Titan X has stopped working now that I've installed Sierra

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by PeterButler, Nov 3, 2016.

  1. PeterButler macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #1
    Hello.

    I've done a search on this but can't seem to find anyone with the same issues.

    I have a Mac pro 5,1 with a Titan X installed. It worked fine on El Capitan but since upgrading I now just get a black screen. I've installed the latest NVidia drivers as well as changing the stings in the com.apple.bot.plist but it still doesn't work. My older Nvidia works fine but I'm guessing it's because it's not Maxwell based.

    The only thing I've noticed that I'm not sure is right or not is that there doesn't seem to be any NVDA.kext in the Library extensions folder. Could this be the problem?

    If anyone could help it would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks in advance,

    Peter
     
  2. pastrychef, Nov 3, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2016

    pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #2
    I recommend you post this in the Mac Pro sub-forum. There are lots of people using Maxwell based Nvidia cards there without any problems including myself.

    Also, make sure that you are installing the correct version of the Nvidia web drivers. Each macOS build requires a different version.

    10.12 (16A323) 367.15.10.05f01
    10.12.1 (16B2555) 367.15.10.15f01
    10.12.1 (16B2657) Not available yet.

    Also, I don't have an NVDA.kext in my extensions folder either.

    Update: Nvidia web driver for 10.12.1 (16B2657) 367.15.10.15f03
     
  3. PeterButler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #3
    --- Post Merged, Nov 7, 2016 ---
    Thanks for the reply. I did check the version number of the OS against the driver and it matches. I'll post this on the threads you suggest.

    Many thanks for your help.

    Peter
    --- Post Merged, Nov 7, 2016 ---
    Also does your Nvidia preference pane always have the OSX default driver selected on bootup?
     
  4. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #4

    No. You can set it to use the Nvidia web drivers on boot by entering the following in Terminal:

    Code:
    sudo nvram boot-args="nvda_drv=1"
     
  5. PeterButler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #5
    Sorry for my ignorance but do I need to this using an EFI enabled card?
     
  6. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #6
    No. It's the same procedure whether the video card has Mac EFI firmware or not.
     
  7. PeterButler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #7
    So just go into safe mode and do this?

    Sorry for all the questions
     
  8. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #8
    No, you do not need to be in safe mode. Just launch Terminal and enter what I posted above. You will be asked for your password.

    The command sets your nvram so that the system knows to use the Nvidia web drivers on boot.
     
  9. PeterButler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #9
    Thanks so much. But when I enter this I just get this error


    nvram: Error setting variable - 'boot-args': (iokit/common) general error

    Any ideas?

    Again many thanks
     
  10. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #10
    I don't know why you are getting the error. Be sure to copy/paste the whole thing, including the quotes.
     
  11. PeterButler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #11
    Yeah I did make sure I copied it all. I'll try restarting the system and trying again. I think I might just end up doing a clean install as I just keep hitting brick walls with this.
     
  12. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #12
  13. PeterButler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #13
  14. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #14
    No prob. I used a GTX 980 without Mac EFI firmware for quite some time without any issues. The Terminal command is what activates the Nvidia web drivers on boot.
     
  15. PeterButler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #15
    It's strange because I've been using Nvidia non EFI cards for around three years now and never had any issue until this update.

    Thanks again for your help
     
  16. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #16
    It depends on which Nvidia cards you used... The 900-series (aka Maxwell) cards are not supported by Apple's built-in drivers. That's why the Nvidia web drivers are a necessity, not an option.

    Older Nvidia video cards were supported by Apple's built-in drivers and the Nvidia web drivers were an option. These video cards functioned 100% on either set of drivers.
     
  17. PeterButler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #17
    Yeah which explained why I had to keep installing my 970 every time a new version of Elcapitan came out. I'd install the new driver and then put my Titan back in and everything would be fine. But now it's just black.
     
  18. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #18
    Your GTX 970 has Mac EFI firmware?

    If the Titan X was working in El Capitan, it shouldn't have any issues with Sierra... I know that there were some important changes to the video drivers of Sierra. The GT 610 is a card that no longer works with macOS as a result of these changes... But I had not heard/read of any issues with the Titan X.
     
  19. PeterButler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #19
    Sorry it wasn't a 970 I meant 670 got the 6 the wrong way around :) And no it didn't have EFI either.
     
  20. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
  21. PeterButler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
  22. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #22
    Yes, I used a GTX 680 for quite some time before getting a GTX 980. The Maxwell cards certainly did add a new level of complexity...

    One other thing you might try is booting in to your Recovery partition. There has been reports that the Recovery partition now works with Maxwell cards, albeit without any sort of acceleration. This could help confirm that, at the very least, the Titan X can have basic functionality in Sierra.

    To boot in to the Recovery partition, hold the Command + R at boot.
     
  23. PeterButler thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    #23
    Great idea, I'll try that and let you know what happens.

    Many thanks
    --- Post Merged, Nov 7, 2016 ---
    Unfortunately I didn't have any luck with that still a black screen.
     

Share This Page