Ugrading HDD and RAM on MacBook Aluminium

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Halvard, Mar 29, 2011.

  1. Halvard macrumors regular

    Halvard

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #1
    I have a MacBook Aluminium. I haven't done anything to it (upgrading prevous) and stuff. And I want to change the HDD from 160GB to 500GB. What HDD should I get? Don't just give me a link, but also tell me, like 2.5" etc..

    And I'm also upgrading my RAM. This is what I have now:
    [​IMG]

    What type of RAM should I get? How many PINS and stuff like that?

    Anymore information that I can find out about on my mac that you need, let me know and I tell you. I need the information within tomorrow so please answer fast! :)
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. kidwithdimples macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #3
    Macbook Pro uses 2.5" HDD. Any 2.5" will work on it.

    I have a Hitachi 500GB 7200 RPM and I have no problems with it. It works perfectly fine. I been using it since 2009.
     
  4. kierennyc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    12.5mm height drives will also fit in-case you wanted to consider a 1TB HDD.
     
  5. Halvard thread starter macrumors regular

    Halvard

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #5
    Will this work?



    S-ATA
    1 000GB

    height (cm) 2,54
    width (cm) 10,16
    depth (cm) 14,70
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    No, as the maximum height, noted in the link I gave you and in the post by kierennyc, is 12.5mm, which 12.9mm less than the drive you "quoted".
     
  7. Derango macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    #7
    If that's the dimensions of the drive itself, that looks like a 3.5" desktop drive.
     
  8. adnoh macrumors 6502a

    adnoh

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    #8
    and ddr3 sodimm memory will be fine, in terms of hd an ssd will give you a massive speed boost but if you need the large size then buy the cheapest one from the big names e.g. hitachi, segate & western digital.
     
  9. Halvard thread starter macrumors regular

    Halvard

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #9
    Ok. Does it matter if its 5 400 RPM or 7 200 RPM?? What does it have to say? Speed? If so, will I notice the difference?
     
  10. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #10
    Either will be fine. Stock drive is 5400rpm, 7200rpm are a bit faster but it's not noticeable to most users. 7200rpm drives tend to vibrate a little more which you can feel through the palmrest.

    You can't really go wrong with a 500GB 5400rpm Hitachi or Seagate drive.
     
  11. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #11
    The RPM (rounds per minute) number is indicating the speed, and you will notice a small difference, but 7200RPM HDDs are a bit louder and also vibrate more.
    Maybe have a look ate Momentus XT, it offers quite good speed and is recommended often.
     
  12. Halvard thread starter macrumors regular

    Halvard

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #12
    Do I have 5200 or 7200 on my computer now? Its default.
     
  13. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #13
    5400rpm.
     
  14. Halvard thread starter macrumors regular

    Halvard

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #14
    Ok, thats all I needed! For now atleast!

    Thank you all for answering all my dumb questions! You guys are awesome! :)
    I love Apple, and this site! :D
     
  15. Halvard thread starter macrumors regular

    Halvard

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #15
    Well actually one more question!

    Will upgrading RAM to 5GB and HDD to 500GB make my mac not me so fast hot?
    Will I be able to be on the mac for longer time for the mac to be hot? :)
     
  16. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
  17. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #17
    Come again please?

    And if you meant something like "will upgrading my MB to 5GB of RAM and a 500GB HDD run hotter", then no. And if it would, it would be hardly noticeable. And there is also a fan to keep the MB from being too hot.
     
  18. Halvard thread starter macrumors regular

    Halvard

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #18
    Ok sorry for asking my question so bad. What I ment was

    Will my MacBook get not so fast warm if I have 4GB Ram and 500GB HDD?

    When I use it now, it gets really fast warm. Will it change if I upgrade it?
     
  19. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #19
    It might, but the warmth you feel has more to do with the CPU, and if you do CPU intensive tasks, the CPU needs more power, thus more heat gets generated.
     
  20. Halvard thread starter macrumors regular

    Halvard

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #20
    So wont the RAM upgrade make my MacBook faster?
     
  21. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #21
    More RAM will not make your Mac faster, but more responsive, especially with lots of open documents and applications.
    Take a look at Activity Monitor > System Memory and report back what it says there when you use your MB like you always do.
     
  22. Halvard thread starter macrumors regular

    Halvard

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #22
    [​IMG]

    I opened up every program that I usually use and this is what came up. I will probably use more, when I actually use the programs and not just have them up.
     
  23. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
  24. Halvard thread starter macrumors regular

    Halvard

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #24
    So 5GB will help much? Will I notice the difference? And will it also help with the warm problem? :)
     
  25. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #25
    You will notice the difference, as the RAM needs to be copied less to the RAM in order to free RAM for other applications (PAGE OUT), thus there are fewer slow downs.
    I don't know if it helps with your "warmth" problem though, as that is CPU related.
    Also have a look at Activity Monitor (Applications / Utilities /) and select All Processes and sort by CPU to see what the culprit may be.

    image below uses sorting by CPU as an example
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page