Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

.exe

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 23, 2012
Hello all,
I am a computer science student about to graduate, and at present, I commute between school and two jobs. After some serious evaluation, I have come to the conclusion that a MBA would be a sound financial investment.

I spent some time with both the 11" and 13" systems today, and here's what I've found: the screen difference - especially vertically - isn't as significant as I had imaged it would be. I opened up one of my Python projects in Eclipse (with the dock hidden + window maximized), and the 11" managed to fit 41 lines of code, while the 13" fit 51.

What really made the difference was the size of the palm rest areas. When I placed my hand in proper typing position on both systems, my palms rested on the edge of the 11", while on the 13", I could comfortably fit the entirety of my palms + a little room to spare. This made for a more comfortable experience on the 13".

Overall, the 13" seems to be a better value because of the larger screen size and resolution, improved battery life, and improved comfort, among other benefits. However - and this could just be me being stubborn - I have fond memories of the 12" iBook that was loaned to me through a school program many moons ago, so I my heart is leaning towards the smaller size, while my head is leaning towards the larger size.

Is there any product that can extend the size of the palm rest, or otherwise lead to a more comfortable experience on the 11, or should I just shut up and get the 13?

Thanks for any input/feedback.

MR1324

macrumors 6502a
Nov 22, 2010
In standard typing position, you should have enough area to rest your palms on the 11". it starts to become a problem when you are using the track pad though.

.exe

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 23, 2012