats my main computer. It would free up space on my desk, and I could take everything with me, whenever I needed. Then again, I'll feel a little silly whipping that bad boy out for a 5 minute ppt or a study session at the coffee shop. One thing I am a little bummed on is the 17 inch is really only useful for editing, as since there is no blu ray, the HD screen is really not being used to its full potential

2. Get a macbook air and keep my imac. The Air is so easy to take around. But while I would save money, there would be the added hassle of two computers, one used semi rarely.

I have always had a thing for the air AND the 17 inch so no help there. I have no interest in a tablet. The 15 inch has a glossy screen and I am spoiled by the resolution on my imac, so the 15 is kind of low on my list.

Any thoughts? I am pretty stuck.

Part of me says get the air and when the imac dies for real get a MBP (blu ray...please...), and the Air will either be dead by then or a second computer. The other part says get the MBP, it'll be just as good/better than the imac and you won't need an upgrade till it dies. Simplicity of one computer vs the cheapness and complexity of two. My last Powerbook lasted me almost 4 years, it was only replaced because the screen broke. Although it sounds like it, I am not an upgrade junkie.