Titanium 1.0Ghz DVI with Airport Extreme

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by eyoungren, Aug 1, 2015.

  1. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #1
    So, the Belkin card showed up today. Turns out they sent me revision 1315 and not 1112. That's ok as that revision works.

    As of right now my son is connected to my newer ASUS router (2.5/5ghz) provided free by Sprint using Airport Extreme.

    Happy happy, joy joy!

    2015-08-01 16.01.34.jpg 2015-08-01 16.01.39.jpg
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
  3. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #3
    Belkin F5D7010. Got it for $6 shipped. You want either of the revisions I mentioned above. Anything else is not a Broadcom chip. It may work if it's not one of these revisions, but it's not plug and play.
     
  4. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    Me: 1.
    Starbucks: 0.

    My son is surfing the net at Starbucks once again without Internet Sharing.
     
  5. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #5
    The later revisions use Ralink chips and require their own program running in the background to connect and maintain an internet connection. Best avoided. The earlier revision Belkin cards are yellow with the Ralink ones being more grey/silver.

    This one also works with Airport.

    Photo 02-08-2015 13 56 28.jpg
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    Did you have to disconnect the internal AirPort card?
     
  7. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #7
    No idea. But I took it out anyway. Just thought it would be best.
     
  8. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #8
    I have the exact same Belkin one. As I said, I've used it with my Pismo and a couple of TiBooks.

    Yes, you do need to take out the internal Airport card. OS X can't handle having both in place :)

    I'd actually like to be able to leave the internal airport card in place, as I use these computers in OS 9 some and the Airport Extreme is dead in OS 9. On a Pismo, it's no big deal to pop the Airport card in and out, but it's a little more involved with a TiBook.
     
  9. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #9
    That would be pretty neat if OS X could handle having two Wi-Fi interfaces like it can with Ethernet.
     
  10. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #10
    I think it can, although I am not sure of the benefit of that. It just cannot handle having two Airport cards simultaneously.
     
  11. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #11
    A network with more than one domain?

    That's what I thought and since my son's Mac sees this card as an Airport card there would probably be problems with more than one.
     
  12. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #12
    Your son has a good choice in wallpaper, and in video gaming... That was my very first game! Of course I'm a bit young to have had it on an NES (now I do since I have obtained an NES and several games), but I got it with my GameBoy Advanced SP, which was my first video game system that i got back in I want to say around 2003. Absolutely love that game, too bad the saving feature wasn't out yet in time for the NES version, lol.
     
  13. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #13
    My son is a big Mario Bros. fan, although his favorite is Luigi (not Mario). That's mainly because his favorite color is green though and that's Luigi's color.

    He's got an NES emulator and plays a lot of that stuff on his Mac. He's also a fan of Minecraft.

    The year you got your GameBoy Advanced is the year my son was born. ;)

    I have a picture of him in his bouncer about a year old holding one of my old PC keyboards. I was messing around wth my OS9 Mac at the time and he wanted to be 'involved'. :D
     
  14. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #14
    Very nice! I used to emulate everything back when I first got my MacBook, and that was about a year before I got my NES. He's the same age as my sister if he was born in 03 :). I was a pretty big fan of SMB and Minecraft, now I barely play Minecraft and play SMB for nostalgia and when I've got nothing else to play on my 3DS or Wii U (I use the 3DS more than the Wii U, but I barely use either).

    Glad to see you were starting him young! Hopefully it was an AEK II, :p
     
  15. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #15
    Btw, speaking of emulation, if he's ever on your Intel Mac, there is a much better Emulator that's capable of emulating just about any system all in one app as opposed to several. Its called OpenEMU, it works on 10.6+, and its 100% free!
     
  16. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
  17. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #17
    I'll have to ask. I'm not sure.

    To be honest, I've avoided the question because I know it will probably lead back here (to the thread on the Minecraft server).

    My son isn't ready (emotionally) to be part of an online social community (he's 11).
     
  18. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #18
    I was around the same age when I got my TiBook.
     
  19. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #19
    My son got his first Mac (iBook G3) around 6 years old. But he was using my stuff at home before that.

    He does not own a cell phone or an iPod and neither does his sister. Which they are both ok with, because whenever other little kids mention their lack, my kids own full on computers, have access to tablets and have no need for a handheld device.

    My son does have a Nintendo DS though, courtesy of grandma for his birthday a few years back.
     
  20. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #20
    I was asking as I was curious if a TiBook was capable of it rather than adding him to MacRumors group of Minecraft players. Sorry.
     
  21. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #21
    No offense taken. Sorry if I sounded that way.

    I just don't want to promise him something, get his hopes up and then find out it's not going to work. When I got him his Bluetooth dongle and then told him that he could hook a Wiimote up to it he had the research done five ways to Sunday in Google before the first hour was out and now he's got like two or three apps to do that. :D
     
  22. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #22
    Hey I got minecraft running on a Nearly stock G3 beige... so I would say it would run on your TiBook How well it would run is another thing lol (It would run nicely on your G4 quicksilver tho as I ran MC nicely on a G4 sawtooth with a 1.5Ghz G4 CPU and the same 9800 GPU heh)
     
  23. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #23
    Pshhh my first Game Boy was the micro. I found it in a box the other day actually! First console was a Gamecube on Christmas of 2005. I now have a black Wii and a 250GB Xbox 360 lol.

    I was so happy when I got the micro so I could finally do something fun while riding the bus to school. Everyone had the Advance SP and I was jelly. Even more jelly of the kids with the DS!
     
  24. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #24
    My first Gameboy was in 1989, before the American release date. It has 'Patent Pending' on the back, was purchased in Japan and brought over by one of the exchange students my parents hosted regularly when I was a teen.

    It still works and occasionally my son renews his interest in it.

    We never had game systems, even in the 80s and early 90s when all that was really big. I always had a computer so I just bought games for that.

    We have a Wii we got in 2010 (I think). First dedicated game system I have ever owned.
     
  25. Gamer9430 macrumors 68020

    Gamer9430

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Location:
    Central New Jersey, USA
    #25
    I got my GameCube Christmas of 05 as well, lol. I got my DS Lite Christmas of 2007 (or 06 I don't remember), Wii Christmas of 08, Xbox 360 Christmas of 2010, 3DS in 2011, Wii U (which I barely play) Christmas of 2013, and PS4 Christmas of 2014. I got my NES and '89 GameBoy in 2013, and my N64 in 2014. So besides Macs, I collect vintage video game consoles. I need to get a 2600, and to top off my Nintendo collection, I need a GameBoy Color and a SNES (forget virtual boy, I wouldn't want it anyway). At some point I should also get a PSOne, PS2, and some SEGA console, perhaps a Genesis since it had loads of good games.
     

Share This Page