UK Can't install El Capitan

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by mikebatho, Jan 7, 2016.

  1. mikebatho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #1
    I'm in the UK, and already have Yosemite. I have about 60GB free on my mac, but it doesn't seem to want to update to El Cap.

    I started trying last night, via the app store, clicked free upgrade via the main promo button on screen, and things started to happen. I left it running and went to bed. Some time later I heard my mac reboot and assumed by morning I'd be running the new OSX.

    Nothing had changed by morning, app store seemed to be stuck on a screen saying 'installing updates'. I checked 'about this mac' and I was still on Yosemite.

    So I came out of the app store, rebooted, then tried the install again. I got a message saying something like 'not currently available in your country', or 'in the uk' or something. Tried again and it's now showing that no updates are available, and the upgrade button in the app store is now greyed out.

    Any ideas? I mean, I don't actually need the update, but I like to keep up with things.

    Thanks.
     
  2. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #2
    Check in your Applications folder for a "Install OS X El Capitan" app. That is the full installer and should be about 6.2 Gb. The installer app downloads then automatically launches and asks some questions (first being which language). I suspect the installer app gave up on waiting for you to answer the questions and restarted without installing. BTW, make sure you have a good recent full backup before installing a new OS.

    If you have the installer app then just launch it, answer the questions then let it do it's thing (be advised the installer app will automatically delete after installation, so now is your chance to save it, if desired, before launching).
     
  3. mikebatho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #3
    Nope, I have a file in Applications which doesn't seem to have any size or content, and when I double click it, nothing happens....
     

    Attached Files:

    • CAP.jpg
      CAP.jpg
      File size:
      95.7 KB
      Views:
      43
    • EL.jpg
      EL.jpg
      File size:
      25.9 KB
      Views:
      47
  4. roberthallin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #4
    It doesn't look like it's downloaded correctly. Can you restart the download? Try going to Store -> Purchased in the menu bar of App Store and see what it says about El Capitan.
     
  5. mikebatho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #5
    Hi Guys. Thanks for helping.

    This is what I get from the app store (pic). I don't know what I can do apart from log out of the store and back in again (done) and I already tried a reboot... :-(
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Erdbeertorte macrumors demi-goddess

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    #6
    Try this in the Terminal to get the App Store Debug Menu:

    defaults write com.apple.appstore ShowDebugMenu -bool true

    Screen Shot 2016-01-08 at 12.17.24.png
     
  7. roberthallin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #7
    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/el-capitan-download-stuck-on-waiting.1923765/

    I found this thread for you, your could try some of these things and see if it gets going again. Don't wipe your drive just yet though :)
     
  8. mikebatho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #8
    No idea what Terminal is. I've found it and opened it, but mine looks like this....
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Erdbeertorte, Jan 8, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2016

    Erdbeertorte macrumors demi-goddess

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    #9
    When you copy and paste that command in the Terminal and press Enter, then the next time you open the App Store you have that Debug Menu from my screenshot in the Menu Bar:

    Screen Shot 2016-01-09 at 04.29.18.png

    Screen Shot 2016-01-09 at 04.07.23.png

    I thought any option in there could help you. Maybe resetting the App Store, Clear Cookies, Kick off update staging, Show Download Folder (and delete what's in there)...

    I don't know what those options are exactly doing. Just try them all. ;)
     

Share This Page