Trying to activate iPhone 2G *Help*

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by CleverNameHere, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. CleverNameHere macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Location:
    Portland, oregon
    #1
    I just sold my 3GS and I'm trying to use my old 2G iPhone. But when I put the sim in its says "The SIM card inserted in this iPhone does not appear to be supported" So I went to AT&T and got a new SIM card only to have the same thing happen.

    Any suggestions?

    I can't go 17 days without a phone. Please help!
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Restore the original iPhone, connect to iTunes and follow the screen instructions.
     
  3. CleverNameHere thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Location:
    Portland, oregon
    #3
    Already tried. I'm sorry I should have specified I've tried restoring.

    Tried to restore...
    Tried to jailbreak with Pwnage tool...

    No luck.
     
  4. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #4
    Since you jailbroke it, try unlocking it and see if your AT&T Card will connect that way.
     
  5. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    Did you check "Activate" when deciding your new .ipsw firmware settings in Pwnage?
     
  6. CleverNameHere thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Location:
    Portland, oregon
    #6
    I did the jailbreak however, it wont let me past the connect to iTunes screen on the phone and the "This SIM is not supported" screen on iTunes. I'm really at a loss. I've been jailbreaking since the first jailbreak came out for the first iPhone so I'm definitely not new to that kind of thing but I've never had this problem.

    Thanks for all your help so far...

    Really stuck here.
     
  7. CleverNameHere thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Location:
    Portland, oregon
    #8
    Thank you. I was doing the easy mode. I will try this right now. I'll let you know if it works.

    Cheers!
     
  8. exATTemployee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    #9
    You'll have to get an unburned sim from att. Then go through the activation process.
     
  9. CleverNameHere thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Location:
    Portland, oregon
    #10
    What does that mean? I just got a brand new SIM from AT&T today. Still no luck.
     
  10. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    Don't pay attention to that. Just do what the link I gave you tells you. Fool proof method
     
  11. troy14 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas (Summerlin), NV
    #12
    Just throwing this out there but could it be because all of the newer sims are "3G sims" and the 2G isnt a 3G phone??

    I remember when I upgraded my 2G to the 3G.. They gave me a new sim card.. right?
     
  12. CleverNameHere thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Location:
    Portland, oregon
    #13
    Hey man, thank you. It worked like a charm. This is the first time I've actually needed to post a new thread to get something to work. Usually I can just find it easily with google. I never even thought of the fact I would need to unlock it.

    Anyways, thank you again.

    Cheers!
     
  13. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #14
    You're welcomed.
     

Share This Page