The New Macbook Pro Penryn fan speed 6000 rpm?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kassem23, Mar 4, 2008.

  1. kassem23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #1
    Hi Guys. I recieved my new macbook pro with a penryn processor today. I love it. But I seem to have a problem, the fans is always running, so I was curious about this fan speed thing. I installed smcFanControl and found that the temperature of the cpu was 38C and the left- and rightside fan speeds was 6000 rpm? Is this normal? And how can I change it if it's not?
    I went to preferences in smcFanControl and it said that default is 1500 rpm on left and right and that default settings is enabled? How come I can't change it? Do I have a problem and how can I fix it?


    Thanks and best regards
    Anders
     
  2. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #2
    Whoa~ 6000 rpm is rather fast. Even taxing my SR 2.4ghz mbp I only get both right and left fans highest at 4500rpm.

    Just listening to the fan do you think its revving up that fast?? Maybe its not showing the right rpm speed.
     
  3. kassem23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #3
    Ye, I don't understand it?! Please help guys.
     
  4. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #4
    I guess the only 2 things I can suggest is zapping the PRAM and resetting the smc. Or you can wipe out the harddrive and reinstall a clean leopard.

    If all else fails just go back to the apple and just get it exchanged.
     
  5. mikky05v macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #5
    download smc fancontrol and go into the preferences... set your fans to a lower speed manually. but if it running at a higher rpm maybe your computer needs it... mine hits those speeds when i video chat or do something requiring major cpu power
     
  6. mikky05v macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    #6
    smc can be a bit confusing.. when you set the fans to a lower setting you have to save the setting...
     
  7. kassem23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #7
    I dont run any programs and the rpm is still 6000 rpm!
     
  8. honeycrisp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #8
    I would take it to an Apple Store and see if they can fix it for you or get you a new machine.
     
  9. kassem23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #9
    I tried to make a favorite option for smc control, but that does not work either.

    What can I do?
     
  10. kassem23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #10
    Ohh damn.... Then its gonna take me ages from now. I didn't buy from an apple store. Business..
     
  11. honeycrisp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #11
    It shouldn't matter where you bought it...just take it to the Genius Bar and have them look at it for you...
     
  12. kassem23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #12
    I dont live in the US. I live in Denmark..:(
     
  13. kassem23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #13
    I tried SMC resetting, didn't work either.... :(
     
  14. Justin Lee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, U.K.
    #14
    There is definitely something wrong, dude. You need to take it to your nearest apple shop or reseller, and have an expert confirm. But I'm convinced you have a problem.

    My fans idle at 2000 rpm. I can get them up to ~4500 rpm maximum when I push the graphics card, but that is the highest I have ever experienced.

    Hope this helps you.

    Justin
     
  15. kassem23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #15
    Thanks Justin. I appreciate your help guys. I will go to the apple store.


    Thanks
    Anders
     
  16. kassem23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #16
    Guys... Today when I woke up, my macbook pro suddenly only ran with 1000 - 1200 rpm.. Do I still have a problem?
     
  17. Joko macrumors 6502

    Joko

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #17
    I had the same problem, even when idle, but it wasn't happening all the time, just randomly. I took it in and induced the problem to the workshop and the parts will be tested further and replaced, although we haven't identified what the cause is yet.

    My machine only does it when plugged in though. Does your problem occur when plugged in, mobile, or both?

    If it's clearly unusual behaviour, take it in to be looked at.
     
  18. kassem23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #18
    Both plugged in and mobile.. And today when I woke up it was on 1200 rpm. Then Spotlight began to index my comp, and the rpm went up to 6000 rpm, and now won't slow down.
     
  19. Joko macrumors 6502

    Joko

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #19
    The fact that it happens so frequently and regardless of whether its plugged in or not points to a faulty logic board from what i've researched.
     
  20. kassem23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #20
    That is really a bummer.. I want to use my mac... :(
     
  21. Joko macrumors 6502

    Joko

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #21
    Tell me about it!
     
  22. kassem23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #22
    :(. Are you sure this problem can't be fixed otherwise? Did they tell you that it is a problem?
     
  23. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #23
    Have you tried resetting the SMC and PRAM or only SMC?

    It sounds like something went bad and I can only discourage you from making a trip to the nearest Humac as they give terrible customer service. Even though it's still a waste of your time if you can fix it easily.

    In other circumstances a trip to the Apple store would be preferable but in Denmark a call is the best option to solve problems quickly. Especially if you just bought the machine.
    Phone support is much more likely to help you as Humac will demand that you pay for transportation of the MBP even under warranty :eek:.
     
  24. kassem23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #24
    Ehm... I only tried to reset the SMC by closing all applications, then pressing the power button for 10 seconds, took out the batttery, and pressed the button again for 10 seconds, and put the battery in. This clearly didn't work. How do I reset PRAM?
     
  25. Joko macrumors 6502

    Joko

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #25
    I tried resetting SMC which seemed to work for a while but the problem returned, and the tech guy reset the PRAM which didnt work either. Not sure how though. Thank god i still have 10 months warranty, but with premium products one expects premium performance.
     

Share This Page