UK eSIM/Dual-SIM Thread

Discussion in 'iOS 12' started by Manatlt, Oct 30, 2018.

  1. Pagemakers macrumors 68020

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #351
    All apple need to allow us to do is to be able to send an SMS from line 1 or line 2 and change it at will without having to delete the entire conversation first.
     
  2. Hicksmat1976 macrumors regular

    Hicksmat1976

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Location:
    Middleton, England
    #352
    as long as you can update your twitter/blog on a Saturday mate ;) my wife relies on you so she doesn't have to watch on a Sunday!
     
  3. thecork macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    #353
    I'm not sure its been mentioned, but I have found an easy-ish way to quickly make a call from the other line to what is the default line for that person. Simply head to contact, copy the number, then go over to the keypad. From there you can chose at the top which line to use then paste the number into the keypad box. Its a small hassle, but then that call is in your history list as going from that line. Was a life saver for me on a trip this week when I didn't want to change the default line for a contact cos I knew id end up forgetting to change it back.
     
  4. davethorp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Location:
    Preston, Lancashire, UK
    #354
    Bloody hell I get recognised everywhere :D:D:D
     
  5. Pagemakers macrumors 68020

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #355
    Thanks for that.

    What a shame we have do do workarounds to perform such obvious and simple tasks.
     
  6. Hicksmat1976 macrumors regular

    Hicksmat1976

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Location:
    Middleton, England
    #356
    I need to get an EE e-SIM so watching this thread!
     
  7. davethorp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Location:
    Preston, Lancashire, UK
    #357
    I need to get one for my iPad. But EE told me on twitter that they aren’t supporting it on iPad but someone has managed it just like someone did with PAYG so it’s possible if you can just get the little yellow card
     
  8. LewisChapman macrumors 6502a

    LewisChapman

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    #358
    I ordered a replacement for my iPad earlier this evening, comes tomorrow.

    Just hang up and call again until you get the answer you want to hear
     
  9. Lyn2012 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #359
    So far the networks are only making eSims available to contract customers, so unless you’re happy with monthly payments and have bank accounts & addresses in various countries, having an eSim for each country you visit isn’t going to work. It’s so easy to get a physical Sim from whichever network you like, but an eSim is nearly impossible, and even more so if you don’t happen to be in the country at the time. I know I’d rather take responsibility for keeping my physical Sims safe rather than go through all this hassle - unfortunately Apple decided to make this option only available in China and HK.
     
  10. d123 macrumors 68000

    d123

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #360

    Whilst it is true that EE will only supply esim to contract customers the rest of your post is incorrect.

    As an example, esim+ now supplies PAYG esim for 60 countries.

    https://esim.plus/
     
  11. Pagemakers macrumors 68020

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #361
    And many other esim suppliers are available without monthly contracts.
     
  12. Lyn2012 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #362
    I mean proper local Sims not a company that covers all and charges ridiculous prices. $13 for 1GB data and no mention of included texts or calls is a joke, they wouldn’t even make my list for consideration.

    I stand by my post, it’s accurate, currently it’s eaier to get a physical Sim with a far far wider choice of operators. My personal experience, only in two countries I admit, shows that both in the UK and Spain you have the choice of one network (ie no choice at all), and neither EE (UK) not Vodafone (Spain) will allow an eSim if you’re not on a contract - I have asked both companies several times regarding this.
     
  13. d123 macrumors 68000

    d123

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #363
    Nothing like twisting the facts to somehow fit your conclusion, is there?

    Let’s remember what you said:


    Almost wrong in its entirety, and no amount of word twisting is going to change that.

    $12.99 is £9.99, have you even checked what EE charge on PAYG for a 1GB data pack valid for 30 days?
     
  14. Lyn2012 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #364
    Exactly what I’m saying, stuck with a particular carrier just as all those years ago when O2 had the monopoly for iPhone in the UK. I don’t want to go back ten years and give up choice - for example a £10 GiffGaff goody bag gives you 3GB data, unlimited texts & calls for 30 days. I’m sure there are many other carriers offering similar value but I haven’t time or inclination to check all their prices, or to continue this discussion.
     
  15. d123 macrumors 68000

    d123

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #365
    Good idea, it’s not as if you really have a cogent argument anyway...

    You were complaining about using esim in various countries, not various networks using esim in a single country which is a totally different complaint...

     
  16. StuMcBill macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #366
    Question, I have my personal number as eSim, and my work number as Physical, when I miss a call to my physical sim (work), I'm getting a text saying I have a voicemail, but seem to have no way to listen to it?

    Both Sims are EE, and I have visual voicemail enabled on my personal line.

    Any ideas how I can get my work voicemails, or if I can divert them to VVM?
     
  17. Pagemakers macrumors 68020

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #367
    Probably yet another poor way apple has implemented dual sim.

    From the apple website...

    * If data roaming is on for the number that uses cellular data, then Visual Voicemail and MMS will be disabled on your voice-only number.
     
  18. StuMcBill macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    #368
    I've just figured out that I can go into the dialler, change to my business line, hold 1 and get my voicemails the old fashioned way.
     
  19. ashtonoprjames macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    #369
    I’ve been running dual sim for a few days and for my requirements it’s been working well. Only thing I need to sort it having 2 WhatsApp accounts on the same phone. I saw a few pages back saying someone had done this please can you let me know how? Thanks
     
  20. akash.nu macrumors 604

    akash.nu

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #371
    This is not something available on WhatsApp.
     
  21. d123 macrumors 68000

    d123

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #372
    It is available on WhatsApp, I think what you probably mean it’s not available on iOS?

    [​IMG]
     
  22. Pagemakers macrumors 68020

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
  23. akash.nu macrumors 604

    akash.nu

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #374
    How did you install two instances of the same app?!

    Ps. You’re showing Android screenshots. A feature is available on one platform doesn’t mean it will be available on another. Systems differ a lot from platform to platform.
     
  24. salig macrumors newbie

    salig

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2018
    #375
    Hello. Today I managed to transfer my EE number (business contract) to eSIM. All is working fine so far.

    I do have a question though, in case anyone can tell:

    I am in the UK now. I popped in the tray a physical SIM from Vodafone Greece. It connects just fine in Vodafone UK network, I can make and receive phone calls, HOWEVER, when I switch the data to this card it only offers 3G, not 4G/LTE, and it's painfully slow. The same SIM gets 4G on an iPhone 8 Plus, so it's not anything with the carrier.

    Any idea if this is a limitation in iOS? Any experience around it?
     

Share This Page