updating ram on new macbook.

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by bartoszbr, Oct 15, 2008.

  1. bartoszbr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    #1
    Is it true that I have to unscrew the back cover in order to update ram on the new macbooks? Will this violate the warranty then?
     
  2. sjc83 macrumors 6502

    sjc83

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Location:
    Cleveland
    #2
    yes and the new MB will explode WARNING WARNING
     
  3. MaskedPhantom macrumors regular

    MaskedPhantom

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    Gtfo.





    This will NOT, I repeat NOT, void the warranty. The Macbook's RAM and HDD is meant to be user replaceable.
     
  4. gat89 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    #4
    Where can I buy more RAM / Memory for my Macbook?

    does anyone know? The macstore said they won't have any for a couple of weeks and Newegg doesn't seem to have it either....
     
  5. Bryan Bowler macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #6
    Yes. No.
     
  6. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #7
    Even cheaper plus lifetime warranty at OWC for 139.
     
  7. munckee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #8
    Whoa! The ram for the new machines is expensive :(
     
  8. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

    neiltc13

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #9
    I took mine to bits this morning to have a look at how it is done. It's a much more daunting task than it was on the old MacBook and you actually get to see some exposed PCBs when you're doing it.

    The screws are a nightmare - it took me about half an hour to simply replace the back cover.

    Hard drive and battery is nice and easy though.
     
  9. Milk*is*tasty macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #10
    I hope you mean DDR3 in general, not on the Apple-site :)
     
  10. Suasexed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Have you got yours then? :D I thought you ordered from the online store?
     
  11. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

    neiltc13

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #12
    [​IMG]

    This is what you are presented with when you want to upgrade MacBook's RAM. It really is much more intimidating than it used to be.

    Suasexed I never ordered anything online, I don't know why you would think so?
     
  12. PeterQC macrumors 6502a

    PeterQC

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #13
    Yea, but at least you got a great deal on the apple site if you upgrade directly to 4GB. (141$ on the canadian store)
     
  13. azdmelani macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
  14. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #15
    Does anybody know what the max RAM these new MacBook's can take?
     
  15. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

    neiltc13

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #16
    4GB limited by the system and by the fact there are only 2 slots and the highest capacity you can buy in sticks of this type of RAM right now is 2GB.
     
  16. acfusion29 macrumors 68040

    acfusion29

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto
    #17
    Alright, thanks for the info. I was hoping it was going to be 8GB.
     
  17. iMav macrumors 6502

    iMav

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus, WI
  18. lwongveros macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #19
    I was led to believe that the 4GB total capacity is a limitation of 32 bit addressing... not memory module availability...
     
  19. abijnk macrumors 68040

    abijnk

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #20
    Correct. Even if sticks with higher capacity become available, it won't matter. You can put two 8GB sticks of RAM in the thing (if they were available), but your macbook would only be able to utilize 4GB.
     
  20. Gen macrumors 6502a

    Gen

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #21
    Get your ram from Apple, it seems to be cheaper and it would be covered by AppleCare too. :)

    [​IMG]

    $135 for 4gb of ram and Apple warranty seems like a great deal!
     
  21. AJ Muni macrumors 65816

    AJ Muni

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Miami
    #22
    Thats what I did.


    Yeap.
     
  22. tehprince macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #23
    Since there's two memory slots, does Apple put in a single 2GB stick or two 1GB sticks?

    I hate it when two 1GB sticks are put in, so in order to upgrade to max capacity you need to purchase a 4GB instead of a 2GB.
     
  23. lwongveros macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #24
    tehprince: Apple puts in two 1GB sticks... true, it's more costly for us to do the upgrade, I'm sure Apple justifies it by saying that the machines run faster when both slots are filled with identical memory modules (usually these chipsets are "dual-channel" for max performance when both slots are filled).
     
  24. Chase R macrumors 65816

    Chase R

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #25
    $135 pre-installed 4GB ram by Apple > $135+ aftermarket 4GB ram.

    Why not just order your MB with 4GB ram? It's only $135 now compared to $200 for the previous generation...
     

Share This Page