Unlocked 3GS, ATT charging me 25 for data?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by RKilbane20, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. RKilbane20 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #1
    I gave my dad my iPhone 3GS, I unlocked it and blocked all data through some cydia apps, idk how long I've been being charged from ATT but Im being charged 25 dollars a month and I don't even have the option to go down to the 15 dollar plan it won't let me. And to make it even worse I can't even use the data I've been being charged for. Any thoughts?
     
  2. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #2
    there is no way to block AT&T from knowing you are using am iphone (by IEMI number) so the system billed you accordingly.
    you probably can't access your data because of "some cydia apps,"
     
  3. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #3
    In almost all cases AT&T will detect an iPhone and put on the mandatory iPhone data plan.
     
  4. ann713 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #4
    The data plan is required even if the phone is Unlocked/jail-broken.
     
  5. Scott90 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #5
    It's ridiculous they give hem the most expensive plan though. Forcing him to have a data plan is one thing, but then don't make it the more expensive one.
     
  6. RKilbane20 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #6
    I removed all cydia apps, it used to not charge me for the data. The biggest problem is I can't even downgrade to a crap data plan and even use the data.
     
  7. hcho3 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #7
    15 dollars data is for non smart phone. You are trying to beat the system and it won't work.
     
  8. RKilbane20 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #8
    No your wrong, its 25 dollars for 2 gigs and 250mb for 15 dollars.
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    How does that work? You may want to check your numbers again.
     
  10. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #10
    Did you call AT&T?
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    Call AT&T to switch to the $15.
     
  12. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #12
    they put you on the more expensive plan because they caught you. As Applejuiced said call them and change it to the $15. Keep in mind 250mb is nothing just be careful you are almost always wifi! Even GPS uses Data.
     
  13. dave006 Contributor

    dave006

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Just West of East
    #13
    Go here http://www.att.com/wireless/iphone/ and you will see the:

    DataPlus200
    MB of data for $15/month
    • Surf the Web
    • Send email
    • Social networking
    • Overage rate $15/each additional 200 MB ​

    DataPro
    2 GB of data for $25/month
    • Download or stream music
    • Watch videos
    • Use high bandwidth applications
    • Overage rate $10/each additional 1 GB ​

    DataPro 4GB
    4 GB of data for $45/month
    • 4 GB available for tethering, mobile hotspot,
    and/or iPhone data use**
    • Overage rate $10/each additional 1 GB ​

    Dave
     
  14. wvphysics macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #14
    I think there is also a 3 month time lock when you get the $25 plan before you can go down to the $15 plan, which may be what is preventing you from going down to $15. That is typically to prevent people from constantly changing plans, but in your situation it also serves as a repercussion of circumventing the ATT service agreement. Not that I agree with requiring a data plan, but it is something agreed to when signing up for phone service.
     
  15. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #15
    Are you sure about that?
    I never heard of a 3 month lock down, you can change any type of data, text or minute plan on your account with AT&T at any time.
     
  16. Carl G35c macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #16
    correct you can change add ons at anytime. Just can't flip to an expired add on (ie unlimited data)
     
  17. wvphysics macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #17
    Reading this post, I just could swear had read it some where. Could be thinking of some years back with a different service. It could still be that they locked him in for some time since it was a "correction". Only way to find out is to call. Could also play dumb and ask if they could just block data from their end and see if they wont charge you, but I am sure that usually ends in fail.
     
  18. sbddude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Location:
    Nor Cal, USA
    #18
    Are you sure? An app like MotionX GPS (not drive) or Navigon will use GPS and not data.

    Google maps, waze, motionx drive, and others without locally stored maps WILL use data to download the maps.

    To the op you have 2 options:

    1. downgrade to $15 plan
    2. Swap SIM card to dumb phone, call AT&T, ask for data block, return SIM card to iphone.
     
  19. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #19
    Option 2 won't work.
    They will still detect the iPhone and add a data plan.
     
  20. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #20

    my point is that the iPhone is a data intensive device and to be careful or else it will cost way more then the $25. I'm not going to comment on what apps use data. Also as Applejuiced said they are smart on the dumb phone trick they can actually detect what kind of phone it is in minutes but it might take a while for them to get to you.
     
  21. Shockwave78 macrumors 65816

    Shockwave78

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #21
    ya there really is no way around it , and if there is AT&T detects it eventually...
     
  22. Rodimus Prime macrumors G4

    Rodimus Prime

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    #22
    You do option 2 it will be only a matter of time before AT&T detects iPhone IMEI number and forces the data plan back on you.

    optoin 1 is do able. GPS uses some data because it is going to request some info from the towers to help speed up the satellite lock. Now data transfer might be 1kb of data but data is transferred.
    It can get a lock with out that info but it takes longer.
     
  23. Jordan921 macrumors 68040

    Jordan921

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #23
    Wrong get your facts right before you post.
     
  24. savanahrose macrumors 6502a

    savanahrose

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    greer SC
    #24
    That won't work either. I did that to my husband's iphone, gave my spare to my daughter. I didn't put a data plan on there and they continued to use the iphone as a phone. Guess what happened, they got slapped with the 25 dollar data plan also.
     
  25. sbddude macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Location:
    Nor Cal, USA
    #25
    Did you do a data BLOCK?
     

Share This Page