Three-Finger Swipe Finder

wakemeup707

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 15, 2013
9
0
Does anyone know how to make the three-finger swipe work in Finder again? Or am I the only one that used that?
 

chabig

macrumors 604
Sep 6, 2002
6,599
3,743
What's it supposed to do? Are you sure? Check your Trackpad preferences.
 

chabig

macrumors 604
Sep 6, 2002
6,599
3,743
I'm actually curious. What's does a three finger swipe do in the finder?
 

chabig

macrumors 604
Sep 6, 2002
6,599
3,743
I can't even make that work in Mountain Lion. It's got to be connected to your trackpad settings somehow.
 

saxon48

macrumors 6502a
Jun 14, 2010
863
71
Barad-dûr
I've always had it set to three finger swipe between pages with no issue. Heck, the swiping is even working right now in System Prefs, just not in Finder. :confused:
 

dominicrn

macrumors newbie
Oct 5, 2013
4
0
Same here, I can't able to use swiping gesture on Finder but they have fixed for System Preference in the OS X Mavericks BETA 7.

It seems critical issue. I have reported this to Apple three times still goes ignored no one is listening. I suggest you guys to submit the bug report to Apple from the developer panel. They probably will listen if they receive multiple reports related to this case.
 

wakemeup707

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 15, 2013
9
0
It's always worked for me before - I submitted a bug report for it back in DP4 and got a reply of a duplicate bug report. Apple knows about it but apparently left it disabled for Finder but it works *everywhere* else....
 

537635

macrumors 6502a
Mar 7, 2009
646
561
Slovenia, EU
Does anyone know how to make the three-finger swipe work in Finder again? Or am I the only one that used that?
I use three fingers for moving items, so do most people I think.

You can always install BetterTouchTool and set three finger swipe to whatever function you want.
 

plasticphyte

macrumors 6502
Nov 9, 2009
272
0
It's always worked for me before - I submitted a bug report for it back in DP4 and got a reply of a duplicate bug report. Apple knows about it but apparently left it disabled for Finder but it works *everywhere* else....
Same here. It annoys me that Apple closes duplicate bugs, but never keeps you up to date on further progress.
 

Daniel L

macrumors 6502
Sep 15, 2009
416
101
Not working for me either. I didn't realize how much I depended on it until I was navigating through some folders today and swiped around while nothing happened.
 

spencers

macrumors 68020
Sep 20, 2004
2,369
178
Aw damn, this isn't good! I use that gesture quite a bit. Funny I didn't notice it until I saw this thread.
 

GWX

macrumors newbie
Aug 11, 2013
13
0
I still don't understand why only the three-finger gestures work in Lion and ML in Finder, and not the two-finger gesutres, which is the one people use the most. Apple is weird.
 

Orlandoech

macrumors 68040
Jun 2, 2011
3,339
871
Salt Lake City, UT
I used to use this gesture in ML with a combo of other gestures configured with BetterTouchTool and its not working at all in 10.9.


I have tried the latest version (0.98) BetterTouchTool and multiple variations of gestures and nothing is working for Finder. They all work in Safari and System Prefs just find however. Very frustrating.
 

Manic Harmonic

macrumors 6502
Dec 4, 2011
299
1
I used to use this gesture in ML with a combo of other gestures configured with BetterTouchTool and its not working at all in 10.9.


I have tried the latest version (0.98) BetterTouchTool and multiple variations of gestures and nothing is working for Finder. They all work in Safari and System Prefs just find however. Very frustrating.
Did you try assigning it to cmd+[ and cmd+]? That's the keyboard shortcut for it.
 

dominicrn

macrumors newbie
Oct 5, 2013
4
0
Actually assigning cmd+] and cmd+[ in BTT it's bit annoying because when i swipe left and right frequently in the menubar the shortcut key is flashing in blue highlight.

We need to urge Apple to fix it but if you guys submit report to apple.com/feedback upon launching the Public version of OS X Mavericks they would surely listen to it.
 

Wastez

macrumors newbie
Oct 7, 2013
1
0
I also have the same problem and solved it in meanwhile with the keyboard shortcut workaround over btt.
Hope apple will solve this issue as soon as possible.
 

Riemann Zeta

macrumors 6502a
Feb 12, 2008
661
0
It seems ridiculous that something this tiny could be so important, but I have ended up reverting to Mountain Lion twice (once during the betas and now after the GM) because of this bug. This is the first release of Mac OS where I will wait until the .1 update to upgrade my system.
 

Orlandoech

macrumors 68040
Jun 2, 2011
3,339
871
Salt Lake City, UT
I also have the same problem and solved it in meanwhile with the keyboard shortcut workaround over btt.
Hope apple will solve this issue as soon as possible.
Can you share you BTT conifg with screenshots? Mine won't work with this setting and just wondering if I'm an idiot and doing something wrong.

----------

It seems ridiculous that something this tiny could be so important, but I have ended up reverting to Mountain Lion twice (once during the betas and now after the GM) because of this bug. This is the first release of Mac OS where I will wait until the .1 update to upgrade my system.
So true, but it may not even be fixed in .1 update or any update. Maybe it was removed intentionally. Apple has made some idiotic decisions with OS X and iOS, the music app and calendar app in iOS are perfect examples, so is app app expose'/mission control,
 

wakemeup707

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 15, 2013
9
0
How did you get the keyboard shortcut working in BTT? I've tried the swipe gesture (doesn't work with that either). I'm resubmitting my bug report for it - hopefully that helps people. I've kept using 10.9 because of the better display handling - I need my multiple displays; otherwise I'd stay on mountain lion. Maybe Apple thought that because of the tabs, they would take away the forward/back shortcut. idiotic.

CORRECTION:

Got the BTT to work for it - finally. I never realized how often I used that shortcut until I used the Mavericks betas and now GM.

dominicrn - maybe set the theme to graphite? That's what I did and it helped with the flashing (I got back and forth far too often).
 
Last edited:
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.