Unable to recognize specified IPSW

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by woolnet, Aug 6, 2009.

  1. woolnet macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #1
    Hi. I am starting this new thread because I need help PDQ as I need my phone working in a couple of hours....

    I got advice from another thread about jb and unlock - I have a 2g.

    I followed the instructions, backed up, restored holding option and selected iPhone1,1_3.0_7A341_Restore.ipsw, it successfully restored.

    I now have run redsn0w and it gives me the 'unable to recognize' message?

    After restoring, iTunes quit as it needed the sim code. I have entered the sim code and tried again, but get the same message...

    Any ideas anyone..... Thanks
     
  2. pelicanflip macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    Restore your iphone through iTunes. Press Shift + Restore to select which restore firmware you want.

    Then run redsnow, follow the instructions.

    Not sure what you're talking about the sim code.
     
  3. woolnet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #3
    I've followed the instructions by iClarified - they say select the downloaded ipsw - are you saying use the normal restore rather than the downloaded?

    I have restored it using the same firmware I am trying to reselect through redsn0w and it said it didn't match????

    Sim code - yes - should I remove the sim card while doing all this? The phone asked for the sim code to be keyed in - should Ignore that or does redsn0w need the code in place?

    Thanks
     
  4. pelicanflip macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    That might be why. Take out your simcard, iTunes is trying to activate your iPhone through AT&T, so put in your simcard after your done jailbreaking and unlocking. Ignore that simcard crap, I have no idea what that even is. I never got that message or popup when I jailbroke my iPhone 2G, and I'm running the same exact firmware as you, which is 3.0.


    Shift click the Restore button with whatever firmware you want to be running, in your case, it would be the 3.0 firmware (iPhone1,1_3.0_7A341_Restore.ipsw)

    Then, start up redsnow.

    Browse and select the same exact firmware you picked as before.


    Then from there, it should be smooth sailing, pick the right bootloaders, install cydia if u want/ unlock the iPhone if u need it, and follow the rest of the instructions exactly.
     
  5. woolnet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #5
    Thanks for your quick response. It is appreciated. I'm working on a Mac so it's Option+restore to select the firmware - if I press Shift it doesn't give me any options?

    Should I quit out of iTunes before running redsn0W?
     
  6. pelicanflip macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Doesn't matter if you close iTunes or not.

    If you're on a Mac, it should be Option + Restore.
     
  7. woolnet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #7
    Great, we're nearly there - what is 'Icy'? It's asking me if I want to install?
     
  8. pelicanflip macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
  9. woolnet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #9
    Hi. I've gone through the process and got to the DFU reboot - it said to hold the button down for 30 seconds after releasing the power but it went to the 'download jailbreak' and 'waiting to reboot' after about 6 seconds? Is this ok? How long should I wait for this first reboot?

    Sorry, but this is the second time and I thought I'd done something wrong after nothing happening after five minutes? The blue progress line isn't lit? Cheers
     
  10. pelicanflip macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #10


    Did you make sure your iPhone was OFF and PLUGGED IN before you put it into DFU mode?

    Then, hold the Power button for 2 seconds.

    While holding down the Power button, hold down the Home button as well for 10 seconds.

    Release the Power button, but keep holding the Home button for 30 seconds.



    If you follow those instructions, nothing should go wrong.

    Did you?
     
  11. woolnet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #11
    Yeh, I went through it a few times. Started from scratch. Followed the on-screen instructions 2 secs, 10 secs, 30 secs, but the phone went into reboot mode after about 6 seconds and stayed like that until I switched everything off half hour later.

    Third time I actually used the slider to turn the phone off...

    I dunno - I'm obviously not cut out for this lark :)

    I'll try again.... I mean, how acurrate have you gotta be with the 2, 10 30?

    I also read this about DFU: To put it in DFU mode, turn the phone off. Hold power and home together for precisely 10 seconds. Release power but keep holding home until the pc beeps as a USB device is recognized. At no point will the display come on. If this doesn’t work, try to press and hold power only. Keep holding power. As soon as you see any display on the screen of any sort press and hold the home button. Hold power and home together for precisely 10 seconds. Release power but keep holding home until the pc beeps as a USB device is recognized.

    Of course the Mac doesn't beep, so I may try a pc....
     
  12. woolnet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #12
    So, I've just tried it again and the same thing happens when I go to put it in DFU mode. 2 seconds, 10 seconds, 7 seconds it goes into this screen


    The blue lines flicks a couple of times and then it just hangs there...doing nothing....for ever, and ever....

    Am I supposed to carry on pressing the button for 30 seconds even if this screen has popped up?

    Sorry for being a dumb ass but these things should normally work, don't they?
     
  13. pelicanflip macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1034

    Those are instructions for DFU mode for a mac.


    As for the 2, 10, 30 seconds, try your best to be as accurate as possible, but if you're off by a second or two, it won't kill you.
     
  14. woolnet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #14
    Thanks for being patient - my last question before chucking the phone in the drawer and getting out my faithful Nokia that I have used for two years...

    When I'm pushing the button for 30 seconds and the screen changes to 'Please wait while your device is being jailbroken' - do I keep holding the button in?
     
  15. pelicanflip macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #15
    When you get to the part where you have to hold down the button for 30 seconds, once the redsnow screen changes, you don't really have to worry about holding down the button.
     
  16. woolnet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #16
    Ok, thanks. Well, I think that's where the problem is then because I let the button go but screen just hangs there, for ever and ever....

    One last time....

    Thanks
     
  17. woolnet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #17
    Nope - just hangs and says waiting to reboot - I've had enough of this now...
    Thanks for you help, but I guess I'm gonna have to scrap my baby...:mad:
     
  18. pelicanflip macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #18
    Weird. Sorry it didn't work out for you, if anything, maybe you could get it checked out by Apple.
     
  19. woolnet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #19
    Yeh, weird. I just knew I should have left it alone....

    It get's to step 11 of iClarified instruction then just stops - very frustrating.

    I suppose the old adage is true - If it ain't broke, don't fix it!

    Cheers
     
  20. woolnet thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    #20
    Just read another thread and sorted the problem.

    When it hangs on stage 11 remove the cable and plug it back in - it then continues running the software - brilliant!!!!!

    Phew!
     
  21. pelicanflip macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #21
    Very nice, congrats! Enjoy your new iPhone :)
     
  22. polobreaka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    #22
    sorry to bring this from the dead, im having the same problem, redsnow isnt able to recognize the ipsw.

    this is for iphone 2g 3.0.1

    i followed all steps correctly.

    plug phone into itunes, option click restore, selected the 3.0.1 firmware. the phone finished restoring the firmware. no sim card. opened redsnow, says its unable to recognize. what am i doing wrong? is there a different version of redsnow to work on the 2g?
     
  23. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #23
    Unable to recognize the phone or the IPSW? You need to be pointing it to the 3.0 IPSW. Also you should try using Pwnage Tool if you are on a Mac.
     
  24. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #24
    Sorry to say so, but I agree with you !

    Try doing some research before attempting this again.
     
  25. polobreaka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    #25
    i thought i needed to reselect the 3.0.1 firmware, i didnt realize i need the 3.0 also. i pointed redsn0w to use 3.0.1. i am currently downloading the 3.0 right now. so ill see if this will work.

    is pwnage tool better than redsn0w?


    EDIT: nm, got it to work under redsn0w. thanks guys. this thread helped me a lot! i was stuck on step 11 as stated above, unplug and plugged in the cable works wonder! thankss!
     

Share This Page