Touch ID login with password

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by zipped, Jan 28, 2017.

  1. zipped macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    #1
    Hi

    When I start the MacBook Pro 2016....he asks me for Touch ID and a password to login.
    I don't understand it. Is there a possibility that I can just use Touch ID or password and not both?

    regards
     
  2. dpny macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    #2
    Logging in with your password after a reboot is a security feature, just as it is in the iPhone. It's an extra step to make sure that, even if Touch ID is somehow bypassed, a stolen machine can not simply be rebooted to gain access.

    If you're really worried about security, you shouldn't have Touch ID enabled on either your phone or MBP, and you should use a strong password.
     
  3. zipped thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    #3
    not answering my question! Would be nice if someone would have a solution. thx
     
  4. cambookpro macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    Pretty sure the password is needed after a reboot to unlock the encrypted 'Secure Enclave' - in the MBP's case, on the T1 chip - as the numerical representation of your fingerprints are stored here.

    You shouldn't be asked for TouchID as well, though - have never heard of that happening. It's one or the other. TouchID is useless after a reboot anyway, as the fingerprint data is all encrypted.
     
  5. Inframan macrumors 6502

    Inframan

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    #5
    No - If you fully turn your computer off and on or if you restart your computer you will be required to enter your password. There is no way around this unless you totally disable your password altogether at which point you wouldn't be able to use Touch ID. Touch ID only works when the computers harddisk goes to sleep or If the monitor goes to sleep the You Can simple wake it up and use Touch ID to enter. I should also add that you can also enable the password box when Touch ID is abled by clicking the icon at the right hand corner.
     
  6. zipped thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2017
    #6
    Like I said when I start the MacBook Pro it asks me for both........
     
  7. Richard Peters macrumors regular

    Richard Peters

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #7
    Do you have FileVault on?
     
  8. mrex macrumors 68020

    mrex

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Location:
    europe
    #8


    That shouldnt affect it. I have FV on and it only askes me to give a password, not both.
     
  9. Richard Peters macrumors regular

    Richard Peters

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #9
    I was wondering more if it was just asking for a password to get past FileVault and then TouchID to log in to your user account once past FV. That would be correct behaviour.

    If it's asking for password and TouchID after you have entered your FV password, then no idea. Very weird behaviour indeed as that means you have to enter your password twice and use TouchID to get into your computer. That would annoy me too!
     

Share This Page