Thinking Of Purchasing A Macbook(PRO)or(AIR)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Woojun912, Jan 23, 2012.

1. Woojun912 macrumors member

Hey Everyone,

I am a pre-med asistant student guy who's currently really taking the time in deciding if I should purchase a Macbook Pro 13' (Late 2011) or a Macbook Air 13".

My internet usage: it's used daily and I use it for: Facebook, Tumblr, Online Shopping, Chatting, Downloading Music, Movies, Uploading photos from my iPhone.

There is this virtual game that I do every now and day play, it is similar to second life, called vSide.

That is pretty much it. What would you guys recommend me buying?
    And what are other things I should purchase along with the laptop?

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

3. Alaerian Guest

Alaerian

What are your space requirements? If they aren't too taxing, then it sounds like an Air would fit the bill.

4. M5RahuL macrumors 68020

M5RahuL

I opted for the MBP simply because I needed the optical drive and to be not limited to a max of 4GB RAM!

I love the form factor of the Air, but the Pro was/is better suited to my needs!

5. Alaerian Guest

Alaerian

For the OPs needs, 4GB is essentially more than necessary. There's really no reason for more than that given his usage.

6. Naimfan macrumors 68040

Naimfan

Either would be fine for your described uses.

I'd be inclined to get the Pro since it can be upgraded, while the Air cannot be. The Pro is also generally less expensive in the US, and offers substantially longer real-world battery life.

As far as what else to get, I'd suggest a sleeve and if you don't already have one, an external hard drive for Time Machine backups.

Enjoy whichever one you get!

7. Woojun912 thread starter macrumors member

I do not have a sleeve, case, External Hard drive..
    I was youtubing and I saw people have a shell outside their macs. What website is that for?