Upgrade on a G4 power mac

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by mannyrm, Jul 5, 2009.

  1. mannyrm macrumors member

    mannyrm

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #1
    Hey guys!

    Im right now making an offer on a G4 sawtooth unit.

    Im a PC guy but I want to try a Mac out. At this moment I cant afford to buy a spankin' new one, but I sure would love to upgrade a oldie like the G4.

    In regards of OS what version can I aspire to. Also I need some tips on the CPU, HDD and Video card.

    I know that ram is limited to 2Gb. But my main question is.....is it worth it?

    BTW The G4 on the list is a 400 mhz with 512kb, HDD of 20 and a Video card of 128kb

    Thx.
     
  2. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

    Dr.Pants

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #2
    Powermac G4 upgrades are very expensive - to fully max out your model, you would probably be better off trying to find a Mini for computational use... Its not just the processors, but also faster system buses.

    I think here is a good place to find pricing on G4 upgrades. Google helps, too. I think you would also be able to flash the graphics card, but I do not know too much about ATY Rage, etc.

    Also, if you do go the G4 route and if you decide to start upgrading, get your model identifier number. Go :apple:->about this mac->more info, and that will give you a model identifier - for instance, my G5 is a PowerMac11,2

    You can also nab a nifty program called MacTracker which would do this for you and also display some other handy info on the particular model it runs on.
     
  3. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #3
    If you want a tower G5s are available at down to 200$. They have much better grafics AGP 8x compared to G4 which typically have AGP 2x.

    They would run Leopard which is the best OS X so far released by Apple.
     
  4. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #4
    Pop in 2 GB of DDR2 RAM (I know it says SDRAM, but DDR2 is a form of that).

    I hope you mean MB and not KB. Find a larger HDD. You can probably get one from an old Windows box.

    Video card looks good to me.

    You can put up to 10.4.11 aka Tiger on it, but that may be a bit slow. Tiger supports most of the latest software, but not for long.

    Anything above 867 MHz that is a G4 will run Leopard, so a fair bit of G4s will.
     
  5. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #5
    I woulnd't invest in anything less than 867mhz Quicksilver. Even if you are just wanting to learn OS-X, I can't believe that people try to sell those old Sawtooths anymore... well anything more than $25.

    A dual MDD G4 or a G5 would probably be your best bang for bung performance wise if you want to test the waters in OS-X. Try looking locally for a G5 PowerMac for <$300. Even the single 1.6ghz would be enough to test out.

    I just don't think you'll get a good enough experience out of OS-X with something that old.
     
  6. mannyrm thread starter macrumors member

    mannyrm

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #7
    Hey Guys


    Thx for all the replies, after a series of G4 offers I decided to take this one for $100.


    What do you think?

    Power Mac G4 PowerPC. 733 MHz processor. 896 MB SDRAM. 38GB HD.
    It works GREAT! i have i plugged in right now.
    Comes with working keyboard and mouse, power cord. internal CD writing drive. and a zip drive.
    Lots of software and fonts, it belonged to a graphic designer.
    Firefox, Safari, Explorer
    Adobe CS
    Microsoft Office 2004
    Toast 6
    Fetch, Stuffit, etc...
    Here are the specs:
    Machine Model: Power Mac G4
    CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (2.0)
    Number Of CPUs: 1
    CPU Speed: 733 MHz
    L2 Cache (per CPU): 256 KB
    Memory: 896 MB
    Bus Speed: 133 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: 4.2.5f1
    DIMM0/J21:
    Size: 128 MB
    Type: SDRAM
    Speed: PC133-333
    DIMM1/J22:
    Size: 256 MB
    Type: SDRAM
    Speed: PC133-333
    DIMM2/J23:
    Size: 512 MB
    Type: SDRAM
    Speed: PC133-333
    GeForce2 MX:
    Type: display
    Bus: AGP
    Display Type: CRT
    Slot: SLOT-1
    VRAM (Total): 32 MB
    Vendor: nVIDIA (0x10de)
    Device ID: 0x0110
    Revision ID: 0x00a1
    ROM Revision: 1055
    IBM-IC35L040AVER07-0:
    Capacity: 38.35 GB
    Model: IBM-IC35L040AVER07-0
    Revision: ER4OA44A
    Serial Number: SXPTXSD7060
    Removable Media: No
    Detachable Drive: No
    BSD Name: disk0
    Protocol: ATA
    Unit Number: 0
    Socket Type: Internal
    OS9 Drivers: Yes
    FireWire Bus:
    Speed: 400 Mb/sec Speed
    AirPort Card Information:
    Wireless Card Type: AirPort
    Wireless Card Locale: USA
    Wireless Card Firmware Version: 9.52
     
  7. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #8
    I've got that same configuration. This series was called the "Digital Audio" due to a built-in amplifier and is the first before the Quicksilver. The codenames were "Tangent" and "Clockwork."

    The ODD is an 8x DVD-RW.

    You will be able to run Tiger on this thing no prob. I run PS CS1 on mine and right now it is working as an iTunes server.
     
  8. mannyrm thread starter macrumors member

    mannyrm

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #9
    So this is not a "quicksilver" then. Is $100 worth it?
     
  9. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #10
    With the software, maybe. If the $100 isn't a big deal for you, get it.

    PS: I got mine free. :p
     
  10. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Wichita KS
    #11
    It could be a Quicksilver, I think it is since you say it has a 40Gb hard drive, and the 733MHz Digital Audio came with a 60Gb drive. The high end Digital Audio G4 had essentially the same specs as the original low end Quicksilver. Which of these two pictures does yours look like? The white one or the grey one? Honestly, it really doesn't matter since they're almost identical in ever way.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #12
    But I'd pay more for a QS with the same specs. It looks better.
     
  12. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #13
    It is a DA. The QS had a PPC 7450 v2.1. The DA is a PPC 7450 v2.0.

    Someone probably swapped the HDD at one point.
     
  13. mannyrm thread starter macrumors member

    mannyrm

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #14
    Well They sent me a pic....And the experts say...?
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #15
    Quicksliver with an iMac G3 keyboard and mouse.
     
  15. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Wichita KS
    #16
    BINGO! I called it! lol. Anyhow, it looks like its in decent shape. Also has a Zip 250 drive installed.
     
  16. mannyrm thread starter macrumors member

    mannyrm

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #17
    Thx for all the help guys. Im very thrilled and anxious to have it soon.

    I will be posting more often in regards of tips and tricks, thx for all the help.
     
  17. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
  18. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #19
    I don't want to be a threadjacker, but I've got a question that fits:

    Where (other than eBay) can I get a decent GPU, for less than $100, for my DA?
     
  19. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #20
    Buy a PC ATI Radeo 9800 Pro and than flash it with a Mac rom. I've done quite a bit of those and you can actually find them for around $25. Best video card for the older G4s for the price IMO.

    But good buy OP. The Quicksilvers were actually my favorite G4s. But I'll always love the aluminum G5's more :).
     
  20. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #21
    I'd always wanted to do that, but my only PC with an AGP slot has a bum motherboard.

    Any Mac-ready suggestions?
     
  21. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #22
    You can flash blindly or set up a VNC connection and do screen sharing. View your G4 screen from another Mac/PC to do the flashing so you can see what you are doing.
     
  22. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #23
    I always thought you needed a PC to flash the card because the Mac couldn't figure out the BIOS.

    I guess I'll see if I can get one of those cards and a Mac BIOS.
     
  23. mannyrm thread starter macrumors member

    mannyrm

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #24
    In regards of GPU, what is the highest she can handle?
     
  24. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #25
    IIRC, the slot is a 4x AGP and it prefers Mac-specific cards.
     

Share This Page