Unlocking/Jailbreaking 1st Gen. iphone questions on common grey areas...

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by funnystuff, May 22, 2009.

  1. funnystuff macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    #1
    Okay guys, here is the deal. I have been searching and searching for days and I see all of these "HELP ME NOW PLEASE" posts everywhere and I can understand why, mainly because people explain in terms relative to those familiar with operating systems and whatnot, so I hope this post will clear up some of those things...For me, I just bought an iPhone 1st generation from a friend and I currently have service with at&t and I want to keep my service, not upgrade, only use the wifi when accessible, use the ipod, text, call, and use the free apps from the app store, just as if i had an ipod touch except with the texting and calling features, and not add data or any of that mess. The phone is a version 1.1.4 for whatever that matters and so here are my questions:

    1. Knowing what I want out of the phone, should I jailbreak or unlock, i really can't tell a difference.

    2. If i do either of these, will I still be able to use my existing iTunes account with all of my music and applications and potentially add new music and applications in the future.

    3. Do I need a new sim card or will the one in my existing POS phone work just fine?

    4. What is cydia, installer? I hear a lot about the 3rd party mess, but i'm just confused. Does that replace the app store or do i have to go there and constantly unlock my phone or what?

    5. Will I be added any service charges by at&t for just using what I said? (BTW, I plan on blocking data which brings me to my next question)

    6. I know that you can call at&t and tell them to block data but should I do that before I switch phones, after I switch to the iphone, or should i just bypass all of that and use a method like such: ( http://www.ehphone.ca/2008/07/how-to-disable-data-on-your-iphone-or-iphone-3g/ )

    7. After all of this which is the best program/method to use?

    These are just a few of the many questions that this process has brought me to and if someone has experience and could help ASAP (mainly because I have to let my friend know if I want to buy it or not soon), that would be GREATLY appreciated!
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    Jailbreaking is just so you can install unapproved things on the iPhone, and customize/tweak the OS. Unlocking is only needed if you want to use the phone on another carrier (like T-Mobile).

    Jailbreaking does not interfere with any iTunes syncing. Things will continue to work like normal.

    Your current one should work fine. They will just see that you have the iPhone and add on the appropriate data plan.

    Cydia or Icy is what you want to use. Installer is pretty much dead. Cydia lets you install programs, games, themes, tweaks etc. It is easy to use. You will have still have your regular App Store, and it will work like normal.

    If you want ease of use and have a PC then you should just make sure your iPhone is updated to 2.2.1 through iTunes. Then download and run QuickPwn from here or here. Quickpwn is extremely easy to use, and walks you through the process step-by-step, and it won't erase anything on your iPhone. :)
     
  3. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    Jailbreak for the extra apps, if you want to use abroad your phone, then unlock comes in handy.

    Yes

    Existing one works fine

    Cydia and Installer are developed by different people, but in the end have the same function, deliver 3rd party apps not allowed by Apple.

    Nop, Cydia and Installer are free.

    Why would you want to block data? The iPhone's main features need data.

    Click Me to find out more.
     
  4. funnystuff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    #4
    Jmann:

    1) I do not want any data rates added on to my plan, this is avoidable right?

    3) People say that if you can do this then there will be no action taken by at&t, especially if you don't have a 3G and are simply using 2G...is that true?

    7) How do I do this (Update to 2.2.1), when I plug it into my computer I get lost?

    Jav6454:

    My only question comes with #6...I don't want to pay the $30 data plan charge or pay by use, I want to only rely on wifi when available....
     
  5. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    The 1st Gen iPhone does not have a $30 data plan, its $20.
     
  6. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #6
    A data plan is required, I don't know if there are ways around this, I use my iPhone with T-Mobile.

    Once again, I'm not sure, but it can't hurt to try. What is the worst that will happen?

    Plug in your iPhone into iTunes and under the iPhone section click "check for update"
     

    Attached Files:

  7. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    Forgot to mention, the data plan with the 1st Gen iPhone is not forced, its voluntary, only the iPhone 3G has a forced data plan.
     
  8. funnystuff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    #8
    okay guys thanks for all the help, i've already updated it an everything...I just go off the phone with customer support at at&t and they said it was required with the 1st gen, but is that really true or is that what they have to say?
     
  9. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    No its not, don't take no for an answer as its an option to have data, its not forced.
     
  10. funnystuff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    #10
    okay, i finished updating it to 2.2.1 and now i see the itunes symbol with a usb in the background and the message " No SIM card installed...insert a valid SIM with no PIN lock to activate iPhone"...

    sorry guys, what now?
     
  11. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    I gave you a link to a thread that explains everything before you do it so you don't run into trouble. Sorry to be blunt;), but you should really get into reading it.:cool:
     
  12. funnystuff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    #12
    Yeah, but that really doesn't help me as far as where I go from where I messed up, I'm really really lost now...I have QuckPwn and I get stuck at the 3.9 and 4.6 Bootloaders and the links on iClairified don't work...
     
  13. funnystuff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    #13
    okay guys i am going to bed, tired of fooling with this tonight...hopefully when i wake up someone will post some more answers to my questions

    as of now i have the phone updated to 2.2.1, quickpwn 2.2.1, bl39.bin, and bl46.bin....i have my sim card and the old sim card that was in the phone but was dead, but it only hooks up and works with itunes if i use the old one, kinda confused when mine comes into play and all...where do i go from here and what do i do?

    thanks a lot for all the help guys, really i appreciate it
     
  14. TSX macrumors 68030

    TSX

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #14
    To help you jailbreak go to youtube and search "how to jailbreak" and watch some instructional videos its really easy.
     
  15. funnystuff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    #15
    everytime i get to the part where you hold down the buttons and all it freezes up the ipod in i guess recovery mode and it shuts down my itunes...help please?
     
  16. funnystuff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    #16
    after going through quickpwn process probably 6 times i keep getting the same message : " ERROR: your device has connected in the wrong mode. "
     
  17. funnystuff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    #18
    well i'm using a PC..and here is my new problem...i just got the program to work with installer/cydia and all installed so i guess it is unlocked/jailbroken...now i put in MY sim card and it pulls up my itunes and tries to get me to activate an account through at&t and all...how do i get this phone to now work like any other phone where i can just put my sim card in it and it works with my number?
     
  18. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #19
    If it needs to be unlocked, you need to download bootneuter from cydia. That program should unlock the phone and let you use a different sim card.
     
  19. funnystuff thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    #20
    i just downloaded it and it froze my iphone up and the power off won't work or anything...it won't even let me change anything or even press the "flash" button
     

Share This Page