Tools + other necessities

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by itsderpxd, Nov 4, 2012.

  1. itsderpxd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    #1
    I just ordered a Samsung 830 BB/WW ssd for my mbp 15".

    I need to buy tools for it, and want high quality tools since I will probably do this a lot. I read a thread and it said Wiha was high quality, but where is the best place to buy? ( Preferably amazon since I have prime :D) Also, specific tools needed? ( I don't really think i'll need an antistatic wrist strap lol )

    Also, since it's a BB/WW, i need to have a notebook upgrade kit. Is there a place where everyone gets it ? ( software + hardware).

    Thanks guys =)
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    All you need is a Phillips 00 driver to remove the case screws. Then a Torx T6 driver to remove the mounting screws from the drive. If you are just doing this one time, a cheap kit is fine, but if you plan to do it often, you will want good quality tools like Wiha that have a hardened metal tip so the heads of the screws don't get rounded off.
     
  4. itsderpxd thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    #4
    For the T6, E-Flite vs Wiha?

    Also, what's the difference between Wiha 26194 and Wiha 96706?
     
  5. Sital macrumors 68000

    Sital

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    I ordered this set from Amazon and it worked great when I installed my SSD.
     
  6. itsderpxd thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    #6
    verrryyyyy very tempting.

    If I were to buy a 00 Phillips and a Torx T6 seperately.. it'd only be 10 dollars less. Hm..


    The highest recommended review seems very enthusiastic about it, do you feel the same way ?
     
  7. markus843 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Location:
    North america
    #7
    I think what Sital posted would be a really good option.
     
  8. itsderpxd thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    #8
    And the video review basically put the cherry on top haha.
     
  9. Sital macrumors 68000

    Sital

    Joined:
    May 31, 2012
    Location:
    New England
    #9
    I've only used it for the SSD so far, but it did the job with no issues. The bits didn't slip on the screwheads at all. My only very small complaint is that the bits can be a little hard to remove from the storage collar, but at least you're not going to lose them!
     
  10. itsderpxd thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    #10
    haha thats good to hear.




    General question for all:

    Where can I buy the notebook upgrade kit? and what software would I need? (I've heard something about TRIM ? )
     
  11. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #11
    I see you are looking at the Samsung 830... they sell a 830 that includes a USB to SATA cable that you can use to transfer your data. Amazon has it here.

    You can use the free 30 day trial of Carbon Copy Cloner to clone the old drive to the new.

    Newer drives like the Samsung 830 have pretty good built in garbage collection, so even if you do not use the TRIM hack... no harm will come to the drive. Lots of opinions on this issue. If you search for threads with "do I need TRIM" you will find a ton of discussion on it.
     
  12. itsderpxd thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    #12
    I already have the 830 BB/WW so that isnt an option :(

    Just looking to buy these things individually, and i've read that you need a spacer, while others say i dont and can just put it in...

    So if i were to make a list of what I need to install :

    1) USB to SATA cable
    2) Phillips 00 and Torx T6

    would that be all ?
     
  13. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #13
    You don't need the spacer. In a MBP the drive is screwed in place, so it doesn't matter if there is a little space above it. I bought my tools at home depot for $12 total.

    http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1v/R-100087664/h_d2/ProductDisplay?catalogId=10053&langId=-1

    http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1v/R-100074336/h_d2/ProductDisplay?catalogId=10053&langId=-1
     
  14. itsderpxd thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    #14
  15. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #15
    I didn't use one. I just made sure my Time Machine backup was up to date, created a bootable Mountain Lion USB drive, then reinstalled OSX and restored my data from the backup.
     
  16. itsderpxd thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    #16

    Unsure about whether I should install the OSX onto my SSD, especially since I have only 128 gbs in the SSD.

    This may be a dumb question.. but if i'm installing the ssd into my macbook pro, is the drive i'm taking out the one that has everything on it right now? Not sure how to find out.. this is the 2012 MBP 15" .


    My suitemate said that TRIM is automatically enabled for SSDs. Is this true ?
     
  17. Nyvar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    #17
    That would be a yes.

    TRIM is enabled on SSDs installed by Apple. Your 830 will not have trim enabled. When I swapped in a 830 I enabled it, not because I felt it was necessary, but to see if I could.

    I'm willing to bet once you start you'll find it much easier to accomplish than you think it will be.
     
  18. Rhinoevans macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #18
    When you restore for the Mac, will it restore installed applications like Mac Office? Or just data files?
     
  19. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #19
    Something like this would do the trick.

    You would want to have the OS on the SSD.

    If you do a full restore from Time Machine, it will bring over all apps and data. Some apps will require you to reenter the registration info though. MS apps seems to be fussy about this.
     
  20. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #20
    As weasleboy said, if you restore from a backup, everything you've backed up should copy over.

    If you just install the OS, the computer will basically be in the same state as it was when you bought it.

    ----------

    You won't see much in the way of a performance increase if you DON'T install OSX on the SSD. Additionally, what drive would you be running your OS from? You're not putting the old drive into your optical bay, you HAVE to install OSX, you'll have a hard time running your computer without it.
     
  21. itsderpxd thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    #21
    hmm.. in that case, I'd need to move all files over, but wouldnt my SSD get filled up super fast ? :<

    I use bootcamp to game.. confused on what my plan is now. and partitioning a 128 gbs ssd will be devastatinggg.

    Upgrading to the ssd doesn't seem so great after all zzzzzzz. So little space for me.. or am I overlooking something?

    Opinions?
     
  22. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #22
    Buy a larger SSD.
     
  23. itsderpxd thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    #23
    yeah. Is there a way to use two ssds? or have a hdd and ssd ? like hdd for OSX and ssd for win 7 ?
     
  24. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #24
    You can if you remove your optical drive and install a second drive using a bracket. Most people install their OS and their applications on the SSD to get the full benefit of the speed, and put their media on the second HDD.
     
  25. itsderpxd thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    #25
    hm. confused, Since everything is in my hdd right now, can't I use both? like the ssd for OSX and win 7, while the hdd is for files and such?
     

Share This Page