TRIM on Samsung SSD might be broken?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tomvos, Jun 17, 2015.

  1. tomvos macrumors 6502

    tomvos

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    In the Nexus.
    #1
    There's a blog entry about a possible problem with some Samsung SSDs when using trim.

    https://blog.algolia.com/when-solid-state-drives-are-not-that-solid/

    Up to now this problem was only spotted under Linux and was not confirmed by anybody else yet. Nevertheless, I thought it might be of interest to one or another here. Since Samsung SSDs have been recommended a lot in the past.
    Perhaps it's a prudent move to disable trim — if you enabled it — for Samsung SSDs for the time being.
     
  2. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #2
    I don't see EVO 850 listed or mentioned as a problem, and yes it could be isolated to enterprise Samsung SSDs, Linux kernel, and even the type of use and such. Samsung 'consumer" grade SSD have been torture tested to 500TB of writes without significant loss of cells or problems from what I have read.

    I do know of folks that did not use TRIM and were having real problems with OS X though.
     
  3. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #3
    Very interesting read... Thanks for posting this.
     
  4. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #4
    [​IMG]

    I have an 850 Evo and it's not passing the trim command

    [​IMG]


    If it was there's be a line in the middle

    [​IMG]
     
  5. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #5
    But... running linux kernel / (and page to death on just 2GB RAM?)
     
  6. bradl macrumors 68040

    bradl

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #6
    One thing to note on this, and it was also in a link to an Ubuntu user's email to Samsung about this:

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/fstrim/+bug/1449005/comments/53

    In looking at the blacklist, I noticed that the recent SSD I purchased from Samsung isn't on it (I bought the 850 EVO MZ-75E500B/AM 500GB), and was going to throw it into my windows box. I'm a bit hesitant now.

    But the issue with this is related to using Queued TRIM, which is an option in Linux, versus Sequential TRIM, which is what is used in Windows. The key here is to find out what type of TRIM OS X is using.

    BL.
     
  7. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #7
    If that's at me I'm running 4GB or ram.
     
  8. bradl macrumors 68040

    bradl

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #8
    Caught this in the El Cap thread:

    This is worth the read, and should allay any fears about TRIM on OS X, especially for El Capitan and Windows. They use Sequential TRIM.

    BL.
     
  9. iBuildMacs macrumors member

    iBuildMacs

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    #9
    TRIM works fine on The Samsung 850. However, there are some chipsets / interfaces that cause the TRIM on the 850 to not work. For example, the external OWC On-The-Go FW/USB 3.0 enclosure does not allow TRIM on the 850, but works fine with other brand SSDs.
     
  10. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #10
    I highly doubt that! AFAIK TRIM only works through PCIe; AHCI; S-ATA and e-SATA interfaces.
     
  11. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #11
    Same here, I don't think TRIM can work through USB interface.
     

Share This Page