Thinking about jailbreaking

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by JohnnyJuice, Nov 1, 2010.

1. JohnnyJuice macrumors newbie

I am new to the iPhone 4 world and very disappointed with the vibration (or lack thereof) in the silent mode. I am also annoyed with the 6 choices of alerts for text messages b/c none of them will wake me up and I depend on it for my business. I have heard that jailbreaking would correct both issues. What is the best way for me to go about this?

2. ZCherub macrumors 6502a

ZCherub

Google GreenPois0n or LimeRa1n and follow the instructions. The "ToneFX" app in Cydia (the "Jailbroken app store" that will install when you jailbreak your phone) will give you tons of flexibility with SMS tones (many SMS tones are available for download in Cydia as well). As far as the vibration function, I don't know if there is anything that makes it vibrate more/herder (if that's what you're looking for).

3. JohnnyJuice thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks Z...Are those websites the ones you recommend to use for jailbreaking......a colleague of mine had recommended iClarified?!?! .....

4. LoLife macrumors regular

iClarified is more for a tutorial on how to jailbreak. It doesn't have the programs there. But that is a great site for you to find out more information before you do jailbreak. But just google Limera1n or Greenposi0n (the last o in posion is actually a zero not a caps o) and you will have the tools right there to jailbreak

5. JohnnyJuice thread starter macrumors newbie

Are these pay sites .... if so any idea how much?

6. Orlandu macrumors 6502

Orlandu

limera1n and greenpois0n are both free utilities to jailbreak your iPhone. If you get to any website that is charging, you're on the wrong site.