Touch ID on iPhone 6 is superduper fast

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by airlied, Oct 8, 2014.

1. airlied, Oct 8, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2014

airlied macrumors regular

airlied

My last iPhone was iPhone 5 so I'm new to Touch ID. I've heard a LOT bad news about Touch ID from news sites, youtube and even my friends. But when I first tried I was blown away.

It's super fast and accurate. I scanned 4 fingers (two thumbs and two indexes) without any problems. The unlock speed is even faster than "slide to unlock" way. I guess it's because When I press the home button the sensor already started to scan my fingerprint and I can't even see the lock screen clearly before it disappears.

And because I registered my finger from many angles including the flat angle and common used slope angles. No matter how I press the home button it always recognised my fingerprints. I've done a test and figured out that it only takes about 0.3 seconds to recognise, sometimes you feel it's slow is because the UI lags.

I'm really impressed with new Touch ID on iPhone 6. I only got this phone for about a week so I can't tell if the sensitivity drops from time to time. But we will see.

2. AppleP59 macrumors 6502

Nice to hear.
    How much time have you spent sitting there - locking and unlocking your phone?

3. Jimmy James macrumors 68040

Jimmy James

The 6 is also my introduction to this feature. I'm surprised by how much I like it and how well it works.

4. willmtaylor macrumors G3

willmtaylor

See, that's weird, b/c for me (coming from iPhone 5), it is a little slower than I expected. Mine usually takes 1-1.5 seconds. I never get an error, and it always registers, but it's almost always a little more than 1 second.

5. sillywabbit macrumors 6502a

Can someone who had the iphine 5s and the iphone 6/6plus, comment on the speed difference if any between unlocking the phone with Touch ID ?

Thanks in advance.

----------