Touch bar not responsive at all

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by rycerzyyk, Jan 2, 2018.

  1. rycerzyyk macrumors newbie

    rycerzyyk

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    #1
    Hello,

    I have a problem with touch bar on my macbook pro 13 (2016). For last few days it was completly unresponsive. Everything seems to work ok, icons on the touchbar change when opening different apps but when i try to clik it is not reacting at any place on the touch screen.



    What I did:

    1. fresh install newest macOS high sierra

    2. nvram reset

    3. smc reset

    4. force quit of touch bar service and control strip



    Nothing helped. Any ideas?
     
  2. New_Mac_Smell macrumors 68000

    New_Mac_Smell

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Location:
    Shanghai
  3. rycerzyyk thread starter macrumors newbie

    rycerzyyk

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    #3
    not really, wanted to try fix it first as it looks as a software problem. We don't have apple stores in my country and it will take a long time to fix it (and thats my work device).
     
  4. New_Mac_Smell macrumors 68000

    New_Mac_Smell

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    Location:
    Shanghai
    #4
    Judging by what you've already done it sounds like a hardware problem, although that's assuming you did a complete fresh install without installing any other software and it still misbehaved. What country are you in?
     
  5. joefoong79 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    #5
    Is the bug on high sierra. This OS X is very buggy and definitely is software. Just wipe the drive again and reinstall high sierra or just downgrade back to Sierra to check weather it gone away before travel to Apple store which they likely do the same.
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    I'm not so sure that its that buggy, or least to the extent that is preventing the Touch Bar from working. In fact if it was an OS bug, wouldn't we see more TB owners asking for help?

    That's not going to solve it. How will reinstalling macOS a second time produce different results? The OP did a clean install and that did not solve the issue.

    I recommend @New_Mac_Smell posted, the OP needs to call Apple on this. I don't believe its a software issue, not when when the OP tried all the normal steps that are typically mentioned.
     
  7. joefoong79 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2017
    #7
    You should read the whole forum of macOS high sierra about people compliant everything from touch bar to sleep wake issues and etc. Fresh install doesn’t guaranteed it will be no bug, but second try fresh install will have second chance. Btw if me I will make a try. If you have made a firmware fresh reinstall on iPhone you will believe how buggy is Apple even fresh install never guaranteed no buggy. Had to try few time to get perfect. Good luck
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    I found three threads that had touch bar in the title, I don't think the forum is filled with people complaining about the touch bar not working as the OP stated. I think its in the OP's best interest to call apple and have some diagnostics run on the laptop

    That makes no sense, if a fresh install didn't work, reformatting and re-installing a second time will install the same exact OS and it will behave the same exact way.. The end result is the same OS is being installed on a clean drive and if it didn't work the first time it won't work the second time.
     
  9. alinama macrumors newbie

    alinama

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2019
    #9
    Hello! Have you resolved your problem with Touch Bar? I have exactly the same. Please send me email - amajorova21@gmail.com
     
  10. stevemiller macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #10
    this happened to me the other day too. I force quit the Touch Bar process in activity monitor, and it helped for a few minutes before the problem resurfaced. I did a full restart and fortunately that seemed to fix it for me.

    but its getting frustrating how unstable this laptop is compared to every previous Mac I've owned. the entire system freezes for 10-20s quite frequently.
     
  11. alinama macrumors newbie

    alinama

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2019
    #11
    Hello!
    Thanks for response. What you mean Full restart?
    And I have searched in Activity Monitor - this Touch Bar , and I didn’t see it ...
     
  12. Woofie2010 macrumors regular

    Woofie2010

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Location:
    Australia
    #12
    I think apple broke my Touch Bar. I went in to repair my screen because it had a dead pixel, and now my Touch Bar is not working. The icons change, but don't respond to touch
     

Share This Page

11 January 2, 2018