Transparent Menu Bar on Tiger

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by AmazingHenry, Apr 24, 2017.

  1. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #1
    One more step to completing that Tiger Sierra Theme would be a transparent menu bar.

    Couldn't find anything with a DuckDuckGo search, but I know it's possible because @swamprock had showed screenshots with it. Anyone know of a way to get a transparent menu bar on Tiger?

    Thanks in advance. :)
     
  2. amagichnich macrumors 6502

    amagichnich

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    #2
    What about using a semi transparent png as menubar background? Don't know if that's possible or how...
     
  3. ckweb macrumors newbie

    ckweb

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #3
    I know, right? I'm trying to do the same exact thing on classic! :D

    WindowShade may do the trick though, don't know if you've tried this one. It looks like a very tiny download right now, so hopefully it's still part of their products download page here.

    For my GUI mod it may be a little harder, either a resedit hack more than an old classic extension or control panel. I'd even go for a pic replacement. Somehow I remember that something was doable along those lines, but I can't remember what that was for the life of me, lol!

    Try this one out and let us know if it works, or if the download is even on their site anymore! If not, it may be worth huting this software down just to see if it works.

    I don't have a running Tiger OS at the moment to test it out, although I've been thinking of running it virtually on one of my Intel Macs.
     
  4. AmazingHenry thread starter macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #4
    Unfortunately the download isn't there anymore. :( Thanks for your suggestion though! I may still find WindowShade elsewhere.
     
  5. ckweb macrumors newbie

    ckweb

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #5
    Found it. :) Let me know how if it works out! :D
     

    Attached Files:

  6. AmazingHenry thread starter macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #6
    I saw MenuShade on their website but assumed it wasn't the same as WindowShade. I'll be sure to try it!
     
  7. ckweb macrumors newbie

    ckweb

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #7
    Awesome! At least one PPC Mac can have the latest look, too! :apple:

    Now onto how to make my Mac OS 8.1 menubar transparent.. lol o_O

    I've seen some hacks to completely transform a Mac OS 9 menubar, so I know it's doable ;)
     
  8. dustinschings macrumors 6502

    dustinschings

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    #8
    A Sierra theme for Tiger is going to be sweet :)
     
  9. ckweb macrumors newbie

    ckweb

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #9
    Ha! A Sierra theme for System 7 and 8.1 will be crazy too! We're going bananas with our Apples! :D
     
  10. amagichnich macrumors 6502

    amagichnich

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    #10
    I'm curious now, is there something like themepark for ppc? I couldn't find a version that's not intel only. A couple of years ago I managed to modify my snow leopard to have a semi transparent pinstripe menu bar which looked great! Just can't find a tool alike for leopard ppc - as I have a bit of free time now I would try that again, this time making leopard look a bit like jaguar
     
  11. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #11
    Themepark
    Candybar
    Magnafique

    Magnafique and Candybar are what I use.
     
  12. AmazingHenry thread starter macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
  13. pochopsp macrumors 6502

    pochopsp

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Location:
    Napoli, city of sun and pizza!
  14. AmazingHenry thread starter macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #14
    MenuShade. However, it's more than just checking "Transparency" to get a menu bar like mine. You have to check that box AS WELL AS set the color to the color of your desktop picture.

    Picture 3.png
     
  15. pochopsp macrumors 6502

    pochopsp

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2016
    Location:
    Napoli, city of sun and pizza!
  16. AmazingHenry thread starter macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #16
    Hope it works! One problem I have with MenuShade , however, is that it takes up dock space. We need a way to run it without a dock icon.
     
  17. ckweb, Apr 29, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2017

    ckweb macrumors newbie

    ckweb

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #17
    You may want to give this tool a whirl. Edit: Ooops, I think Dock Doger only works on Tiger and up :(

    Although I remember another tool that used to do this was called Dockless. It ran on Jaguar first and then was updated for Panther.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. AmazingHenry thread starter macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #18
    Perfectly fine as I'm running Tiger :D. It works. However, the transparency function doesn't work in the Dock Dodged version. Works fine in unmodified version. So, if you're going to use this tool, all you can do is set the color to the color of your desktop, and checking transparency just makes it white.
     
  19. ckweb macrumors newbie

    ckweb

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #19
    It's a real catch-22 then. I do recall that it faked transparency, and I guess that was the reason why. You may want to try hiding the dock icon manually to see if it affects the transparency. If it works, then an applescript may work to hide the icon automatically at startup.
     
  20. AmazingHenry thread starter macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #20
    Manually? How would I do that?
     
  21. ckweb macrumors newbie

    ckweb

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #21
    I got it wrong :oops: you can hide the app, but not the icon :(
     
  22. AmazingHenry thread starter macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #22
    Ok, thanks anyway! You've been a lot of help.
     
  23. ckweb macrumors newbie

    ckweb

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #23
    you bet, helping each other out is what it's all about! :D
     
  24. AmazingHenry thread starter macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #24
    In the final theme, I'll leave this up to user option as it depends on your desktop picture.

    If you have a picture that is pretty much all a solid color at the top, just set the menu bar color to the color of the wallpaper. Then you can hide MenuShade from the dock.

    If you have a picture that changes colors across the menu bar, you'll probably want to fake transparency. But if you do, you'll have to have a dock icon. I suppose it won't matter for people who hide the dock.

    On my G5, which has a picture that is all blue across the top, option 1 works great!
     

Share This Page