The one thing that changed your life forever...

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by MusicEnthusiast, Jan 5, 2012.

1. MusicEnthusiast macrumors 6502

MusicEnthusiast

Well for me, going to Japan (furthest away I had ever been away from home) truly opened my eyes to the world, and it was probably one of the most unexpected things that happened to me. I only started Japanese in high school to see what it was like, but now I'm still studying it in college.

So you guys, what one thing (can be expected or unexpected) changed your life forever?

2. Angelo95210 macrumors 6502a

Angelo95210

Moving to the UK to boost my career. Then moving back to France for my GF. Then dropping her. Then creating my own company.

3. bgd macrumors regular

Learned to ride a motorcycle. Shame I waited so long.

4. AndyinAtl macrumors member

By far the biggest thing was reading "Mere Christianity" by C.S. Lewis in 2003.

5. 'Bmac macrumors regular

The absolute one thing that changed my life forever was the death of my Mother in 2010. From the day she died I stopped speaking to her entire side of the family. As well as the entire side of my Father's family. Basically I no longer speak with ANY "blood realitive". They are ALL DEAD to me!

6. Yumunum macrumors 65816

Yumunum

Just interested... How did that effect you?

As for me, I may be too young to really have a good response. And the things I can think of I don't really feel like mentioning here. Atleast not now

7. Shrink, Jan 5, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2012

Shrink macrumors G3

Shrink

Reading Jean-Paul Sartre during middle adolescence. I suddenly found someone who was putting into words vague ideas and feelings that I was unable to articulate - which had led to feelings of deep depression.

This led me to immerse myself in extensive reading of existential philosophy and literature which was life changing for me.

8. Biff... macrumors 6502a

Biff...