Resolved Too much 'other' on G-Drive back up!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Lensclare, Sep 5, 2015.

  1. Lensclare, Sep 5, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2015

    Lensclare macrumors member

    Lensclare

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #1
    Recently I bought my first external G-raid mini hard drive for my iMac 2010, OS X Yosemite. I wanted to use time machine to back up my internal HD by using my EX G-Raid. Below is a screen shot after my first complete back up on my G-Drive: Screen Shot 2015-09-05 at 15.57.43.png

    My external drive is making too much noise, its in Raid 1. I need my photos to be backed up more than anything, not 'other' whatever that is I don't know.

    How can I change what my external is backing up? Or what Time machine chooses to backup?
    I didn't get any options!
     
  2. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #2
    The Storage display for my System shows nothing but the Backup color on my Time Machine volume. Since I do not have a Raid 1 external I'm thinking it might be the way Yosemite is interpreting the information from the Raid 1. The ultimate test is to select "Enter Time Machine" from the TM menu and see if you can see and restore some photos.
     
  3. Lensclare thread starter macrumors member

    Lensclare

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #3
    I think it also it could be a setting on yosmite. I haven't used Time Machine b4, but this is the second time I've tried to do a backup with this hard drive. I did delete everything first and started again. The result is still the same as the first time. When I've entered time machine, I can only see my Finder window with desktop and documents, I can look through some of the files and folders but it won't restore anything.
     
  4. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #4
    What version of Yosemite are you using?
    That is definitely not working right. I'm sorry but I do not have a Raid 1, so I'm just trying ideas to try and get some test data to aid in narrowing down where is the problem. Do you have another external drive that is not a G-raid that you could use to do a Time Machine to see if it works on a non-Raid drive?
    I'm not sure why you started using Time Machine, but you seem to be most interested in backing up your photos.
    Are these individual pictures are they in a iPhoto and/or Photos library?
    Do you require the hourly back up in Time Machine?

    I use Carbon Copy Cloner (CCC) to make a complete clone of my internal drive which would allow a fully bootable drive. It might a be a better option if it works with your Raid 1. I do not know if you have the G-raid connected all of the time. BTW, how is the G-raid connected? CCC can be scheduled to automatically clone on a schedule you select. CCC does incremental (only changes) backups after the first full backup. It also has a 30 day free trial so you can try it to see if it is a possible solution.
    http://bombich.com
     
  5. CoastalOR, Sep 5, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2015

    CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #5
  6. Lensclare thread starter macrumors member

    Lensclare

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #6
    I'm running yosmite is 10.10.3, on my iMac (21.5 inch, Mid 2010)

    I don't have another external drive. This is my first ever external drive. My pictures are in iPhoto library and some folders on my internal. All the files are large and some are in a format called RAW. I have to be carefule how RAW files are moved, as the quality of RAW images can be affected. So, I can't risk the carbon copy cloner.
     
  7. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #7
    Since you do not have a good TM back up on your external G-raid mini you could try the CCC free 30 day trial to get a good full backup and see how the RAW files look. CCC would do a full clone and overwrite your bad TM backup on the external G-raid mini. BTW, I've used CCC successfully on Nikon RAW pictures. No pressure, I understand if you do not want to use CCC. It was just suggestion since it has been an excellent tool for me.

    Once you have a good backup then it is safer to try things with the primary internal drive like reinstalling/updating (10.10.5) the OS, then wiping your current TM backup and trying TM again.
    Here are some instructions about Reinstalling the OS (again it would be better to have a good backup before trying this):
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201314
    and
    http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/installing-or-reinstalling-os-x-yosemite-only-if-y.html

    I have no further ideas what to try at this point other than reinstalling the OS. Maybe someone else has other things to try.
     
  8. Lensclare thread starter macrumors member

    Lensclare

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #8
    I've read the reinstallation process via the second link, I really don't fancy it. I don't know if I should try to return my G-Raid mini. but, I have a hunch that its settings on the OS which are hidden from the user. I was wanting to use Boot camp to install windows 7, but to don't want to do this without backing up my computer, as bootCamp will be making a partition in my internal HD. I haven't done this before and with my luck something will go wrong.

    I really don't know what else to do for the best.
     
  9. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #9
    You may be right about the G-Raid because of the noise.
    Unfortunately TM does not let you pick what to back up. That's why I thought another backup solution that provides more control might be a better solution.

    Here is another software solution (I also use this) that has another 30 day trial that would allow you to backup selected files and/or folders (iPhotos library and RAW pictures folder):
    http://www.econtechnologies.com/chronosync/overview.html

    Your instincts of getting a Raid 1 for a mirroring a backup of your photos are good. Of course no software backup solution will be reliable if the hardware (G-Raid) has a problem.

    Have you tried running Disk Utility to check the G-Raid as suggested in the link in my post #5?

    Here is an excerpt from that link:
    "If you suspect that your Time Machine backup is wonky, you can verify it and then try to repair it. To do that, open Time Machine‘s preferences and switch off Time Machine. Then launch Disk Utility, select the drive you normally use for your backup, and then click the Verify button, just as you‘d do with any other drive you want to check."
     
  10. Lensclare thread starter macrumors member

    Lensclare

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #10
    Yes, I've verified the G_Drive in utility see below.

    Screen Shot 2015-09-06 at 00.33.14.png
     
  11. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #11
    Ok, that looks good for file/directory structure. Unfortunately it does not do anything for checking the hardware. I guess it might be time to contact G-Technology.
     
  12. Lensclare thread starter macrumors member

    Lensclare

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #12
    Well the thing is I've tried the contact by email support and I'm just corresponding with a robot. The number on their website doesn't work, I tell them this and they're just sending the same number back to me telling me to ring it to speak to someone. So you're my last resort.

    I also have a hunch that the TM has been backing up my 'processes'. The G-raid is quite, then as soon as I start photo editing or when I was checking TM in terminal it starts making squealing noises. when I stop doing a task, the G-raid goes all quiet.
     
  13. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #13
    How are you on the Apple updates?
    There was an additional update to help with Time Machine problems around OS 10.10.2 or 10.10.3. Did you apply it? I'm guessing you are staying in 10.10.3 for iPhoto so you have not applied all updates up to 10.10.5.

    Another temporary possibility, is to just drag & drop your iPhoto library and the RAW photos files to G-DRIVE2 and see if they copied ok. Let me know if that works.

    I hope some of the other MaRumors members have some other ideas.

    Come on MacRumors members help out Lensclare.
     
  14. 808? macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    You would need two external drives to use RAID 1. The "other" must the the mirror copy of itself (the backup) on the same drive.

    Why not just use TimeMachine? It works perfectly fine for backups.
     
  15. Lensclare thread starter macrumors member

    Lensclare

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #15
    Not for me it doesn't, please see screen shot after my first complete backup with TM. Screen Shot 2015-09-05 at 15.57.43.png
     
  16. 808? macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #16
    The first TM backup should take ages, like half a day or something.

    Where were you doing your previous backups too before you got this external drive?
     
  17. Lensclare, Sep 6, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2015

    Lensclare thread starter macrumors member

    Lensclare

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #17
    Yes it did take ages a few days in fact. To be honest I didn't have anything external for backups before I got this HD. I just used my internal. I'm actually wondering if you are right and tM is using my external to fininsh the other half of my backup as there isn't enough room on my internal. I used terminal and ran: Screen Shot 2015-09-06 at 12.43.54.png Screen Shot 2015-09-06 at 12.48.53.png
     
  18. Lensclare thread starter macrumors member

    Lensclare

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #18
    What about a copy of my start up disk?
     
  19. CoastalOR, Sep 6, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2015

    CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #19
    Are you asking about drag and drop your your start up disk to the external drive? If yes, then that is not a good permanent strategy. Not everything gets copied like some important hidden files, there is no way to properly restore your whole internal drive since it is a not a complete copy, and there is no sensible way to do continued backups since the drag and drop method would recopy everything again (not just what changes). If you just want to do that as temporary test or copy then that would work to copy your photos and a bunch of other files in your start up disk. You would still need to open the copied start up disk and find your photos to see that they copied properly.

    Again, my idea was to drag and drop your photos to the external so you could have a copy. That would be a test to see if the external G-raid mini hard drive would copy them properly and to have a backup (if the copy worked properly) if you want to try reinstalling the OS on your internal drive. Be advised that a reinstall of Yosemite would probably install 10.10.5 not 10.10.3.

    You did not answer my previous question in post #13.
    There was an additional update to help with Time Machine problems around OS 10.10.2 or 10.10.3. Did you apply it?
     
  20. Lensclare thread starter macrumors member

    Lensclare

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #20
    Yes, I think I applied it. I have dropped a few image files onto the hard drive, which are evident and appear to be 'on' the drive. I've also downloaded ChronoSync. But before I run it, I have switched off TM and removed my G-Raid as a back up disk, so it should stop being noisy now thats its not doing anything. But its still making a noises.I don't know if it needs a clean wipe?
     
  21. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #21
    Normally an erase with Disk Utility would be appropriate. There are also instructions on using Apple Disk Utility in the User Manual (I downloaded a pdf of the User Manual). Make sure you format (erase) Mac OS Extended (Journaled).

    Tell me more about the sounds. Could it be the whir of the fans or is it clicking rattling sounds? The User Manual shows a drive failure LED behind the perforated front grill on the right side. The drive failure LED will flash if there is a problem.

    EDIT: Another thought. Previously, did you verify, via the TM icon in the menu bar, that it had completed the TM backup? It can take a long time for the first full backup.
     
  22. Lensclare thread starter macrumors member

    Lensclare

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #22
    Yes TM definitely verified when backup was completed.

    I have been reformatting my G-Raid mini in order to erase the drive from unwanted blue 'other' Backup in order to try again. Maybe this is the wrong way to go about it? I'm using Mac Extended (case sensitive, Journaled). Should I use Mac Extended (journaled) instead?

    The Noise doesn't sound mechanical, I don't mind the whirring fan it sounds quite pleasant compared to the other noises it makes. I can only describe the noise as trying to load an old computer game via a tape deck, connected with leads to my 'Amstrad CPC 464', back in the day before floppy discs were invented. But the sound is more digitalized. I am hoping its just noise from the reformatting and now as it's not running backups of 'other' with TM the noise will become less.
     
  23. CoastalOR, Sep 6, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2015

    CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #23
    Yes, definitely use Mac Extended (Journaled) only.
    From the G-raid User Manual: "Mac OS Extended (Journaled): Use this format if you intend to use the drive for Time Machine or to create a separate bootable installation of OS X."
    This may have been the whole problem.
     
  24. Lensclare, Sep 8, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2015

    Lensclare thread starter macrumors member

    Lensclare

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2015
    Location:
    Nottingham
    #24
    Since changing the format on ym G-Raid mini to Mac OS Extended (journaled) from case sensitive, its stopped making noises.

    I tried a backup with Time Machine again, but unfortunetly still got the existing problem of too much 'other'.
    So, I've decided to turn Off TM and remove my G-Raid as TM's backup disc. Instead I've downloaded a trial of app ChronoSync, so that I can attempt to make a bootable backup of my internal on my G-Raid external HD. Then I'll see if my G-Raid mini works as a boot and then I'll see how its goes from there.

    I'll let you know how I get on. Thankyou for all your help. :)
     
  25. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #25
    Thanks for the update. Sorry time machine did not work for you. Carbon Copy Cloner (CCC) would probably be a better solution for making bootable copies. CCC also has a 30 day trial. If I had a choice between TM or CCC I would choose CCC. I use both currently. CCC can be scheduled like ChronoSync.

    Is there a reason you picked ChronoSync over Carbon Copy Cloner?
     

Share This Page