This item is temporarily unavailable when updating apps

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by raehogan, Jun 9, 2017.

Tags:
  1. raehogan macrumors newbie

    raehogan

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    #1
    Hello, I hope you can help me..

    I haven't been able to update any apps for about 10 days now - I get an error saying "This item is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later."

    It's a MBPro Sierra v10.12.5

    Thank you!
     
  2. RMo macrumors 65816

    RMo

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    #2
    Happens to me a lot and there doesn't seem to be any good reason. If I'm on Ethernet, switching to Wi-Fi sometimes mysteriously helps, or vice versa. I've seen threads about this on the MR forums and other places for years now. Quitting iTunes and/or rebooting may also help; it will often also just work if you try again later. I'm pretty sure it's more of an iTunes client problem than a server problem (because I'm pretty sure Apple knows how to create reliable server experiences better than that--note my lack of confidence on the iTunes client side :) ). If I'm desperate for the update, doing it on-device almost always works. If anyone has better ideas, I'm open to them as well.
     
  3. raehogan thread starter macrumors newbie

    raehogan

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    #3
    Hi RMo, thank you for your response :)
    I still haven't been able to update any of my apps on the App Store. I've tried rebooting and signing in and out but it's not coming back. I tried to get in touch with Apple support but it looks like my assistance has run out so I'll wait for the next pay check and buy another year of it. It's a weird problem though, seems to have come out of nowhere!!

    Thanks again.
     
  4. HDFan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #4
    I received this message

    when I was trying to reinstall my OS. Called Apple support. The problem was that the original OS was installed under a different AppleID. When I logged into the ID which had "purchased" the original software the message went away and I was able to install without any problem.
     
  5. deadmetal macrumors newbie

    deadmetal

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    #5
    This is what worked for me. Open App Store, click on the 'Purchased' tab, it said that you must be signed in to view purchases, sign in using your Apple ID, then go back to the 'Updates' page and try again. Looks like App Store didn't think I was signed in. Hope this helps.
     
  6. raehogan thread starter macrumors newbie

    raehogan

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2017
    #6
    Yes! I eventually figured it out but this is exactly what happened to me. Once I signed in again everything was back to normal. Thank you all very much for your replies!!
     

Share This Page