Time Machine Errors on 2016 15" MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by IceBreakerG, Nov 28, 2016.

Tags:
  1. IceBreakerG macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Cordova, TN
    #1
    I've had my new laptop for a couple of weeks now, and I've been using time machine for months on my old 2010 MacBook Pro with no problem. Last week I got this message about time machine needing to create a new backup, and that my old backup would be deleted. This is now the second time it's happened. My 2010 15" MacBook Pro never had this problem with backups, but this one has done it twice within 7 days. Does anyone know what would cause this problem? I'm really getting tired of having to do new backups every week.

    Time Machine Error.png
     
  2. Balaamsdonkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Location:
    Washington
    #2
    Bad drive on backup drive? How is the data being transferred? Could the data be cirruotinven route?
     
  3. IceBreakerG thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Cordova, TN
    #3
    The drives are fine. It's a 12TB volume on my NAS. It's a Synology DS1815+ with btrfs using 1 drive redundancy. The backups are over wireless (same as my old mbp and my Windows htpc too).
     
  4. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #4
    If you look at the first page of the forum, I believe there are two threads on this subject. Make sure and file a bug report with Apple. A lot of people with new Macs running Sierra are having this with TM crashing and hanging etc.
     
  5. bcaslis macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #5
    I've had the exact same error twice in the past few days backing up to a Mac mini running OS X server. Have been running this setup for years and only seen this once before. Since my other Macs are running Sierra also, it may be a bug in the OS but it seems to be something specific to the new MBPs.
     
  6. IceBreakerG thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Cordova, TN
    #6
    So 2 months later and this is STILL an issue. I'm now on macOS Sierra 10.12.3, and I waited 2 months to do another backup. I started a new one a few days ago, then today I get the same error message with Time Machine telling me it needs to create a new backup. Why does this keep happening? So frustrating/annoying.
     

Share This Page