Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

FadeToBlack

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Apr 27, 2005
Accoville, WV
I'm NOT an expert at all when it comes to torrents and I know that there are probably countless threads on this subject, but I searched and couldn't find a good answer to my question.

I found this REALLY cool site where you can download LEGAL torrents of bootleg audio/video concerts. VERY cool. The problem is, I have a very slow transfer rate. Even with 3 people seeding, I was only getting between 5-10 k/s. Not good at all.

I think the problem has something to do with my ports. When in Transmission's Advanced preferences, under the "Incoming TCP Port" section, it is showing that my "Port is Stealth." I figure this is probably one of the causes of my slow transfer issues.

My question is, how do I set it up so that my port isn't stealth, so that I can get a decent transfer rate?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

FadeToBlack

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Apr 27, 2005
Accoville, WV
3 people seeding isn't much either

Yeah, I figured that had something to do with it, as well. I still figure I should be getting faster speeds than this, though, even with a low number of people seeding.

You're going to need to forward the incoming port on your router.

http://portforward.com/

Man, that is A LOT of reading. :p

I know if I wanna get this done, I probably should read it and learn about it, but honestly, I'd just like to get the thing working. Maybe I'm just used to how simple most things on the Mac are - they just work. I wish the same could be said for BitTorrent.

EDIT: Decided to just give up on trying to get it to work. Yeah, I'm lazy, but this isn't hugely important to me, anyway. Thanks for your help, though, everybody.

kolax

macrumors G3
Mar 20, 2007
Even with my incoming port closed I can reach maximum download speeds. Takes a lot longer to get there though.