Unlocking iPhone 3GS that I won on eBay

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by thenetstud, Sep 11, 2010.

  1. thenetstud macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    #1
    I recently won this auction:

    http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=250688576071&ssPageName=STRK:

    I should be recieving the phone on Monday. Now according to this the phone is currently locked to Rogers. I am on TELUS and just purchased a SIM card from them.

    As long as the iPhone isn't loaded with 4.0.2 or 4.1 I should be able to unlock this phone correct?

    What would be the simplest way to do this?

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. macrazee macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    #2
    Correct. So long as firmware is 4.0.1 or below, you will be good to go.
     
  3. thenetstud thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    #3
    Got the phone today and it is on 4.0.1 so I was able to jailbreak using jailbreakme.com and I installed Ultrasn0w for the unlock.

    I am having issues though with getting no service messages or only one bar of signal strength. When I get no service my Wi-Fi isn't picking up any available networks either.

    I think I want to do a restore but if I am reading correctly I can't restore to 4.0.1 because I don't have my SHSH blobs saved and I can't save them because Apple is not signing them anymore. Am I right?

    If so what should I do from here?
     
  4. bhattsan macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #4
    I think you are out of luck for now unless the previous owner happened to have saved his blobs in tinyumbrella :(. You best bet is to troubleshoot ultrasn0w
     
  5. thenetstud thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    #5
    Thanks, hopefully it gets me by until 4.1 is jb'd.
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Are you trying to use it on Tmobile USA by any chance?
    If yes make sure you turn off 3G thru settings so you don't get conflicts like that with signal.
     
  7. troyhouse macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
  8. Marlon177 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #8
    u can use tiny umbrella to save ur 4.0.1 shsh as long as u still on 4.0.1, correct me if im wrong.
     
  9. IrishVixen macrumors 68020

    IrishVixen

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #9
    Sorry. You could save 4.0.1 only as long as Apple was signing it. The firmware currently on your phone has nothing to do with it. Right now, Apple is only signing 4.1.
     
  10. kre62 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #10
    Check Cydia, maybe it has the blobs. There was a report recently that even phones that were never jb'd sometimes have blobs.
     
  11. mokeiko macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    #11
    As Kre62 mentioned, check with Cydia. It doesn't hurt to try.

    mokeiko
     
  12. thenetstud thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    #12
    Applejuiced: No I am using Telus

    Kre62: I checked Tiny Umbrella and they did not have my blobs saved, thanks for the suggestion though.
     
  13. Marlon177 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #13
    yes u can, i just saved my 4.0.2 shsh using tiny umbrella, u have to check advanced options, select 4.0.1 for request version and request from cydia, then save my SHSH

    my iphone 4 is 4.0.2 out the box, cant even jb, thats how i save 4.0.2 shsh.

    try what i said above, and see picture below for reference. (of cuz u have to choose 4.0.1 instead of 4.0.2, cuz my phone 4 came 4.0.2 out the box)

    http://img835.imageshack.us/img835/7779/81830425.jpg
     
  14. hhhshadydave macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    #14
    Wow did you even read the oringinal post??
    But any way the reason it says no service is because the person you brought the phone from upgraded the phone to 4.1. Therefore upgrading the baseband, then they downgraded to 4.0.1 but the baseband still remanded 5.12.04 when only 5.13.04 is unlockable. Check the firmware in settings/about all the way at the bottom and tell us what it says.
     
  15. iamthekiller macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #15
    haha.. yea saying that they won something makes the person feel a little better - it distracts from the fact that they paid for it.
     
  16. thenetstud thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Saskatoon, SK
    #16
    Marlon177:

    I attempted to save my 4.0.1 SHSH Blob in Umbrella using both OS X & Windows 7 and neither time worked:

    [​IMG]


    hhhshadydave: Baseband is 05.13.04
     
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #17
    I speed read it so I missed that part I guess.
    Is that ok with you? shoot me ok:rolleyes:
     
  18. Marlon177 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #18
    try to save 4.1 first, then back down to 4.0.2 then 4.0.1
     
  19. iPhone-power macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #19
    Regardless of what you think, OP can only get current hashes from Apple (4.1) and if Cydia has older hashes, he can retrieve those from Saurik's server, not from Apple.

    Apple quit signing 4.0.1 on August 17th or thereabouts.
     
  20. Marlon177 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #20
    maybe i was wrong then, is apple still signing for 4.0.2?
     
  21. iPhone-power macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #21
    Nope, less than 24 hours after 4.1 came out last Wednesday, Apple shut off 4.0.2
     
  22. Marlon177 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #22
    then maybe the tiny umbrella would work, thats what i did last night, at first i was trying to save 4.0.1, i get the same error message with OP, then i tried 4.1, it worked, so i back down to 4.0.2, it worked again, but it doesnt work on 4.0.1, cuz my i4 is running 4.0.2

    edit: i just restored my i4 to 4.0.2 using cydia server, it worked, so that means cydia now have my 4.0.2 shsh.
     
  23. iPhone-power macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #23
    And again, the firmware version on your phone has zero to do with the firmware version Apple is signing.

    From Apple: you can only get currently signed firmware, 4.1 right now
    From Cydia: any hashes saved on Saurik's server

    Once you save the hashes the first time, Saurik's server saves all hashes for subsequent firmware versions.

    If you want to verify what is happening, fire up TinyUmbrella, under advance settings select Apple and firmware 4.0.1 or 4.0.2. It cannot get those from Apple and will error out everytime.
     
  24. Marlon177 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #24
    seriously, i have no idea what i was doing when i fire up the tiny umbrella, so just let OP try my method, if it works it works, if its not, then too bad, and OP can always run jailbreakme.com to jailbreak on 4.0.1
     
  25. iPhone-power macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    #25
    Have you ever used TinyUmbrella on your iPhone 4 in the past
    Are you the first owner of the iPhone 4
    Was it a replacement iPhone 4

    All possibilities
     

Share This Page