Turn off iphone but leave wifi on

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by fa.ce, Feb 7, 2008.

  1. fa.ce macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    #1
    i've used a program that was able to turn off iphone but leaves wifi on.
    I've missed that program, any help, please ?
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    You've used a program that doesn't exist, for to turn the iPhone completely off, you'd... turn the iPhone completely off. The program would have had to shut the screen off (like locking it) but keep Wi-Fi active, and I don't even know if that's possible.
     
  3. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    he mans so it doesnt connect to the phone network but connects to wi-fi ones

    like airplaine mode but with wi-fi still on.
     
  4. spriter macrumors 65816

    spriter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2004
    #4
    I can do this by putting it into Airplane mode then running an app called WiFiSwitch. It gives the warning about Enable Data blah blah but just hit cancel and then surf away in Airplane mode.

    I found out by accident as usually I have WiFiSwitch on my first home screen as a shortcut to quickly turning it on and off when I'm at home and don't need to choose a network.
     
  5. meagain macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #5
    Of course it exists. It's called iToggle. It's in Installer under 'Utilities' category.

    Lisa
     
  6. LoneWolf121188 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
  7. fa.ce thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    #7
    i've tried it some times ago but didn't found that undocumented feature :)
    i've download it again (after adding http://iphone.latte.ca source).
    it works, one only complain, as you said, is the warning that appears each time, but we can live with it ...
    thanks
     
  8. fa.ce thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    #8
    unfortunately not, i've wrote to the Author asking implement that feature.
    It's useful when you want not receive phone calls but still want to web surf with wifi.
     
  9. fa.ce thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    #9
    I know that program too, but, as said it cannot turn off phone functions leaving only wifi on.
    I'm sure to have tried some months ago a third program that does exactly what i'm looking for ... :confused:
     
  10. meagain macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #10
    What do you mean by "turn the phone off" then?
     
  11. LoneWolf121188 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
    #11
    Oh, right. BossPrefs allows you to turn off Edge, but not the phone service altogether.
     
  12. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #12
    Can't you use prefs to enable airplane mode and then use bossprefs to enable wifi?
     
  13. imacdaddy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    #13
    Yes it is possible. I do it all the time for Mail, Safari, Weather, Maps, etc....

    1. Install the Services app from the Installer.
    2. Put the iPhone in Airplane mode in Settings.
    3. Go into the Services app and turn on Wifi.
    4. Select Cancel whenever window prompts "You must disable airplane mode to access data."

    You have now enabled Wifi when your iPhone is in airplane mode. However, the Wifi signal icon will not show up across the menu bar at the top as usual.
     
  14. fa.ce thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    #14
    Thank you.
    Any way to not make that window appear ?
    Using other programs i mean ...
    It's really annoying that window ...
     
  15. fa.ce thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    #15
    Thank you.
    Any way to not make that window appear ?
    Using other programs i mean ...
    It's really annoying that window ...
     
  16. adamsweeting macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #16
    I think you're talking about an app called John Tool.
    You can find it on Installer.
     
  17. fa.ce thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    #17
  18. supermanbob macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #18
    rookie iphone question...


    Sorry for the Rookie iPhone question ... but when you say "Install the Services app from the installer" ... where is this "services installer"? Is this in the iphone or on the disk that came with it, or what? Thanks,
    Bob
     
  19. rioja macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #19
    Can't you just put the phone into airplane mode then turn wifi back on?
     
  20. colonels1020 macrumors regular

    colonels1020

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    #20
    Yes, now you can with firmware 2.x, but this thread was started back in the 1.x days when this wasn't possible.
     
  21. megamanbnmaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #21
    it's a program called Service from the Installer 4.0 beta. When did iPhones come w/ disks?

    Just in case, to get Installer 4.0 beta, you have to jailbreak to 2.0.1 or 2.0.2, 2.0 doesn't have it (or u can manually SSH and install it and repair permissions, but its a lot easier to just install custom 2.0.2 or something)

    but apparently this thread is a few months old, so this isn't needed anymore. airplane mode works fine.
     
  22. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #23
    This application would help you out in those new-fangled flights with Wi-Fi.

    I wish Apple still allowed Wi-Fi to still be on while Airplane mode is on solely for these types of flights.
     
  23. Ntombi macrumors 68040

    Ntombi

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bostonian exiled in SoCal
    #24
    :confused: you can. Turn on airplane mode. Turn on WiFi. Done.

    As was said earlier, this thread was started before that was possible. Now it's easy.
     
  24. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #25
    I have never tried this before :D, Thanks! I just never thought of trying it after I found out it wasn't possible with older firmwares.
     

Share This Page