Un-jailbroken iphone still showing signs of being jailbroken.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by crunchymilk55, May 17, 2009.

  1. crunchymilk55 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    #1
    Hey all,

    I had a jailbroken iphone v2.2. It had most of the major apps from cydia. Eventually I got sick of the lagginess and went back to stock. I just plugged the phone into itunes and let itunes upgrade the firmware to 2.2.1. Everything is normal, except that my carrier name is still changed to a custom name, wifi is shown by connection speed, and my battery level is still shown as a battery percentage. I thought putting the original firmware on there would erase all of this? Did I do something wrong? Is there another option besides jailbreaking it again, then downloading that customization program, resetting that, and then unjailbreaking it again? I don't care about it, but obviously I don't want it to be obvious it was jailbroken in case I ever have to take it in for warranty work or trade-in. Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    You did everything right up to the back-up point. You see when your iPhone was restored iTunes asked you "Do you want to Restore from xxxx Back-Up?" When you hit yes, all previous settings, non-jailbroken and jailbroken went into the iPhone.

    To solve this, just Restore again and set-up as new iPhone, this way no settings from when being jailbroken will be transfered back.
     
  3. crunchymilk55 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    #3
    Thank you for your response. When I plugged the iphone in to upgrade, it did not ask me to restore from a backup. From my understanding, restore from backup is only an option when you revert the phone back to completely original. I was only upgrading.
     
  4. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    That's why, upgrading keeps all your data, it doesn't delete it. Restoring, on the other hand, does.
     
  5. crunchymilk55 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009

Share This Page