Two Worlds II Available for Mac via Steam.

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by WickedSick, Feb 15, 2011.

  1. WickedSick macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #1
    Just noticed this today and hadn't seen any news print about. Just thought you guys should know. ;)
     
  2. eobet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #2
    That fast?

    Must be emulated then.

    Not interested. :(

    (Until someone proves me wrong. Please.)
     
  3. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #3
    Cider games aren't "emulated." Anyway, it was announced for the Mac a long time ago, so I have a feeling it's a regular port.
     
  4. eobet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #4
    Semantics. Emulation, translation, it's all overhead either way.

    I can't see it on Steam, not even for the PC.

    Does Steam have regions? (I'm in the EU...)
     
  5. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
  6. roliath macrumors regular

    roliath

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    dallas
  7. WickedSick thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #7
    I too would like to hear some performance reviews. I will probably wait to purchase it until it drops in price though. You know it will ;)
     
  8. bluebomberman macrumors 6502a

    bluebomberman

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    #8
    Bicycles, motorcycles - it's all just wheels. :rolleyes:

    Unfortunately, the awfulness of Assassin's Creed II's native Mac port shows how pointless it is to judge Mac games based solely on underlying tech. As long as the performance is there, how you get that performance is of secondary importance.

    More on topic, what I've seen of Two Worlds II isn't that impressive. I'd rather get Dragon Age II.
     
  9. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #9
    The port of AC2 isn't that bad, you just need a good GPU to run it.

    All I've heard of Two Worlds II is that the people who bought it didn't enjoy it at all, and that was nearly unanimous.
     
  10. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #10
    On another forum I go to, people seemed to enjoy it. Maybe not love it, but enjoy it enough to play it.

    And Assassin's Creed 2 wasn't a bad port, you just needed one of the supported GPU's for good performance.
     
  11. shakeman0 macrumors 6502a

    shakeman0

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
  12. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #12
    My benchmark to compare any new RPG would be TES4:Oblivion. Give me more open world! I briefly played Gothic2 and while it was open world, it did not click for me. :)

    Anyone know if TWII is open world? I hate alleys and invisible fences.
     
  13. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #13
    I haven't played it, but most reviews do call it an openworld RPG. Of course, the problem is for some people, a game where you can choose more than one linear path is 'open world'.

    I've seen very mixed reviews.. Many seem to be of the ilk: 'Far, far better than Two Worlds I, which was god-awful'. That's...... not really helpful. I need something to fill the gap between Oblivion (game file got too big, can't handle restarting it) and Skyrim.
     
  14. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #14
    That is funny! Brings to mind Fable, lots and lots of alleys. :)
     
  15. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #15
    I'm a huge fan of the Gothic series, and I think Gothic II (with notr) is the best of them all. Gothic 4 was a huge disappointment.
    I really think you should pick up Gothic II again, i just love how you can basically solve any quest anyway you like, the game itself is incredibly hard, and after the first few levels it's getting a bit easier

    Nowadays I'm looking forward to DA2! I'm still not entirely done with DAO:A yet, but by the time DA2 hits the stores I should be done.



    Also how does Two Worlds or AC2 run on current mac hardware? I've been looking for info, and everyone just states you'll need a good graphics card.

    I'm not gonna exchange my i5 MBP for awhile and my PC rig is a 2.13GHz C2D with 6GB ram and a 8400GS with 512MB RAM, which kinda doesn't really cut it either in terms of gaming.
     
  16. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #16
    You're going to need a 4850 or better - neither of your machines will cut it. Doesn't mean it won't be playable, you would just need to play either with reduced settings or under Windows.
     
  17. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #17
    On the question of whether it's an open-world game or not, I found a good post here.

    Basically, there's a tutorial, two open-world islands with optional side-quests, then the game becomes progressively more linear. So I'm more confused than ever. I think I'll take the chicken option (i.e. buy it when the price goes down, so I won't feel as foolish if it turns out to be a lemon). :)
     

Share This Page