Resolved Transfer Microsoft Office to new Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by RevanUK, May 1, 2016.

  1. RevanUK macrumors newbie

    RevanUK

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    5 years ago, I bought a MacBook Pro and installed Microsoft Office 2011 on to it from a disc that cost about £100 I think. This week, I'm getting the new MacBook because my Pro is old and slow now. I was wondering how I get Microsoft Office on my new MacBook. Would Time Machine do it? Or can I use the same disc again (if I can find it)? Sorry, I'm not very knowledgeable on this, so any advice would be appreciated. Thanks :)

    EDIT: Also, forgot to ask - is it worth upgrading to Office 2016 or should I stick with 2011? 2011 always seems to have worked fine and I've heard bad stuff about 2016.
     
  2. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #2
    The Office activation is tied to your old MBP hardware and transferring it to the new MacBook will not work. You will need your original 25 letter Product Key. If you can not find your Office 2011 CD then I might be able to help with a download link, but you will still need your original Product Key. I believe it will go better if you do a fresh install of Office 2011. I can not advise you on Office 2016 since I have not used it.

    I have not had this problem, but I did a search and found some links that might help:
    Microsoft Office 2011 activation problem for new computer

    Here is one that I thought described your issue well and has some different telephone numbers if needed:
    http://www.officeformachelp.com/2014/01/microsoft-office-activation-faqs/

    The good news is that I have Office 2011 and it works fine with El Capitan (I'm assuming that will be the OS on you new MacBook).
     
  3. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #3
    I had Office 2011 when I installed a new SSD in my MBP, used Migration Assistant to move my apps and data to the new drive and only needed to re-enter my key, I have a Home Use Program license. That said, if you're not using Migration Assistant you will need the installation file, it's a PKG installer which makes it a little more difficult to just copy the installed applications over.
     
  4. RevanUK thread starter macrumors newbie

    RevanUK

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    Thanks for the information :) Not sure where the CD is. I think I might actually just get Office 2016 since I'm upgrading everything else anyway.
    --- Post Merged, May 2, 2016 ---
    Thanks for that info :)
     
  5. AFEPPL macrumors 68020

    AFEPPL

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    England
  6. RevanUK thread starter macrumors newbie

    RevanUK

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    Yeah, I'm going to do that :)
     
  7. cdcastillo macrumors 6502a

    cdcastillo

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Location:
    The cesspit of civilization
    #7
    Just in case you haven't bought 2016 yet, I also bought a new MBPro and using Migration Assistant had no problem with MS Office on my new mac.
     
  8. RevanUK thread starter macrumors newbie

    RevanUK

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    Thanks for the info. Just got 2016 and it's great :)
     
  9. PhoenixDown macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    #9
    In case you or anyone else needs it, you can download the installation files for almost any Windows product directly from Microsoft. You only need a MS user ID which you can create during registration.

    Once you install the program, you would need your product ID / activation code.

    Not sure how it works in the MAC world but on Windows you can use tools like Magic Jelly Bean (if I remember that correctly) for that information.
     
  10. loby macrumors 6502a

    loby

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #10
    I had this same problem with Office 2011 and migrating to a new computer. I talked with a few Microsoft techs extensively about this issue and pieced together what they said and did not say...and figured out what they have done to capture more control over activation and distribution:

    Basically, you cannot just moved the files to another computer (or copy them) anymore, but now you will have to activate it by contacting them directly so they can put your Key code in their database, if you bought the program disk back in the day. They basically did not have record of your key code when you first activated it years back... i.e. errors at Microsoft back in the day. Hackers say, "Great", but Microsoft have figured out how to stop the hacking now after 30 years. (Good for them finally).

    If you try to activate with your original Key code, you probably will not be able too do this until you contact Microsoft and activate directly over phone or their portal. If you use your original disk, it will probably not work to activate in most cases (though you can get the program files installed on your computer). You will have to use Microsoft's auto update to get the latest 'auto update file' on your system in order to activate, which collects info., put's some 'other files' on your computer etc. If not, when you launch one of the programs, the icon will just keep bouncing and do nothing. Rubber band fixes to the original program installation.

    With the new management, Microsoft has put great efforts to take control of their software, including tracking everything (Now Microsoft is the 'hackers' into your computer), so Office 2011 is now one that they have concentrated on lately as well (understandable). The new updates are great for Office 2011, running faster etc, but once you update or restore from a backup or an old mac or install from the original disk again, you are locked into just one computer and that mac going forward. If you want to move it to another computer, you will have to activate it through Microsoft directly again with the hassles. Licensing has changed, so be aware. When I first bought the software, it was advertised and stated that I could put it on three macs...well, Microsoft told me that this is untrue...ONLY one system...now. Changed the rules...

    If you have already installed it on a few of your macs and it is still running and activated, you are ok to update. But once you erase it or have to reinstall, that is it. ONLY one mac per key code.

    All of that said, going forward...if you want Office 2011, you will have to pay for the key code if you want more than one copy (or have multiple macs). To get a copy now of Office 2011 is expensive, so if you don't have a key code now and need MSOffice, it is cheaper to get Office 2016 (not bad, but comes with the "new" Microsoft agendas).
     
  11. cdcastillo macrumors 6502a

    cdcastillo

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Location:
    The cesspit of civilization
    #11
    Nope, this is not true. But then, I'm not talking about moving files manually over USB or the network, but instead I'm talking about using migration assistant (it's not the same). I can confirm that using migration assistant you don't have to reactivate, use any keycode nor contact Microsoft in any way. I moved Microsoft office 2011 from one mac to another a few months ago
     
  12. gregohb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    #12
    Office 2011 is the most recent version of Microsoft Office for Mac that will work with Design Science's Equation Editor. I just checked their website today and this issue remains outstanding. If you are doing math or science and need equations, you need to stick to 2011. However, I found that Equation Editor works fine in Pages (2017) although all of the older documents have their equations converted to un-editable graphic files.
     
  13. an-other macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #13
    I had to contact Microsoft to get a new activation key (as my original key didn't work.) About 10 - 15 minutes on the phone, and i was able to get the key. Be sure to have paper/pen or text editor ready to capture the info.

    I would've considered purchasing 2016, however their licencing was disincentive as i would've wanted to put the software on 3 machines.
     

Share This Page