The mystery of the diagnostic port

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by inkyoto, Apr 23, 2015.

  1. inkyoto macrumors regular

    inkyoto

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    #1
    iFixIt's teardown reveals the ports are still there... looks like it's connected directly to the S1 via the ribbon in photo 1.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. dannyyankou macrumors 604

    dannyyankou

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    #2
    It's there so that Apple can run diagnostics on it.
     
  3. sterl320 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    #3

    OMG really???
     
  4. dannyyankou macrumors 604

    dannyyankou

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    #4
    I know. So mysterious :rolleyes:
     
  5. inkyoto thread starter macrumors regular

    inkyoto

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    #5
    [​IMG]
     
  6. sterl320 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    #6
    lol right?

    I would have never guessed.
     
  7. jabingla2810 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #7
    The answer to this "mystery" is in the title of the thread.
     
  8. inkyoto thread starter macrumors regular

    inkyoto

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    #8
    "The"? "of"?
     
  9. clukas macrumors 6502a

    clukas

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #9
    I wonder whether there is another reason for the port. It may be used for diagnostics now, however I wonder whether apple will use it with bands in the future. There could be sensors/ monitors built in to bands sending data to the watch?
     
  10. jabingla2810 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #10
    You're getting warm.
     
  11. inkyoto thread starter macrumors regular

    inkyoto

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    #11
    That's my thinking too. That would be pretty cool. Or maybe a way for future developers to plug it right into the computer. It would seem to affect waterproofing, though, since it doesn't look like(?) there's an O-ring around it.
     
  12. clukas macrumors 6502a

    clukas

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #12
    Im not 100% as I haven't seen the watch yet, however I imagine the bands are a fairly tight fit, meaning it could be waterproof by design.
     
  13. Wallabe macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #13
    Maybe not in the first generation but in the future, they could build batteries into the bands. So instead of 18 hour batteries, it could double or triple that. And if you need more batteries and juice is running out, just swap bands.

    Think of the leather loop, but instead of just magnets, it's batteries inside.
     
  14. iregret macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    #14
    I wonder if this is how they upload the operating system at the factory? They couldn't do it wirelessly.

    I wish I knew more about this... and had a lab... and a watch... and could see if charging was possible. Time will tell for sure..but why 6? Power, ground, then data +/-, and ?,??

    What kind of communication needs 4 lanes?
     
  15. Royksöpp macrumors 6502a

    Royksöpp

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    #15
    Here's a response for you

    [​IMG]
     
  16. Binarymix macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #16
    Perhaps Apple had plans to force you to use their bands using a propriety connector, that would only allow Apple bands with a chip in them.

    If that was the case, they probably ditched the idea due to the uprising/controversy it may have caused.
     
  17. Kirtaner macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #19
    That's just pee.
     
  18. Wallabe macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    #20
    Quantum computing. :D
     
  19. Ganesha macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    #21
    6 lanes happens to be what you need for many embedded CPU debuggers.

    For ARMs you need:

    - VCC
    - SWDIO/TMS
    - nRESET
    - SWCLK/TCK
    - GND/GNDdetect
    - SWO/TDO
     
  20. Rayban macrumors 6502

    Rayban

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    #22
    Whoa really?
    [​IMG]
     
  21. 8CoreWhore macrumors 68020

    8CoreWhore

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Big D
    #23
    Ding! Ding! Ding! Ding!

    I'm hoping for a way to connect it to my magneto-optical drive.
     
  22. JoEw macrumors 65816

    JoEw

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
  23. TheColtr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Location:
    California
    #25
    Im surprised no one has thought of this, but how would they get the Watch OS onto the watch if there was no connector at all.
     

Share This Page