Touch ID stops detecting input randomly

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Orien, Sep 30, 2015.

  1. Orien macrumors regular

    Orien

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #1
    I can't tell if this is a hardware or software bug, but my 6s+ randomly stops detecting my fingers at all, so even when my finger is there, it doesn't detect any touch and doesn't even say "try again". It'll work normally if I turn off the screen and try again a few times.

    Has anyone else seen this?

    (Still an issue on 9.0.2)
     
  2. teabonesteak macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    #2
    yes, my 6s does this too. sometimes it's SOO incredibly fast it blows my mind. other times, it just does nothing. i hope it's an ios bug.
     
  3. TheXee macrumors newbie

    TheXee

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    #3
    I have experienced the Same issue on My 6s+, Touch ID does nothing until i unlock the screen via Passcode. Afterwards Touch ID works like a charm again, therefore i guess it is a software related Problem.
     
  4. Orien thread starter macrumors regular

    Orien

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    That's what I'm hoping. Too bad it still happens on 9.0.2.
     
  5. MICHAELSD macrumors 68040

    MICHAELSD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #5
    Does this happen to you guys when you have wet fingers? I notice even when I'm slightly sweaty my TouchID doesn't sense my finger.
     
  6. samcheezay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #6
    you guys all need to stop restoring from backup. You must set up as NEW. I've tested this out with my new 6s PLUS just to see if the issues were true, and behold it was.

    Set your phone as new, and I can guarantee it'll work flawless.
     
  7. The Tos macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Location:
    Buffalo, New York
    #7
    I set my 6s+ as new and am experiencing the same issue. The touch id will randomally stop working. After I unlock via password and try again, it works fine.
     
  8. Orien thread starter macrumors regular

    Orien

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #8
    I've been restoring from iCloud backup every year since that was possible, without issues. Most users will do this -- it's far too much hassle to start over. Even guys like Gruber never start as new.
     
  9. Orien thread starter macrumors regular

    Orien

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #9
    They've always been dry when this happens.
     
  10. samcheezay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #10
    I understand your concern but if you want to prevent from other issues happening, setting up as NEW will prevent those issues to continue. There's lots of debate whether to set up as new or restore from backup via iCloud or iTunes. What most people don't know is that when you restore from the backup, you're bringing any corruption or software issues with it to the new phone. Not only that, because restoring is a file of OS from which isn't supposed to be intended using on brand new phones, issues will arise.

    Try setting it up as a new phone, it won't have issues.
     
  11. jtwlbz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
  12. jpcarro macrumors 6502

    jpcarro

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Location:
    On your nine
    #12
    I had this happen once on my 6s. Touch Id just did nothing. But oddly, I could swipe and open the phone without a password after trying to use the Touch Id. Only saw this once under 9.0.1.
     
  13. Orien thread starter macrumors regular

    Orien

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #13
    My understanding is that restoring from iTunes is a 1:1 copy of your iOS disk image essentially, where an iCloud restore is more 'clean'.

    Either way, I and the vast majority of iOS users can't be bothered to start as new every year I upgrade. I'm a very advanced user, and even I can't deal with that hassle.

    Besides other users in this thread who setup as new are still having this issue.
     
  14. Decimotox macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    #14
    I restored from an iCloud backup and my 6s Plus runs perfectly.
     
  15. th3r3ds0x macrumors regular

    th3r3ds0x

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #15
    Mine did it once today. Finger was nice and clean. I clicked the lock button after a few tries and noticed an email popped up. I was thinking that maybe the phone was hung up thinking and the timing was just bad. It unlocked fine afterwards. Probably just software related either way.
     
  16. samcheezay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #16

    well then, I have no idea haha. I hope it gets resolved for you sooner than later. Apple should give all of us free gift cards to iTunes or something..
     
  17. th3r3ds0x macrumors regular

    th3r3ds0x

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #17
    Restored from backup of my 6 Plus. Everything fine. Not shocked by a few bugs that pop up. If iOS 9 was perfect there wouldn't be 2 patches released in just the last week. Patience is a virtue.
     
  18. th3r3ds0x macrumors regular

    th3r3ds0x

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #18
    I don't think that's how it works. I've dug into iOS backups before to retrieve pictures and it didn't look like it contained the entire iOS image. Also, restoring a backup takes considerably less time than doing a full restore. I'm pretty sure it's just settings and data. I had to reinstall all my apps and copy all my music back over after doing the restore. A full disk image would contain all that info and be many GB in size.

    I'm with you on no setting up as new. I used to do that but I really hate to lose all my texts etc. And now with my Apple Watch I'd lose all my health data too.
     
  19. samcheezay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #19
    there are 3rd party apps where you can manually move texts, photos, etc over to the new phone but it's a hassle. but why save texts? just start fresh ;)
     
  20. th3r3ds0x macrumors regular

    th3r3ds0x

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #20
    To each their own...
     
  21. Orien thread starter macrumors regular

    Orien

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #21
    Yeah, maybe not, but I do believe iCloud backups are more clean than iTunes backups.
     
  22. shas95 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    #22
    Yep mine does this too. Phone was set up as a new phone
     
  23. DoofenshmirtzEI macrumors 6502a

    DoofenshmirtzEI

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #23
    I restored from iTunes and am not having this problem. My backups are 2.24 GB on disk. If they include all my pictures and app data, there's not really a lot of room for a copy of the OS.
     
  24. samcheezay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #24
    the OS isn't using your other gb phone data just fyi.
     
  25. DoofenshmirtzEI macrumors 6502a

    DoofenshmirtzEI

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #25
    I have no clue what you just said.
     

Share This Page